comScore Reviews | Glassdoor

comScore Reviews

Updated September 20, 2017
263 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

263 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Open culture and good work life balance (in 33 reviews)

  • This is highly discouraging when acclimating to an already very stressful work-environment (in 23 reviews)

Cons
  • Work life balance depends on your team and your vertical (in 15 reviews)

  • Long hours, became a bit bureaucratic (which was not always the case) (in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Portland, OR
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at comScore full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    intelligent coworkers, nice management team, work flexibility, friendly work environment

    Cons

    lack of training opportunity or career development services

    Advice to Management

    provide more guidance on career development

    comScore Response

    Dec 2, 2016 – Recruiting

    Thanks so much for the feedback. As we go into 2017, we're looking at a number of needs for the employees here at comScore. The top initiatives are to better help employees identify and pursue career... More


  2. Helpful (2)

    "Account Clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Clerk in Reston, VA
    Former Employee - Account Clerk in Reston, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at comScore full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    comScore offers a lot of benefits: Group Outings, Gifts, Free Food, In-House Health Fairs, Reflexology & Massages, Work From Home, Summer Hours, and more.

    Cons

    Stagnated Advancement, Demands to complete assignments not outlined in job description without additional compensation, Overtime called "Additional Hours" where you work for less than normal pay.

    Advice to Management

    Value the opinion and assignments of your direct reports.

  3. "Vice President"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in Seattle, WA
    Current Employee - Vice President in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at comScore full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great work life balance; understanding, smart, and helpful colleagues; exciting industry; renewed focus at CEO level; have the appropriate mentality and data assets for success

    Cons

    dealing with the administrative support teams can occasionally be a nightmare; at times keeping non-performing employees too long; no putting necessary TLC on some product offerings

    Advice to Management

    evaluate the product offerings and put necessary TLC on products we want to keep and grow. ensure proper staffing level to support quality delivery

    comScore Response

    Dec 2, 2016 – Recruiting

    Thanks for posting a review! We agree with the renewed focus from the top down, and we're excited about 2017's possibilities. We're also driving much of the focus toward the Product arena, so we... More


  4. "I love the work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at comScore full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    very balanced work life
    very passionate and helpful team members
    managers, directors are very humble and always willing to help

    Cons

    future of technology in Chicago office is not known. they just asked everybody to move to Reston

    comScore Response

    Dec 2, 2016 – Recruiting

    Thanks for the great comments. We really aim to show that we know that life exists outside of the office, so we're happy to hear that you feel the balance. It's also been a hallmark of comScore that... More


  5. Helpful (2)

    "Decent Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at comScore full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Flex time off, work from home privileges, pretty standard 9-5 hours, social activities, well-respected company in its field

    Cons

    Inexperienced management (department level), average pay, uninspiring annual merit raises, platforms always seem to have data processing delays or bugs, poor execution of ideas

    comScore Response

    Dec 2, 2016 – Recruiting

    Thanks for the review. We're glad to have you as part of the comScore team. We're working across the organization to increase the skills and capabilities of our managers. We have identified this as a... More


  6. Helpful (11)

    "Things a little rocky right now."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Smart people
    Great benefits
    Diverse locations
    good work/life balance

    Cons

    Company under investigation and the top execs are possibly in hot water for getting multi million $ stock grants based on dubious accounting that the Wall Street Journal called into question. This has been widely reported.

    Advice to Management

    Have the top execs give back the stock options awarded to them based on questionable accounting. Restore our confidence in the leaders of the company.


  7. Helpful (3)

    "Top Client Exposure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales
    Current Employee - Sales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at comScore full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    comScore is the currency in digital marketing and moving toward the same for all cross media measurement. For many companies it is a must buy. Meetings are medium/easy to get. The value is there for clients. Co-founder Gian Fulgoni has a great vision for the future.

    Cons

    Research budgets seem to be falling trend is analytics are better but doesn't answer the emotional or why's to what people do. Convincing clients to shift budgets takes time.

    Advice to Management

    Do a better job integrating new talent. comScore does a good job career pathing in Client Insights and technical roles but not in sales. There are very few junior sales people. Mid-level come in from outside but all the good relationships are already taken. Result - many people at comScore for 10+ years who are happy and hard for newcomers to find the same success.

    comScore Response

    Dec 2, 2016 – Recruiting

    We appreciate you making time to share the review! We agree that Gian has re-energized the employee base, and his vision is really clear for us to see.

    We appreciate the candor on the integration... More

  8. Helpful (3)

    "Great Place to Start Out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Client Insights Analyst in Reston, VA
    Current Employee - Senior Client Insights Analyst in Reston, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at comScore full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    comScore is a respected industry leader in audience measurement. Working in the digital space, our data isn't perfect but you can tell clients feel it's the best out there. Coming out of school you get thrown into the fire pretty quickly. This can be a good thing as you are forced to learn new skills and your resume evolves in rapid fashion. The Reston office has a great twenty-something community ideal for making friends out of school and networking across different verticals. comScore is a unique company which offers big responsibility right away with competitive compensation hiring out of school.

    Cons

    The company has been through some turmoil recently and it has kept upper management distracted a bit (understandably). Teams can be set in their ways and depending on the team long hours from younger employees and shorter hours from older employees can be common. comScore can try to be everything for everyone and I think that definitely affects my team. The desire to answer every question can takeaway from the ability to answer a few questions more completely. Constant changing of priorities can make accomplishing goals difficult.

    Advice to Management

    Investing in data assets is vitally important and comScore has done so. But investing in people and infrastructure is important as well. comScore hires a lot of recent graduates and almost all of them disappear within 3 years or so. I don't think that's coincidence. While perhaps that's an intentional decision there is a generational gap forming which I think is becoming problematic particularly when different teams have different experience levels and are working together.

    comScore Response

    Dec 2, 2016 – Recruiting

    Thanks for the thoughtful review. We agree that career pathing is of the utmost importance. We feel particularly strong about this as it relates to recent graduates. We want to make sure we are... More


  9. Helpful (6)

    "Not Much More Than a Resume Builder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    The benefits are probably the best thing this company has to offer.

    Cons

    There is no advancement for a lot of employees. When I asked for career outlook, my manager just about laughed in my face. A few people carry the weight of the team while others get away with just showing up. Those that deserve to move up never do. Instead of promoting within, they hire new staff not even considering those who have been there for years producing results. They do a great job of making those who work the hardest feel worthless while praising those who do absolutely nothing for the success of the company.

    Advice to Management

    Ask employees how they feel about their leaders. Some "leaders" are not even leading and aren't even qualified to be in their positions.

    comScore Response

    Dec 5, 2016 – Recruiting

    Thanks for your candid review. We're very concerned that a manager would reply this way when faced with an employee trying to expand their career options. We do not condone nor stand for this type of... More


  10. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Helpful mentorship, lots of flexibility on hours, good location

    Cons

    Very disorganized at times, not very good team-to-team communication.


Showing 263 of 273 reviews
Reset Filters