eharmony "free food" Reviews | Glassdoor

eharmony Employee Reviews about "free food"

Updated May 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
48%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
eharmony CEO Grant Langston
Grant Langston
35 Ratings
Pros
  • "There is a great work/life balance(in 20 reviews)

  • "Free food, insurance, gym, yoga, they have a bar upstairs (open at sometimes(in 15 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "free food"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Great company, great people, fun place!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Westwood, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at eharmony full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -- Tech team is very talented. There have been some changes lately for the good. -- There are some really good engineers on the iOS, Android, Front-end, Back-end and SDET teams. -- Fast paced environment. There is never a dull day at eHarmony. The tech stack used here is the latest. -- If you have a good idea and want to get it done, there is no one stopping you from doing it. -- The immigration paperwork is done super quick and through premium processing whenever possible. -- HR is very helpful whether it is for immigration concerns or if it is for setting the workstation ergonomically. -- Free food almost every day of the week -- Healthy and tasty snacking options -- Yoga Thursdays! -- Flex working hours. As long as you get the work done, no one cares when and how you do it.

    Cons

    -- Last year was bumpy and some people have quit fearing the worst. -- Few ineffective employees.

    Continue reading
    eharmony2017-08-07
  2. Helpful (6)

    "Chaotic and Overly Perfectionistic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at eharmony full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free food Good work / life balance

    Cons

    Very political Engineering is chaotic Leadership does not know what they are doing A bit cult-like

    Continue reading
    eharmony2019-05-06
  3. Helpful (7)

    "Outdated company, but I think they prefer to fail."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at eharmony full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Killer location, lots of free food, unlimited pto and great benefits. These have gotten better since I started working there too.

    Cons

    I know the product really well. It's not very good. The tech is really outdated and any innovative ideas are immediately shot down. Middle and upper management are lazy and don't have the mindset or skills to work for an internet company. The culture is still really Christian and conservative which is all wrong for California.

    Continue reading
    eharmony2018-09-01
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Great place to start your career."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at eharmony full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly environment. Most of the people I worked with are my friends even outside the work place. Autonomy at the workplace. You can design stuff end to end, no TPM's to meddle with your tasks or stories. A lot of new technologies to work on. The company has a good outlook in terms of adopting new technologies that can help the business. You can move fast in terms of work since it's a small environment and you can reach out to people easily. Management is also very understanding and patient with unforeseen delays and blockers. Decent Perks and benefits. Free food, insurance, gym, yoga, they have a bar upstairs (open at sometimes.. :) ) Great work life balance.

    Cons

    You have to patient in terms of career growth. I don't really see too many cons, but dating space these days is very competitive and slowly turning into a freemium market, hence I feel the company should add more features, And expand their reach with more products that target different market segments (like younger audience..) to grow bigger.

    eharmony2017-07-31
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Making great progress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at eharmony full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have been with the company for over a year and yes it's been challenging, but we are starting to see the benefits of the hard work. I feel optimistic about the future and that wasn't always the case. Everyone is really nice to work with and I don't feel like there is any real politics or backstabbing here. Location is great. Lots of cheap eats in Westwood. I like my manager and the people I work with. The mission is great (helping people find love) and it's always nice to meet a "success couple" in the office. Free food in the office Good benefits.

    Cons

    Is eHarmony perfect. Of course not. We have our challenges as an old internet company trying to stay fresh and relevant. The uncertainty of the business may be a con to some, but as I see it, every business has their challenges. In the end, it's the people you work with and the mission that's most important.

    Continue reading
    eharmony2017-08-01
  6. Helpful (20)

    "Going down fast unfortunately"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Westwood, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at eharmony full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Competitive salary - Some very smart and nice people work here - Free food - Subsidized gym membership

    Cons

    - Layoffs every few months as a result of which every person is carrying a lot more weight - Executives do not seem to know what they are doing - Stone-age marketing. Who watches TV anymore! - Stressful work environment - No innovation in product

    Continue reading
    eharmony2017-07-07

    eharmony Response

    July 27, 2017Chief Executive Officer

    I am sorry you had a stressful experience, and I agree that reimagining the business and making substantial changes isn’t easy. The good news, which I shared yesterday with the team, is that after a year of very hard work and focus, our most important metrics are up year over year. Our marketing spend last quarter was the most efficient it has been in over a year. New product features, like Favorites and our overhauled communication, have significantly improved customer engagement and user experience.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (8)

    "Research Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Research Analyst in Westwood, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at eharmony full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. Working for a company that wants to make a difference. 2. Culture, no hours, free food, paid-parking, the employees.

    Cons

    1. Pay 2. Work-life balance at times

    Continue reading
    eharmony2016-09-24
  8. Helpful (15)

    "not innovative and bad leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Westwood, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at eharmony full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    free food - unhealthy and really fattening but free and lots of it. good work life balance.

    Cons

    Management is really unqualified and completely out of touch. So backwards and not innovative at all. Management is a great place to be at eHarmony if you are mediocre and was to find your forever home. You can do a bad job and stay there forever if you are in management.

    Continue reading
    eharmony2016-09-05

    eharmony Response

    October 4, 2016Chief Executive Officer

    Thanks for the feedback. In the next few weeks an organizational survey will be sent to each employee. You will be given every opportunity to share your thoughts about your supervisor, your group leader and all levels of company leadership. I’m very interested in what you think of all levels of company management. I know that this type of survey hasn’t been done in several years. It’s one of my priorities as CEO, and so we will consistently ask for your feedback. In our All-Hands meeting a few weeks ago, I stood before the company and talked through 20 or so different anonymous questions and concerns that had been sent in via our company Suggestion Box. I didn’t shy away from complex issues that are of a concern to all the staff. This is how we stay connected to the people that work at eHarmony, and it’s an effort that will continue. The idea that bad managers are left to perform poorly simply isn’t true. Our performance expectations are high, we hold people accountable, and dismiss poor performers of any level when necessary. We also invest in our managers through management training and coaching, to give them the tools to realize their full potential as leaders. eHarmony is not without faults, and as much as it can sting, I welcome criticism and suggestions for improvement. We maintain a complex product across different locales. We are working to build product features that people value and are easy to use. In my role as CEO, I’m building a culture that welcomes risk, brilliant ideas from any level, and even failure. These things take time, but we’re moving forward every day.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (19)

    "do not recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at eharmony full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    tons of free food. good work life balance.

    Cons

    they are not innovative at all. the way they do things is really antiquated. they have sub standard managers. no opportunity for career growth. poor performers can hang out forever at eHarmony especially if they are in a management position.

    Continue reading
    eharmony2016-07-24

    eharmony Response

    October 4, 2016Chief Executive Officer

    It seems oddly coincidental that so many of the recent posts reference long-term managers (among other similar language). We’ve made many changes to management recently, so I’m curious to know if this is an issue that you feel still exists. Thanks for sharing your thoughts. If you have feedback about your manager (or others), please come chat with me about it. I love to get feedback from employees of all levels, and my door is open. If you don’t feel comfortable doing that, please feel free to submit your feedback anonymously through our online Suggestion Box. I’m surprised to hear that you feel that there are not opportunities for career growth - that leads me to believe that we are not doing a good enough job of communicating when people are promoted. We actually promote from within all the time - we’ve had 49 promotions so far this year, that’s nearly 25% of our workforce. I appreciate you sharing this, though. I have some ideas about how we can make sure people are not only celebrating internal promotions, but also know how to advance to the next level of their careers with eH.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at eharmony full-time

    Pros

    Awesome culture Great co-workers Great in-office perks (free food, nap pod, paid parking)

    Cons

    Work-life balance Promotion more based on tenure then merit

    Continue reading
    eharmony2015-10-08
Viewing 1 - 10 of 15 Reviews