betterworks Sales Reviews | Glassdoor

betterworks Sales Reviews

Updated Jun 13, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

5.0
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
betterworks CEO and Executive Chairman Doug Dennerline
Doug Dennerline
1 Rating
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Getting back on track"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Operations in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at betterworks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've been with the company for just over a year working in operations and have seen the good and the bad throughout the past year. It's true that Betterworks had a rough year, but there are clear signs that the company is back on track with new management and great content coming out from John Doerr's new book - "Measure What Matters". The people on the team are great and seem eager to grow the business and put the past behind us. New senior management seems very capable and I believe they can take us to the next level. Flexible work schedule and WFH policy is great when you have lots of things to juggle in life as well.

    Show More

    Cons

    -Tough Past Year -High Turnover (turnover is slowing down) - Not back to 100% full steam ahead

    betterworks2018-06-13
  2. Helpful (13)

    "Great Market Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at betterworks full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great culture and super smart team members that are passionate about the companies success. Even while still being small, the interest in the market is massive. Engaged with many Fortune 500 companies, many of which come to us inbound. We are solving a real need to help companies, help their employees reach their full potential at work. The company liberally rewards and puts incentives in place for performance.

    Cons

    Some distraction exists while the company fills a couple of critical roles, however, seems like we are close to resolving.

    Advice to Management

    We are all fortunate to be here. I would keep up the high level of communication and encourage some employees to work towards performing at their very best.

    betterworks2017-09-03
  3. Helpful (10)

    "Great in every way I can think of!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Development Representative in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at betterworks full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Very clear and inspiring company vision communicated and validated by Kris and management -Culture is the best - transparency and open feedback is not only valued but expected. We actually practice all the things we sell ;) -Everyone genuinely wants their colleagues to get "1% better" and there's no political operatives even though the company has grown quickly -Team events and meetings show how great the culture is - nothing is contrived or forced, but everyone in the company truly just enjoys hanging out together -Team leaders make a conscious effort to recognize strong performances and there is a strong focus on measuring the most important outcomes -Management = enablement at BetterWorks. From what I can see, all managers consistently do whatever it takes to help their teams excel - they encourage upwards feedback and really take it to heart in order to help us succeed Also the external stuff... -Very competitive pay -Amazing benefits and time off policy

    Show More

    Cons

    -Having a very strong focus on sales metrics helps our team focus, but it can also promote tunnel vision. Promoting some creativity at the individual level could go a long way - there are more ways SDRs can help BetterWorks grow than just generating qualified leads.

    Advice to Management

    -Coming from a large financial services firm, I really appreciate how flat and open the structure is here at BetterWorks. Sometimes I worry that this is not scalable as we grow, however, since people don't know where to direct certain questions and ideas. -As we grow, promote a mentorship program across different groups and geographies

    betterworks2017-03-09
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Only regret has been not coming here sooner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Development in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at betterworks full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Incredible team that helps challenge you to be 1% better each and every day - Very clear transparency and communication between different departments as well as different levels of management - Work life balance is incredible - There are clear opportunities to move up in the company - It feels like we are in the middle of something very special

    Cons

    The weekly ups and downs that are common in a start up environment

    betterworks2017-03-09
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Vision, people, and market combine for huge opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at betterworks full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Awesome, well-differentiated product -Great leadership from the board down -Mature, high-powered, intelligent team members -Well-thought out vision -Collaborative environment -Opportunity to distinguish yourself -Compensation is industry-leading

    Cons

    -Rapid changes may be overwhelming to some -Some disconnect between coasts -No career paths yet, although they are forthcoming -Company-wide events could use a bit more inspiration

    Advice to Management

    -Continue making investments in your people, and build internal loyalty by promoting from within instead of hiring whenever possible -Double down on our strategy and the culture of our awesome company

    betterworks2017-03-10
  6. Helpful (4)

    "The people at BetterWorks are second to none!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at betterworks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    BetterWorks was an incredible place to start my career in SaaS sales - I recently moved on to another opportunity, but owe everything I learned to the managers and more seasoned employees. The people at BetterWorks made it fun to show up at the office every day. I made lifelong friends at the company and absolutely loved working alongside them. I’m grateful for all that I learned and for the company giving me a shot - I started as an SDR and moved up to AE. I would definitely check out BetterWorks if you’re looking for a talented and amazing team to work with!

    Show More

    Cons

    There are ups and downs that are inherent to any startup.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the hiring bar high and continue to invest in talent.

    betterworks2017-01-29
  7. Helpful (4)

    "best job ever. period."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at betterworks full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - seriously amazing team -- a smart and dedicated group, but also down to earth, welcoming, and willing to both teach and learn - board of directors and advisors is all star -- john doerr, laszlo bock, jason lemkin, bing gordon... - beautiful, elegant product you're proud to show to people - leaders/managers trust you to make decisions - great opportunities for growth/taking on more responsibility - company has clear and compelling mission/vision and drinks its own champagne (using product internally) - product roadmap is awesome and company future looks very bright - usual perks like food, ski trips, etc.

    Show More

    Cons

    - startup life can be difficult to balance, but you're trusted to make your schedule work for you - priorities and directions change quickly which requires you to stay flexible/agile

    Advice to Management

    keep recognizing your all-star people and staying in touch with customers and prospective clients. stay focused.

    betterworks2015-01-27
Found 7 reviews