eBay Employee Reviews about "decision making"

Updated Nov 2, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 126 of over 4,790 reviews

4.1
82%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
eBay CEO Jamie Iannone
Jamie Iannone
672 Ratings

What people are saying about eBay

Join the conversation on

Product Management

1y

works at 

Uber Technologies Inc

I just got an offer for a PM role at eBay. I don’t have an Eng background and I’ve never had a PM title within tech, although my previous roles involved a lot of PM-type work. So effectively this would be me “breaking into” product management and finally having the title. I think this could open a lot of doors but I’m very hesitant about eBay. It’s obviously not a “hot” company right now and I’m not sure how respected it would be for getting other PM jobs in the future. Should I make the jump?

24

6 Comments

Tech

209.6K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Employer-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=eBay~7853
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Some great people and some good out of office events(in 442 reviews)
  • "Good benefits and very international(in 385 reviews)
  • "Good work life balance for most people but honestly its cos no one is self motivated anymore.(in 382 reviews)
  • "Great culture and values.(in 272 reviews)
  • "All good and it was a good pay(in 166 reviews)
Cons
  • "Ebay will probably go out of business due to poor management left to make despotic rules unchecked.(in 195 reviews)
  • "A bad manager can make or break your experience.(in 97 reviews)
  • "Mismanagement and poor leadership which make wrong decisions and fail to realize it until its past due..(in 77 reviews)
  • "terrible upper management leaves a lot to be desired(in 51 reviews)
  • "Frequent layoffs happening around the company(in 37 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of eBay and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "decision making"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Love working at eBay!

    Nov 2, 2021 - Program Manager in San Jose, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Culture is very inclusive, people are great, positive environment

    Cons

    decision making is cumbersome (almost too collaborative)

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great company to work for.

    Sep 1, 2021 - Associate Manager in San Jose, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great work-life balance and collaboration

    Cons

    Decision-making can be slow sometimes.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Company with really good intentions, but struggling with outdated stuff

    Jul 14, 2021 - Software Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    If you are in right team with right leadership and have skills, promotion growth is good. Good WLB

    Cons

    old tech stack short term decision making

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place to work

    Mar 20, 2021 - QA Engineer in Portland, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fantastic coworkers, work-life balance, opportunity to climb, and great pay for the area

    Cons

    Lots of moving pieces make decision making slow

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    eBay Response

    Thanks for the feedback! Although you're pleased with the pay, work/life balance and other areas of your experience, we're sorry that you feel less enthusiastic about decision making. If you have any thoughts on how you feel we can improve, please email glassdoorfeedback@ebay.com.

  5. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Good Workplace

    Feb 12, 2021 - Software Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Remote work Mentoring from senior people Presentation to CXO

    Cons

    Some policies Slow decision making from VPs

    1 person found this review helpful

    eBay Response

    We're very appreciative of your review. eBay, like many companies in 2020, had to adapt to working amidst a global pandemic - it's great to see that you enjoyed remote working options. If you want to expound on how you feel frustrated with policies and decision making, email glassdoorfeedback@ebay.com.

  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Good ecommerce company to work for

    Jan 20, 2021 - Risk Policy Manager in San Jose, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great work culture Good work like balance

    Cons

    Decision making is bit slow

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    eBay Response

    Thanks for this great review! eBay's culture empowers our employees to make an impact on small businesses around the world - it's a great mission to be a part of. If you'd like to share thoughts on how you feel eBay could improve the decision making process, we'd love to hear it. Please email glassdoorfeedback@ebay.com.

  7. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Good company

    Mar 21, 2021 - Engineering Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Culture, Potential for growth, growing market

    Cons

    Legacy code. Decision making, Limited long term thinking

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    eBay Response

    We are grateful for your willingness to share these comments with us. eBay strives to facilitate growth for all our employees whether through self-service options like LinkedIn Learning or other methods provided internally! Feel free to email us with additional insights at glassdoorfeedback@ebay.com.

  8. 3.0
    Former Freelancer

    It will up to what you were looking for

    Feb 1, 2021 - S/W Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great benefits can move up if you work

    Cons

    Management struggles with decision making

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    eBay Response

    Thank you for sharing your comments with us. It's great to hear that you loved eBay benefits - we strive to provide thoughtful and competitive options for all our employees. If you have more to share, email glassdoorfeedback@ebay.com.

  9. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Good

    Feb 14, 2021 - Finance Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good benefit to employees. Work life balance

    Cons

    Management decision making. Career growth

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    eBay Response

    Hello and thank you for your review! Our benefits are some of the best around and it's important to us that our employees have great work/life balance. If you'd like to expound on how you feel regarding decision making and career growth frustrations, please email glassdoorfeedback@ebay.com.

  10. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Tactical firedrill life

    Sep 12, 2020 - Director 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good people, great purpose. Stock is good

    Cons

    Poor decision making and years of strategic inertia. Low bar for quality of product esp at lower levels.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    eBay Response

    We're grateful for your time to leave this review. Our people help keep eBay a unique and dynamic place, while our mission allows eBay to help small businesses thrive in a virtual market. We're sorry to hear that you've felt some frustration with poor decision making and quality control at lower levels of the company. If you'd like to share any advice on how we can improve, let us know at glassdoorfeedback@ebay.com.