dataxu Reviews

Updated Mar 6, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
49%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
dataxu Co-Founder, President & CEO Mike Baker
Mike Baker
69 Ratings
Pros
  • "Smart people throughout the Company(in 12 reviews)

  • "work life balance, Good technology stack(in 11 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Senior management values time-in-seat more than productivity(in 5 reviews)

  • "re orgs(in 4 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great company!

      Mar 3, 2021 - Ad Operations Associate in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing culture - good people!

      Cons

      Difficult to advance in company!

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Great company!

      Jan 16, 2021 - Account Associate in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Stellar leadership Innovative thinkers Respectful colleagues Good work/life balance

      Cons

      Went through several rounds of layoffs

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Bought out

      Dec 2, 2020 - Project Coordinator in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This company was bought out by roku

      Cons

      Drinking on the job site

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Company Going Downhill

      Jul 20, 2019 - Software Engineer in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Generally speaking, colleagues are nice and willing to help. There are a lot of great minds to learn from.

      Cons

      RE-ORGS: I've been here for 6+ years. I've watched this company go through reorg after reorg. This past year alone, we've had 3 reorgs which resulted in many layoffs. We've also had to shut down offices (Brazil, India, Detroit). PERKS: Perks have gone downhill. We used to have free weekly lunches. This has gone down to when we just have a company meeting (about bi monthly). Boston Inno Coolest Company To Work For: They forgot to mention that they incentivize their employees to vote by offering gift cards. As a result, engineers write scripts that they run all day to help vote. No Loyalty: I've watched this company layoff people who are extremely dedicated to this company (eat, breathe, and sleep dataxu). There is no loyalty here. They only care about their bottom line and will do what they can stay afloat as revenue has been declining quarter after quarter. Not Recognized for hard work: Don't bother putting in the hours, just work your 8 hour shift. Company doesn't recognize or care that you're going above and beyond.

      Continue reading
      12 people found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Its a Great Place

      Aug 22, 2019 - Account Executive 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexibility, cutting edge tech, access to the CEO and other members of the leadership. There are some phenomenally intelligent people at this company and, whats more they are willing to work with you. The product is getting better every quarter and it's a very compelling offering. The mid-management in the sales team, the product team, the engineering teams and the client services team are all rock solid.

      Cons

      There have been a number of re-orgs (I am still here though and just practically speaking, it was imperative that we go through them). The executives and more specifically HR haven't been great at communicating or handling these re-orgs. I agree with many on here that HR (or People 'Strategy') is lacking. I wish we had more features released sooner but that's probably within every organization.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      This company lacks all forms of integrity and professionalism

      Mar 8, 2019 - Professional in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Only filling this part in because Glassdoor requires it

      Cons

      This company lacks all forms of integrity and professionalism. I have never worked in such a caustic environment and one that is truly reminiscent of how the social structure was in high school. Toxic employees with zero business acumen, who produce no actual value, and encumber progress are rewarded with lavish salaries and bonuses. You may see accolades from local Boston sources such as Bostino. Don't be fooled, management uses unreported bonus like distributions to employees in an effort to amplify the company's votes/ratings on these platforms. Don't bother wasting any time working hard here as it will go unnoticed and unrewarded. You will, however, get the opportunity to interact with 20 somethings that have never actually been self sufficient functioning adults. The company boasts its benefits package which includes a never ending party atmosphere. Yet, the company is tanking and management is playing questionable political games to keep it afloat, up to and including, concerning and questionable ethics to do so. Speaking of management, you'll get little to no support from your current supervisor, all of the way up to the executive level. The "people strategy" department (HR) is notorious for instigating and actively contributing to the overall drama and immaturity this company seems to thrive on. Do not consider them a reliable resource for information or for support. If you're a professional and respectable adult, AVOID THIS COMPANY AT ALL COSTS

      Continue reading
      19 people found this review helpful

      dataxu Response

      Manager, Talent Acquisition

      We are sorry to hear your negative feedback on your experience with us. We regularly solicit employee feedback to impact positive change so it's unfortunate you didn't feel that support. We always want to provide a fun and supportive environment and believe that many others at dataxu have had positive experiences as evidenced in our back-to-back wins as a company of choice, our 2019 engagement survey launched to our global employees where we received very positive feedback and our survey was completed by 94.5% of our population, and 25% of our hires are employee referrals. We hope that you have since found happiness with your new employer.

    7. 2.0
      Current Employee

      One of the fastest declining companies in the Boston area...

      Jul 13, 2019 - Professional in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1. Unlimited PTO 2. Frequently touts itself as one of the finalists of BostonInno's Coolest companies 3. Generally speaking, coworkers are nice and kind

      Cons

      1 . The only constant at the company is the perennial re-org Can't remember how many re-orgs this place has undergone in the past few years. In some cases, the re-orgs are a result of reduction in force, while in other cases they are due to departures of key stakeholders. Exodus has almost become a constant theme 2 .The exec team doesn't seem to have a concrete clue about how to fix the company except for going after whatever businesses that are trending 3. Did I mentioned that the company has had multiple company-wide employee data breach in recent years? No clear accountability after the incident. Several former employees were on their own to take care of potential identity theft.

      11 people found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Rewarded for doing well

      Aug 31, 2018 - Account Executive 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I worked in sales at dataxu for over four years and can honestly say that if you are independently motivated and are able to work autonomously there is a lot of opportunity to do well. You have support and visibility all the way up to the CEO and have opportunities to work along side the executive team. The direction we are headed with the technology to back it makes dataxu a solid career move for any seller. It's not easy by any means but if you are confident in a consultative selling role then you can do very well. Success here also leads to a great work life balance.

      Cons

      You need to be able to work very independently, you cannot rely on receiving a lot of sales support. With any tech company, there are a lot of people coming and going. Industry and direction of the sales org is constantly changing.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      dataxu Response

      SVP, People Strategy

      Thank you very much for your feedback! We are glad you had a very positive experience during your four-year tenure with dx and we wish you all the best in your future endeavors! Please keep in touch.

    9. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Management (Mike Baker) consistently made bad choices

      Nov 6, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The actual tech The culture

      Cons

      Dataxu started with a lot of energy and vision and was built on bold action but by 2013, holes in the management strategy were appearing. Since then, Management was overly confident, arrogant and not at all in touch with marketplace trends or their own company status. Mike Baker specifically is guilty of this rather delusional attitude. Baker made critical wrong turns, such as: 1) Poor business decisions early on to flout entrenched Ad agencies when seeking brand budget, despite several staff warnings. This was a losing battle that was not given up until 2017 when it was too late. 2) Lack of Sales leadership and a revolving door of sales leaders. Revenue goals were not met because of an overall lack of vision and leadership on the GTM side 3) Wasted time on unfocused product development on products which were not needed in the marketplace and did not fit with DataXu's core business 4) Failure to make meaningful business pivot to new initiatives at the right time 5) Most of all - failure to properly entertain profitable and healthy exit/acquisition opportunities This was all during the last 5 years when quarter after quarter revenue was down, staff morale was sinking, long term employees were leaving and overall marketplace perspective on the company was in fast, fast decline. There was no effort to regroup and reevaluate and attack the issues at hand like the start-up Baker claimed it was - as a group and as a team (despite the constant talk about the small "family" of Dataxu). Instead, Baker and Ed just pumped out empty rhetoric to the staff and ultimately hid how poorly the company was doing. The decisions at this company are one-hundred percent made by Baker and Ed - this includes passing on extremely profitable buy-out offers in 2014/2015. Therefore, they are the ones that deserve the blame for the disappointing exit at a terrible "fire sale" price which has left all of their staff with worthless shares.

      8 people found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Mike Baker and his hubris drove this company into the ground

      Oct 31, 2019 - Survivor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Absolutely none. This toxic environment scarred everyone for life.

      Cons

      Fire sale to Roku --no one made money except top mgmt -- with $88m in investment and only a $75m cash payout from Roku - do the math. Mike Baker whose hubris has no limits should once and for all go down in history as a failure. Good job Mike -- no value, no payout except for jerks like you and empty suits like Bruce Journey...

      Continue reading
      15 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 110 Reviews

    Popular Careers with dataxu Job Seekers

    Account Associate
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Business Development Representative
    Learn About the Job
    Senior Customer Success Manager
    Learn About the Job

    Work at dataxu? Share Your Experiences

    dataxu logo
    or