cohens fashion optical Reviews | Glassdoor

cohens fashion optical Reviews

Updated May 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 44 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Robert Cohen
17 Ratings
  1. "Love it here!!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at cohens fashion optical full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility, energetic and fun company to work for.

    Cons

    Great benefits and work environment

    cohens fashion optical2019-01-18
  2. "Cohen's Flip Flop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lab Technician in Freeport, NY

    I worked at cohens fashion optical full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Friendly staff Sick days PTO

    Cons

    Favoritism Chance of company changing to a franchise company new school new rules

    cohens fashion optical2019-05-21
  3. "Responsible for every aspect of sales, business organization and employee development."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at cohens fashion optical full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Cross training and opportunity to learn independently

    Cons

    Lack of unified training system

    Advice to Management

    Clear structure of employment expectations can significantly improve employee satisfaction and determination to the company.

    cohens fashion optical2018-11-25
  4. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at cohens fashion optical full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    very flexible hours and great pay

    Cons

    none that I am aware of

    cohens fashion optical2018-11-25
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Head the Warning- Beware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technician in Hicksville, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at cohens fashion optical full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    staff can be friendly at times

    Cons

    Poor Management, lack of proper training for new hires. No insurance or benefits(sick days/holiday). Too many empty promises are made but not kept. Management creates a hostile environment by talking down to employees and gossiping behind others back. No raise, long hours with no lunch break. Disgusting!!

    Advice to Management

    Management needs proper on-the-job training as well as a standard on ethics. Very unprofessional and lack of opportunity for growth. Be honest when hiring new employees and provide adequate training. Create a less toxic environment,

    cohens fashion optical2018-12-22
  6. "IT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at cohens fashion optical full-time

    Pros

    Some great people to work with

    Cons

    Hard to get a raise

    cohens fashion optical2018-08-08
  7. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at cohens fashion optical full-time

    Pros

    Great environment to work in. Fun

    Cons

    Medical benefits none when working with a franchisee

    cohens fashion optical2018-07-19
  8. "Good for a starter position in the field"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Opticians Assistant in Waterford, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at cohens fashion optical full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly coworkers, Great discounts on products, quick learning environemnt

    Cons

    Management promoted with little to no experience, some managers still working on commission and undermining their coworkers even though they make massive hourly amounts

    Advice to Management

    either get used to quick turn over rates or get your mid-level managers in line

    cohens fashion optical2018-04-24
  9. "Don't do it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lab Technician 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at cohens fashion optical full-time

    Pros

    Quite honestly, nothing. If you can negotiate a good salary and decent hours, than go for it. But don't hold your breath for anything else.

    Cons

    This has been the most unethical company I've ever worked for. They promise customers one thing, than give them something else. They will dissuade you from getting your license and say the best people are ones who don't have one. Additionally, no one seems to know the in's and outs of the industry other than talking points, and that's coming from someone who only has the "Street smarts" of the industry. It's also...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop lying to your customers. I am not - and never was - an optician and I am not willing to stick my neck out for potential lawsuits. I do not appreciate looking like a fool when I don't know answers to technical questions. Give your staff medical insurance, sick days, vacation days. Don't lie to them on interviews. Hire people who know what they're doing and have industry knowledge - I can't be the only one who can...

    Show More
    cohens fashion optical2018-03-22
  10. "Cohen's Fashion Optical"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at cohens fashion optical full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Cohen's Fashion Optical is a family run company. They treat all of their employees like family. I am lucky to work directly with great people. To me, they are the best of the best.

    Cons

    The commute on the LIRR

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing and you will continue to succeed.

    cohens fashion optical2017-09-04
Found 44 reviews