coolblueweb Reviews

Updated Jun 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
44%
Recommend to a Friend
17%
Approve of CEO
coolblueweb President Jonathan Martin (no image)
Jonathan Martin
4 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Fun and Fast-Paced with Opportunity for Growth"

    5.0
    • Career Opportunities
     

    I have been working at coolblueweb

    Pros

    The developers operate well as a team and make sure to support each other and share their knowledge through official meetings dedicated to learning, as well as informal collaborative sessions. The company is growing quickly and has a list of exciting clients. Company culture is laid back, but the work is fast-paced and always exciting. Personally, working here has been an excellent opportunity for me to develop my existing skills and expand my knowledge of ecommerce. The best part of the job is my coworkers, who are smart, funny and highly skilled.

    Cons

    Internal projects can sometimes get overlooked, due to the high amount of client requests. But, processes are getting smoother every day!

    coolblueweb2016-03-22
  2. Helpful (7)

    "Great co-workers, Unfortunate Management"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at coolblueweb full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The co-workers. Smart, funny, kept me going. The snacks. Delicious, many, kept me eating.

    Cons

    Toward the end of working there, you could tell that everything was starting to crumble. Since I had started, we lost more than half of the team from hasty and unnecessary layoffs and mismanagement. There was such a lack of process or organization and any new initiative from an employee was ignored. The owner thought they knew best and would hide things or start new companies without any regard for the company resources. You could tell a couple of people were working hard to keep everything together but just couldn't. When you put talent and time into the betterment of a company and the owner wants to completely disregard anyone's opinions but their own, it makes you rethink your abilities. It makes you rethink what teamwork means. I would recommend all the people I worked with, but I wouldn't recommend working for coolblueweb or working with the management.

    Continue reading
    coolblueweb2019-06-12
  3. Helpful (7)

    "Disappointing chapter in my career for reasons i hadn’t no control over."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Web Developer in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at coolblueweb full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There were some great people I worked with and I learned from them. Nice office location. Casual environment.

    Cons

    Processes were nonexistent. Customer service suffered and the team took the brunt of it. Not fun having customers threaten you.

    Continue reading
    coolblueweb2019-02-15
  4. Helpful (2)

    "worked hard, loved the boss but didnt see a way foreward"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Web Developer in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at coolblueweb full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    was ecouraged and helped level up my dev skills

    Cons

    I didn't like working with magento

    coolblueweb2017-03-30
  5. Helpful (10)

    "Do not recommend"

    1.0
    Former Contractor - Front End Web Developer in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at coolblueweb for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice location, close to transportation. Building nice. The coffee machine is good. Working in Pioneer square is good and interesting to people watch.

    Cons

    They do not give clear direction. They rely too much on Slack for communication. If you ask someone a question, they seem annoyed and tell you to post on Slack, then no one answers your question. If you fill out your time card incorrectly they publicly shame you on Slack. Pay is way below industry standards for Front End Web Development. They hire people good at coding then have them do content management. Then tell you are aren't qualified....which is a joke. They talk smack about former employees being alcoholics while they display their empty liquor bottles at their desk and have liquor stashed in the kitchen cabinets. Some people sleep at work.

    Continue reading
    coolblueweb2016-03-20

    coolblueweb Response

    March 25, 2016President

    We want to thank you for your 13 days of contract work. We wish you the best of luck with your continued growth in the web development field.

  6. Helpful (3)

    "Great, Growing Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at coolblueweb full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This is a small company working to be the best in their industry while retaining a sense of community. Every employee is given ample opportunity to grow. Hard working staff who like to have a good time.

    Cons

    Normal growing pains but management is constantly working on solutions while asking for feedback from employees.

    Continue reading
    coolblueweb2016-02-08
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Love This Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Web Developer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at coolblueweb

    Pros

    This company is growing and changing in the best ways. I've been here for 5 years and have seen the business evolve from a small promo-product/seo business to a full-on web dev machine! The community of developers here have each other's back and are focused on making the web a better place. Best of all, it is evident that those who work here love what they do and love doing what they do at coolblue.

    Cons

    Not very many cons. Some internal processes are still in development, but the level of employee influence allows the company to adapt to the ever-changing industry that is web development.

    Continue reading
    coolblueweb2016-02-08
  8. "Excellent Job, Excellent Culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Web Developer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at coolblueweb full-time

    Pros

    GREAT PROJECTS, Never a dull moment. The company has a great maintenance program as well as multiple projects to work on which is great for taking on new skills & honing the existing. while earning a competitive wage. EXCELLENT CULTURE. great people who love what they do and are always helpful. Its like a family. Pool table and ping pong are available for employees. GREAT LEADERSHIP: This trickles down from the CEO to project manager to SR. Devs, excellent people who want you to succeed.

    Cons

    I cant beat anybody at ping pong, they are too damn good!

    Continue reading
    coolblueweb2015-09-09
  9. "These guys love what they do."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Web Developer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at coolblueweb full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    coolblueweb has a casual but focus culture. Co-workers build relationships that step outside of the office. They even have a pool table for a relaxing step away from a problem. They love and are experts for the ecommerce platform, Magento. Becoming a Magento Certified Developer is highly encouraged.

    Cons

    Since they are a small company the mentor-ship track is still developing. Employees are encouraged to learn through self-study rather than direct teaching. They are located in Pioneer Square, Seattle. This can be challenging during sporting events as traffic and parking is out of control.

    coolblueweb2014-05-07

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 9 reviews