eharmony "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

eharmony Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated May 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
48%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
eharmony CEO Grant Langston
Grant Langston
35 Ratings
Pros
  • "There is a great work/life balance(in 20 reviews)

  • "Free food, insurance, gym, yoga, they have a bar upstairs (open at sometimes(in 15 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Making a great comeback!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at eharmony full-time

    Pros

    The people are smart, nice, and easy to work with! (most of them) Upper management has greatly improved and is leading the company in the right direction. Clean office space, free snacks, free drinks, catered food, benefits Occasional company outings

    Cons

    Some people here have been here for so long that they resist change (and bring along a poor attitude), which can impact our pace and culture. Work-life balance at times

    Continue reading
    eharmony2017-08-15
  2. Helpful (6)

    "Chaotic and Overly Perfectionistic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at eharmony full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free food Good work / life balance

    Cons

    Very political Engineering is chaotic Leadership does not know what they are doing A bit cult-like

    Continue reading
    eharmony2019-05-06
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Great place to start your career."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at eharmony full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly environment. Most of the people I worked with are my friends even outside the work place. Autonomy at the workplace. You can design stuff end to end, no TPM's to meddle with your tasks or stories. A lot of new technologies to work on. The company has a good outlook in terms of adopting new technologies that can help the business. You can move fast in terms of work since it's a small environment and you can reach out to people easily. Management is also very understanding and patient with unforeseen delays and blockers. Decent Perks and benefits. Free food, insurance, gym, yoga, they have a bar upstairs (open at sometimes.. :) ) Great work life balance.

    Cons

    You have to patient in terms of career growth. I don't really see too many cons, but dating space these days is very competitive and slowly turning into a freemium market, hence I feel the company should add more features, And expand their reach with more products that target different market segments (like younger audience..) to grow bigger.

    eharmony2017-07-31
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Smart People,Great culture and Fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at eharmony full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very warm and smart colleagues and there are constantly new learning experiences at work The mission of the company is very encouraging to come to work every day Lots of perks like breakfasts, free lunches, subsidized gym membership etc. Good work life balance and stressless environment which helps in delivering bugfree product

    Cons

    Should try delivering more creative product to keep up with competition Recent layoffs are little uncomfortable but thinks are bright again

    eharmony2017-08-01
  5. Helpful (15)

    "No Harmony"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at eharmony full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free snacks, some good people.

    Cons

    Cliquish management and senior engineering braintrust, loudest/most senior voice wins. Projects spun up and thrown away willy-nilly as management grasps at new ideas to keep product alive. If you are an engineer be prepared to be on call 24/7, forget about work-life balance, all due to creaking infrastructure that breaks daily. Good luck getting sleep because you will be expected to answer emails at 3 am. Ancient technology struggling to get along with the new world.

    eharmony2017-06-23

    eharmony Response

    July 27, 2017Chief Executive Officer

    Thank you for your candor. It’s always welcome. From where I sit, a very thoughtful roadmap was put together this year to help address any technical challenges and improve usability. I hope that you were able to talk about your concerns about being on call, because I strongly believe in a healthy work-life balance. One of my goals is for eHarmony to be a place where there is transparency and open communication amongst all of the groups. I wish you the best moving forward.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (2)

    ""5 star company""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tech in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at eharmony full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work! Friendly and smart people .Fun place to work, with good pay and benefits. Good work/life balance. Recently company made changes - 3 days a week free lunch, everyday breakfast,healthy snacks, open bar etc . Would recommend.

    Cons

    Read other reviews they sum it up.

    Continue reading
    eharmony2017-02-02
  7. Helpful (14)

    "Warm, smart colleagues, and solid change underway"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at eharmony full-time

    Pros

    - Some of the smartest, warmest colleagues I’ve collaborated with. - Meaningful, fun product – with a unique opportunity to be surrounded by relationship science. - Perks – lunches and increasingly healthy snacks, subsidized Equinox gym membership, etc. - Poor leadership has been cut.

    Cons

    - Product admittedly needs innovation, but that’s underway. - Can be high stress. There’s a lot to do. That said, you won’t be bored, success is usually recognized, and work/life balance is respected. - Our top PPO plan (Blue Shield) could be better for coverage and cost .. Aetna had been great.

    Continue reading
    eharmony2016-10-08
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Exciting time to be at eHarmony"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in Westwood, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at eharmony full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    *The mission of the company is awesome *The people who work here are smart and kind *There is a great work/life balance *There is a great desire to truly help people find love

    Cons

    *Westwood location is eh *You can not bring dogs to work

    Continue reading
    eharmony2016-10-05
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Research Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Research Analyst in Westwood, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at eharmony full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. Working for a company that wants to make a difference. 2. Culture, no hours, free food, paid-parking, the employees.

    Cons

    1. Pay 2. Work-life balance at times

    Continue reading
    eharmony2016-09-24
  10. Helpful (15)

    "not innovative and bad leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Westwood, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at eharmony full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    free food - unhealthy and really fattening but free and lots of it. good work life balance.

    Cons

    Management is really unqualified and completely out of touch. So backwards and not innovative at all. Management is a great place to be at eHarmony if you are mediocre and was to find your forever home. You can do a bad job and stay there forever if you are in management.

    Continue reading
    eharmony2016-09-05

    eharmony Response

    October 4, 2016Chief Executive Officer

    Thanks for the feedback. In the next few weeks an organizational survey will be sent to each employee. You will be given every opportunity to share your thoughts about your supervisor, your group leader and all levels of company leadership. I’m very interested in what you think of all levels of company management. I know that this type of survey hasn’t been done in several years. It’s one of my priorities as CEO, and so we will consistently ask for your feedback. In our All-Hands meeting a few weeks ago, I stood before the company and talked through 20 or so different anonymous questions and concerns that had been sent in via our company Suggestion Box. I didn’t shy away from complex issues that are of a concern to all the staff. This is how we stay connected to the people that work at eHarmony, and it’s an effort that will continue. The idea that bad managers are left to perform poorly simply isn’t true. Our performance expectations are high, we hold people accountable, and dismiss poor performers of any level when necessary. We also invest in our managers through management training and coaching, to give them the tools to realize their full potential as leaders. eHarmony is not without faults, and as much as it can sting, I welcome criticism and suggestions for improvement. We maintain a complex product across different locales. We are working to build product features that people value and are easy to use. In my role as CEO, I’m building a culture that welcomes risk, brilliant ideas from any level, and even failure. These things take time, but we’re moving forward every day.

    Continue reading
Found 27 reviews