dataxu Reviews

Updated Mar 23, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
53%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
dataxu Co-Founder, President & CEO Mike Baker
Mike Baker
64 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Rewarded for doing well"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at dataxu full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I worked in sales at dataxu for over four years and can honestly say that if you are independently motivated and are able to work autonomously there is a lot of opportunity to do well. You have support and visibility all the way up to the CEO and have opportunities to work along side the executive team. The direction we are headed with the technology to back it makes dataxu a solid career move for any seller. It's not easy by any means but if you are confident in a consultative selling role then you can do very well. Success here also leads to a great work life balance.

    Cons

    You need to be able to work very independently, you cannot rely on receiving a lot of sales support. With any tech company, there are a lot of people coming and going. Industry and direction of the sales org is constantly changing.

    Continue reading
    dataxu2018-08-31

    dataxu Response

    October 2, 2018SVP, People Strategy

    Thank you very much for your feedback! We are glad you had a very positive experience during your four-year tenure with dx and we wish you all the best in your future endeavors! Please keep in touch.

  2. Helpful (8)

    "Management (Mike Baker) consistently made bad choices"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at dataxu full-time

    Pros

    The actual tech The culture

    Cons

    Dataxu started with a lot of energy and vision and was built on bold action but by 2013, holes in the management strategy were appearing. Since then, Management was overly confident, arrogant and not at all in touch with marketplace trends or their own company status. Mike Baker specifically is guilty of this rather delusional attitude. Baker made critical wrong turns, such as: 1) Poor business decisions early on to flout entrenched Ad agencies when seeking brand budget, despite several staff warnings. This was a losing battle that was not given up until 2017 when it was too late. 2) Lack of Sales leadership and a revolving door of sales leaders. Revenue goals were not met because of an overall lack of vision and leadership on the GTM side 3) Wasted time on unfocused product development on products which were not needed in the marketplace and did not fit with DataXu's core business 4) Failure to make meaningful business pivot to new initiatives at the right time 5) Most of all - failure to properly entertain profitable and healthy exit/acquisition opportunities This was all during the last 5 years when quarter after quarter revenue was down, staff morale was sinking, long term employees were leaving and overall marketplace perspective on the company was in fast, fast decline. There was no effort to regroup and reevaluate and attack the issues at hand like the start-up Baker claimed it was - as a group and as a team (despite the constant talk about the small "family" of Dataxu). Instead, Baker and Ed just pumped out empty rhetoric to the staff and ultimately hid how poorly the company was doing. The decisions at this company are one-hundred percent made by Baker and Ed - this includes passing on extremely profitable buy-out offers in 2014/2015. Therefore, they are the ones that deserve the blame for the disappointing exit at a terrible "fire sale" price which has left all of their staff with worthless shares.

    dataxu2019-11-06
  3. Helpful (14)

    "Mike Baker and his hubris drove this company into the ground"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Survivor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at dataxu full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Absolutely none. This toxic environment scarred everyone for life.

    Cons

    Fire sale to Roku --no one made money except top mgmt -- with $88m in investment and only a $75m cash payout from Roku - do the math. Mike Baker whose hubris has no limits should once and for all go down in history as a failure. Good job Mike -- no value, no payout except for jerks like you and empty suits like Bruce Journey...

    Continue reading
    dataxu2019-10-31
  4. "Its a Great Place"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at dataxu full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexibility, cutting edge tech, access to the CEO and other members of the leadership. There are some phenomenally intelligent people at this company and, whats more they are willing to work with you. The product is getting better every quarter and it's a very compelling offering. The mid-management in the sales team, the product team, the engineering teams and the client services team are all rock solid.

    Cons

    There have been a number of re-orgs (I am still here though and just practically speaking, it was imperative that we go through them). The executives and more specifically HR haven't been great at communicating or handling these re-orgs. I agree with many on here that HR (or People 'Strategy') is lacking. I wish we had more features released sooner but that's probably within every organization.

    Continue reading
    dataxu2019-08-22
  5. Helpful (10)

    "Company Failing Due To Manager Negligence"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graphic Designer in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at dataxu full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Openwork environment. Free soda. Flexible scheduling.

    Cons

    Manager inexperience. CEO Negligence. Not letting anyone grow within the company.

    Continue reading
    dataxu2019-08-20
  6. Helpful (9)

    "Falling fast and hard"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at dataxu full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great coworkers, plenty of smart and hard-working people all around

    Cons

    - 3 “re-orgs” (layoffs) just in 2019 - upper management woefully out of touch with reality and has no understanding of how to keep company afloat and employees motivated - pays below market

    Continue reading
    dataxu2019-08-10
  7. Helpful (12)

    "Company Going Downhill"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at dataxu full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Generally speaking, colleagues are nice and willing to help. There are a lot of great minds to learn from.

    Cons

    RE-ORGS: I've been here for 6+ years. I've watched this company go through reorg after reorg. This past year alone, we've had 3 reorgs which resulted in many layoffs. We've also had to shut down offices (Brazil, India, Detroit). PERKS: Perks have gone downhill. We used to have free weekly lunches. This has gone down to when we just have a company meeting (about bi monthly). Boston Inno Coolest Company To Work For: They forgot to mention that they incentivize their employees to vote by offering gift cards. As a result, engineers write scripts that they run all day to help vote. No Loyalty: I've watched this company layoff people who are extremely dedicated to this company (eat, breathe, and sleep dataxu). There is no loyalty here. They only care about their bottom line and will do what they can stay afloat as revenue has been declining quarter after quarter. Not Recognized for hard work: Don't bother putting in the hours, just work your 8 hour shift. Company doesn't recognize or care that you're going above and beyond.

    Continue reading
    dataxu2019-07-21
  8. Helpful (11)

    "One of the fastest declining companies in the Boston area..."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Professional in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at dataxu full-time

    Pros

    1. Unlimited PTO 2. Frequently touts itself as one of the finalists of BostonInno's Coolest companies 3. Generally speaking, coworkers are nice and kind

    Cons

    1 . The only constant at the company is the perennial re-org Can't remember how many re-orgs this place has undergone in the past few years. In some cases, the re-orgs are a result of reduction in force, while in other cases they are due to departures of key stakeholders. Exodus has almost become a constant theme 2 .The exec team doesn't seem to have a concrete clue about how to fix the company except for going after whatever businesses that are trending 3. Did I mentioned that the company has had multiple company-wide employee data breach in recent years? No clear accountability after the incident. Several former employees were on their own to take care of potential identity theft.

    dataxu2019-07-14
  9. Helpful (18)

    "This company lacks all forms of integrity and professionalism"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Professional in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at dataxu full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Only filling this part in because Glassdoor requires it

    Cons

    This company lacks all forms of integrity and professionalism. I have never worked in such a caustic environment and one that is truly reminiscent of how the social structure was in high school. Toxic employees with zero business acumen, who produce no actual value, and encumber progress are rewarded with lavish salaries and bonuses. You may see accolades from local Boston sources such as Bostino. Don't be fooled, management uses unreported bonus like distributions to employees in an effort to amplify the company's votes/ratings on these platforms. Don't bother wasting any time working hard here as it will go unnoticed and unrewarded. You will, however, get the opportunity to interact with 20 somethings that have never actually been self sufficient functioning adults. The company boasts its benefits package which includes a never ending party atmosphere. Yet, the company is tanking and management is playing questionable political games to keep it afloat, up to and including, concerning and questionable ethics to do so. Speaking of management, you'll get little to no support from your current supervisor, all of the way up to the executive level. The "people strategy" department (HR) is notorious for instigating and actively contributing to the overall drama and immaturity this company seems to thrive on. Do not consider them a reliable resource for information or for support. If you're a professional and respectable adult, AVOID THIS COMPANY AT ALL COSTS

    Continue reading
    dataxu2019-03-09

    dataxu Response

    March 25, 2019Manager, Talent Acquisition

    We are sorry to hear your negative feedback on your experience with us. We regularly solicit employee feedback to impact positive change so it's unfortunate you didn't feel that support. We always want to provide a fun and supportive environment and believe that many others at dataxu have had positive experiences as evidenced in our back-to-back wins as a company of choice, our 2019 engagement survey launched to our global employees where we received very positive feedback and our survey was completed by 94.5% of our population, and 25% of our hires are employee referrals. We hope that you have since found happiness with your new employer.

  10. Helpful (7)

    "Past its prime"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at dataxu full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Amazing and talented employees - Great office space - Great tech that is under appreciated in the market

    Cons

    - Touts it’s transparency, but not actually transparent - Constant reorganization - Certain members of the leadership team are checked out

    dataxu2019-01-29
Found 97 reviews