eHarmony Reviews | Glassdoor

eHarmony Reviews

Updated September 30, 2016
11 reviews

Filter

Filter


2.0
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
eHarmony CEO Grant Langston
Grant Langston
1 Rating

11 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • There is a great work/life balance (in 19 reviews)

  • Culture, no hours, free food, paid-parking, the employees (in 9 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (6)

    "It's been interesting, but the writing's on the wall."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    The publicly perceived strong brand. Honestly that's about as good as it gets.

    Cons

    There's an immense lack of planning and clarity around how this company will survive the onslaught of new competition that pops up every year. The technology powering the dating algorithm is dated and not relevant anymore. It's an old business model from over 10 years ago. No one here knows how to succeed and you can sense employees are interviewing as people aren't THAT dumb. Business metrics are down, users continue to be upset, and the apps haven't improved their ratings.

    Advice to Management

    I don't think management has a solid plan to succeed

    eHarmony Response

    Oct 6, 2016 – Chief Executive Officer

    We are always working to improve internal communication. With a near term plan in place for product evolution, and long term planning currently happening, it’s hard to understand how an employee ... More


  2. Helpful (12)

    "customer service/ quality assurance"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    great work/life ratio. benefits were outstanding. was able to get into different positions outside of customer service. ultimately, human resources treated me nice when i was laid off. i am grateful for that.

    Cons

    poor middle management. thought highly of themselves while pushing insane rules that did nothing to push company's bottom line along. ultimately the biggest con is the product itself which will no doubt cause a death spiral. with move to new ceo i shudder to think what lies ahead for those who remain. folks, you can not keep auto renewing the consumer while thinking your bottom line will not be affected. you must deliver on your promise of product or get out of business. i am happy that this company is long in my rear view mirror.

    Advice to Management

    get over yourselves. outside of those corporate walls, you are nothing, just another human being. quit hiring middle management based on popularity. higher more based on skill.

    eHarmony Response

    Aug 3, 2016 – Chief Executive Officer

    A couple of points I want to make in response to this. "You must deliver on the promise of your product." Completely agree. Can we do better? Yes. I've been in my role as CEO for 7 days and each of ... More


  3. Helpful (14)

    "Stone Age technology"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at eHarmony (More than a year)

    Pros

    As nearly every others pointed out: free Wednesday lunch, lots of snacks, coffee machine etc. all pretty standard perks for west side tech companies

    Cons

    Technology stuck in Stone Age. Bau (business as usual) always used as excuses to not advance. Infrastructure very old and outdated; ops scrambling to swap ancient servers; strong resistance to modernize; fake press releases about technology advancements which never happened; bad reputations in tech circles causing talents not willing to join

    Advice to Management

    Do real innovation, not just faking up interview stories, daring to reinvent yourself. Otherwise, this is a sinking ship.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Cool to work for a company that cares about the world."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at eHarmony full-time

    Pros

    work perks; free snacks, food on wednesdays, pay for parking

    Cons

    $ not performance based; education based


  6. Helpful (8)

    "I'm glad to leave Elevated behind"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at eHarmony (More than a year)

    Pros

    It was a great opportunity to help bring a new product to life.
    Work life balance was among the best.

    Cons

    The experience was best described as 'growing pain'. There was lack of maturity and professionalism from the leadership/management team. If you're a contractor, be prepared to be treated like cattle. Be prepared be take all the blames. And be mentally prepared to handle adult tantrums.

    Advice to Management

    Be transparent. Be communicative. Be more willing to take feedback from your circle of trust. Don't misplace your trusts in a few.

    eHarmony Response

    Aug 5, 2016 – Chief Executive Officer

    Thank you for being a part of the launch of Elevated Careers. I know starting any new business can be challenging, and I agree that good communication and openness are critical. Thank you for your ... More


  7. Helpful (4)

    "Innovation"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Los Angeles, CA
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    Pros

    Good compensation
    Most people are nice
    They like to give out stuff (mugs, jackets, backpacks) labeled eHarmony
    We get lunch on Wednesday (except if they don't order enough food)
    Mid level management seems in tune to what needs to be done

    Cons

    Ops understaffed (or overworked) can't keep up with or improve internal systems
    Innovation is lacking (reason for rating). The company wants to do one thing (compatibility) and that thing is already built. The result is that almost all of the projects are just database upgrades or migrations to different venders.

    Advice to Management

    Reduce process that slows down development. Work on new things that will help the company either internally or externally. At the very least encourage innovation in our core product to improve our customer's experience.

    To HR: Give employees more than a week before asking for glassdoor reviews.

    eHarmony Response

    Feb 25, 2016 – Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to comment. I always appreciate different perspectives from the team. From my view of things, I feel we have never been more innovative – from the fast-approaching ... More


  8. Helpful (16)

    "Yikes!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at eHarmony full-time

    Pros

    Most of the company's hires are very bright and hold lots of potential, and eHarmony pays decently in regards to the competition (although that's it - don't expect a raise afterwards). It also has all of the "fun tech things" that most Silicon Beach companies have adopted.

    Cons

    Despite what these fake reviews are saying (yes, someone in HR has let it slip that these are fakes), there is minimal career growth at this company. Employees are leaving in droves from every department and all ends with great reason: unless you're at the very top, no one gets actually recognized for their efforts (plus very poor management). Heck, even upper management is getting out of there.

    Also, if you're someone who likes innovation and bright ideas, this is not the company for you. The company is very much into preaching and very little into actually doing.

    eHarmony Response

    Oct 3, 2014 – Chief Operating Officer

    I can appreciate your perspective. Of course, we all have different lenses through which we see things, and from my experiences here I actually have witnessed more innovation from our teams than ... More


  9. Helpful (3)

    "Decline"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at eHarmony full-time

    Pros

    Great product. OK benefits. Nice offices. People are generally very nice. Very interesting tech projects and approaches. Impressive matching team.

    Cons

    Subpar C-suite with questionable relevant skills. Current CEO is the 80-year old founder who still relishes the good ol days of hypergrowth and trying to recapture the early glory days of the company in a much different tech environment. He is surrounded by yes-men who validate his unbounded and often irrational optimism. Disagreement or speaking up will get you fired/marginalized, so lots of smart people have moved on to other marquee companies in socal, and the few remaining are either waiting for the right opty or just keeping head down to survive. A once thriving culture is very much gone. All the departures without explanation have left us with an ever-present fear and concern for the company's future. very stifling atmosphere. Only 2 people on the board of directors so no real oversight or independent vetting of direction. Options worthless.

    Advice to Management

    I wish you success in re-creating the company. For the touted new job matching product, you should take a deep look at your own company to see the dysfunction or maybe the positives that this reviewer is blind to.

    eHarmony Response

    Oct 23, 2014 – Chief Operating Officer

    As I read this review, it reminds me of a very different time at eHarmony with a very different team and attitude. Thankfully, we have had much success reshaping the entire organization over the last ... More


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Technically enriching. Pays less."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Los Angeles, CA
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Good exposure to technology. Lot of software development best practices are followed. Free food on Wednesdays and meetings. Good office. Good brand name.

    Cons

    Favoritism and unfairness. Showing off is more important than technical competence. No scene of IPO for next 4-5 years.

    Advice to Management

    It's long time we diversify into other businesses as well. When will we IPO ? After the wave is gone and investors become afraid of putting money in IPOs ?


  11. "Work life balance is good. Not good paymaster. Need to step up brand advertising."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Santa Monica, CA
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Santa Monica, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    -Easy to maintain work life balance.
    -Some engineers are great. Potential for you to learn and apply new technologies.
    -Not many management layers. Can shine within company if you work hard.
    -Still a not a giant engineering team which is good in a way.
    -Get a chance to go to conferences.

    Cons

    -Pay is not good at Software Engineer level.

    -Facing stiff competition right now.

    -Recently the company moved to Santa Monica from Pasadena and many people had to leave as a result. But they have been very slow to get replacements despite knowing that they are facing stiff competition and need people for it.

    -Engineering management, sprint planning and resource allocation in some teams can be a lot better. Last minute deadline setting is not a good idea.

    -The work in engineering is not bad and there's lot of potential to do cool stuff that adds value to company but company has not been serious about Engineering Brand advertising efforts to attract people.

    Advice to Management

    Improve engineering management and set an overall short as well as long term strategy if you want to stand up to competition. Fill the vacant positions quickly. Brand advertising requires more of smartness rather than dollars.



Showing 11 of 104 reviews
Reset Filters