KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

eharmony

Is this your company?

eharmony

Add a Review

eharmony Employee Reviews about "free food"

Updated May 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 15 of over 142 reviews

3.2
55%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
eharmony CEO Gareth Mandel,Carlos Robles and Stefan Schulze (no image)
Gareth Mandel,Carlos Robles and Stefan Schulze
2 Ratings
Pros
  • "There is acceptable work life balance(in 22 reviews)

  • "Free food, insurance, gym, yoga, they have a bar upstairs (open at sometimes(in 15 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Unfair expectations (ie no work-life balance)(in 7 reviews)

  • "It can be difficult to get to Santa Monica in traffic(in 6 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "free food"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great company, great people, fun place!

      Aug 7, 2017 - Engineer in Westwood, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -- Tech team is very talented. There have been some changes lately for the good. -- There are some really good engineers on the iOS, Android, Front-end, Back-end and SDET teams. -- Fast paced environment. There is never a dull day at eHarmony. The tech stack used here is the latest. -- If you have a good idea and want to get it done, there is no one stopping you from doing it. -- The immigration paperwork is done super quick and through premium processing whenever possible. -- HR is very helpful whether it is for immigration concerns or if it is for setting the workstation ergonomically. -- Free food almost every day of the week -- Healthy and tasty snacking options -- Yoga Thursdays! -- Flex working hours. As long as you get the work done, no one cares when and how you do it.

      Cons

      -- Last year was bumpy and some people have quit fearing the worst. -- Few ineffective employees.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Research Analyst

      Sep 24, 2016 - Operations Research Analyst in Westwood, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1. Working for a company that wants to make a difference. 2. Culture, no hours, free food, paid-parking, the employees.

      Cons

      1. Pay 2. Work-life balance at times

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Making great progress

      Aug 1, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have been with the company for over a year and yes it's been challenging, but we are starting to see the benefits of the hard work. I feel optimistic about the future and that wasn't always the case. Everyone is really nice to work with and I don't feel like there is any real politics or backstabbing here. Location is great. Lots of cheap eats in Westwood. I like my manager and the people I work with. The mission is great (helping people find love) and it's always nice to meet a "success couple" in the office. Free food in the office Good benefits.

      Cons

      Is eHarmony perfect. Of course not. We have our challenges as an old internet company trying to stay fresh and relevant. The uncertainty of the business may be a con to some, but as I see it, every business has their challenges. In the end, it's the people you work with and the mission that's most important.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Chaotic and Overly Perfectionistic

      May 6, 2019 - Senior Project Manager in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free food Good work / life balance

      Cons

      Very political Engineering is chaotic Leadership does not know what they are doing A bit cult-like

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to start your career.

      Jul 31, 2017 - Software Engineer in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly environment. Most of the people I worked with are my friends even outside the work place. Autonomy at the workplace. You can design stuff end to end, no TPM's to meddle with your tasks or stories. A lot of new technologies to work on. The company has a good outlook in terms of adopting new technologies that can help the business. You can move fast in terms of work since it's a small environment and you can reach out to people easily. Management is also very understanding and patient with unforeseen delays and blockers. Decent Perks and benefits. Free food, insurance, gym, yoga, they have a bar upstairs (open at sometimes.. :) ) Great work life balance.

      Cons

      You have to patient in terms of career growth. I don't really see too many cons, but dating space these days is very competitive and slowly turning into a freemium market, hence I feel the company should add more features, And expand their reach with more products that target different market segments (like younger audience..) to grow bigger.

      5 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Very interesting work and challenges. Fulfilling mission.

      Nov 6, 2011 - Engineering in Santa Monica, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      80% of time there is free food around. Lots of events for employees Weekly all-hands standup meeting with most important updates. Agile development practices Frequent talks and meetups plus reading groups. Very family friendly - good work/life balance. Subsidized chair massage and gym membership. Quick to adopt new technologies.

      Cons

      There used to be a bit of reluctance to try new things out but this seems to have changed with new CEO (Jeremy Verba - ex Zynga).

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Welcoming, forward thinking, and focus on fostering happy, motivated employees.

      Oct 7, 2014 - Quality Assurance Engineer in Santa Monica, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Dedicated co-workers, healthy and collaborative atmosphere, great benefits, free food and fun company outings. Was immediately struck by the effective communication between team members as well as the positive atmosphere. It is great working someplace where people are optimistic about the company and product.

      Cons

      While communication within specific teams is fast and effective, communication between teams needs improving.

      7 people found this review helpful

      eharmony Response

      Chief Operating Officer

      I am so glad you feel we have a collaborative and positive workplace. I completely agree that communication has improved tenfold in the last several years, and I am eager to hear any ideas you may have about how to strengthen departments and team interactions even more. Thanks for sharing your thoughts. Appreciated. Armen

    8. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Outdated company, but I think they prefer to fail.

      Aug 31, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Killer location, lots of free food, unlimited pto and great benefits. These have gotten better since I started working there too.

      Cons

      I know the product really well. It's not very good. The tech is really outdated and any innovative ideas are immediately shot down. Middle and upper management are lazy and don't have the mindset or skills to work for an internet company. The culture is still really Christian and conservative which is all wrong for California.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Pros

      Lots of really smart people (in some departments) Tons of free food!

      Cons

      Little room for career advancement Poor benefits

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      not innovative and bad leadership

      Sep 5, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Westwood, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      free food - unhealthy and really fattening but free and lots of it. good work life balance.

      Cons

      Management is really unqualified and completely out of touch. So backwards and not innovative at all. Management is a great place to be at eHarmony if you are mediocre and was to find your forever home. You can do a bad job and stay there forever if you are in management.

      Continue reading
      15 people found this review helpful

      eharmony Response

      Chief Executive Officer

      Thanks for the feedback. In the next few weeks an organizational survey will be sent to each employee. You will be given every opportunity to share your thoughts about your supervisor, your group leader and all levels of company leadership. I’m very interested in what you think of all levels of company management. I know that this type of survey hasn’t been done in several years. It’s one of my priorities as CEO, and so we will consistently ask for your feedback. In our All-Hands meeting a few weeks ago, I stood before the company and talked through 20 or so different anonymous questions and concerns that had been sent in via our company Suggestion Box. I didn’t shy away from complex issues that are of a concern to all the staff. This is how we stay connected to the people that work at eHarmony, and it’s an effort that will continue. The idea that bad managers are left to perform poorly simply isn’t true. Our performance expectations are high, we hold people accountable, and dismiss poor performers of any level when necessary. We also invest in our managers through management training and coaching, to give them the tools to realize their full potential as leaders. eHarmony is not without faults, and as much as it can sting, I welcome criticism and suggestions for improvement. We maintain a complex product across different locales. We are working to build product features that people value and are easy to use. In my role as CEO, I’m building a culture that welcomes risk, brilliant ideas from any level, and even failure. These things take time, but we’re moving forward every day.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 15 Reviews

    Popular Careers with eharmony Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at eharmony? Share Your Experiences

    eharmony logo
    or