KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

eharmony

Is this your company?

eharmony

Add a Review

eharmony Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Jun 23, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 29 of over 142 reviews

3.2
55%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
eharmony CEO Gareth Mandel,Carlos Robles and Stefan Schulze (no image)
Gareth Mandel,Carlos Robles and Stefan Schulze
2 Ratings
Pros
  • "There is acceptable work life balance(in 22 reviews)

  • "Free food, insurance, gym, yoga, they have a bar upstairs (open at sometimes(in 15 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Unfair expectations (ie no work-life balance)(in 7 reviews)

  • "It can be difficult to get to Santa Monica in traffic(in 6 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Making a great comeback!

      Aug 15, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people are smart, nice, and easy to work with! (most of them) Upper management has greatly improved and is leading the company in the right direction. Clean office space, free snacks, free drinks, catered food, benefits Occasional company outings

      Cons

      Some people here have been here for so long that they resist change (and bring along a poor attitude), which can impact our pace and culture. Work-life balance at times

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      On the Right Track

      Jun 23, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -A great place to work if you want to have an impact since it's a smaller team -Feel like your voice is heard -Transparency with leadership team -Great work/life balance -FTO

      Cons

      -Can be too slow in a very fast-paced market -Collaborating with international teams can be trying since other brands have their own priorities and goals

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      eharmony Response

      HR Specialist & Recruiting Coordinator

      Thank you for taking the time to give this valuable feedback! It’s great to hear that you enjoy working with us, and we appreciate your commitment to eharmony! We agree that everyone working here has their eyes on a lot of projects, and that keeping up the momentum is essential to our success. Sincerely, Human Resources

    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      A very different company these days

      May 27, 2020 - Marketing Manager in Westwood, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There is acceptable work life balance.

      Cons

      Company is nothing like it once was, as the mission is gone, and its solely about numbers.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      eharmony Response

      HR Specialist & Recruiting Coordinator

      We understand and empathize that some employees were affected by the changes that have taken place here. However, each of the challenges have made eharmony a stronger company and a healthier work environment to be a part of. Our mission is and will always be about love and giving our customers the chance to find meaningful relationships. Sincerely, Human Resources

    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Research Analyst

      Sep 24, 2016 - Operations Research Analyst in Zwickau
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1. Working for a company that wants to make a difference. 2. Culture, no hours, free food, paid-parking, the employees.

      Cons

      1. Pay 2. Work-life balance at times

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great People and Company Growth

      Aug 12, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in Nador, Oriental
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      One thing I've noticed on our team is that eHarmony takes the time to hire the right people. Since it's a highly collaborative environment with even our VPs sitting out on the floor with us, it's important to find people who fit our team and company culture. That's primarily the reason why I love coming into work everyday. The brand is expanding into different avenues, which is exciting. It shows we're growing and being creative, going beyond what eHarmony has been known for-- online dating and classic couple commercials. The design, image and marketing of eHarmony has been completely renovated within the last couple of years. The website and all social media platforms are fun and easy to view and use. The company itself has experienced a complete turnaround from prior years. The management team is probably the best I've seen within my experience working in corporate. We have biweekly meetings open to all employees that update everyone on what every department is working on. We're always on the same page in that way. The open door policy helps too. This is a big brand company that has managed to keep a family feel. Work-life balance is great, they have all kinds of events that encourage us to invite our family. They have nice perks too. I haven't used their bikes to go to the beach yet but it's on my to-do list for lunch hour someday.

      Cons

      HMO Insurance is covered by company. If you want PPO though, the employee contribution rates are pretty high compared to my previous employers.

      5 people found this review helpful

      eharmony Response

      Chief Operating Officer

      Thank you for acknowledging our recruiting department, as I know they really work hard to find people who will be a great fit for our company. An open door policy is something I strongly believe in, as well as transparency, so I also am very appreciative that you feel this way about our updates and meetings. On that note, I encourage you to talk to the HR department about any concerns re: insurance. Our future is definitely bright, I agree with you! Best Regards, Armen

    6. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Chaotic and Overly Perfectionistic

      May 6, 2019 - Senior Project Manager in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free food Good work / life balance

      Cons

      Very political Engineering is chaotic Leadership does not know what they are doing A bit cult-like

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to start your career.

      Jul 31, 2017 - Software Engineer in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly environment. Most of the people I worked with are my friends even outside the work place. Autonomy at the workplace. You can design stuff end to end, no TPM's to meddle with your tasks or stories. A lot of new technologies to work on. The company has a good outlook in terms of adopting new technologies that can help the business. You can move fast in terms of work since it's a small environment and you can reach out to people easily. Management is also very understanding and patient with unforeseen delays and blockers. Decent Perks and benefits. Free food, insurance, gym, yoga, they have a bar upstairs (open at sometimes.. :) ) Great work life balance.

      Cons

      You have to patient in terms of career growth. I don't really see too many cons, but dating space these days is very competitive and slowly turning into a freemium market, hence I feel the company should add more features, And expand their reach with more products that target different market segments (like younger audience..) to grow bigger.

      5 people found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Warm, smart colleagues, and solid change underway

      Oct 7, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Some of the smartest, warmest colleagues I’ve collaborated with. - Meaningful, fun product – with a unique opportunity to be surrounded by relationship science. - Perks – lunches and increasingly healthy snacks, subsidized Equinox gym membership, etc. - Poor leadership has been cut.

      Cons

      - Product admittedly needs innovation, but that’s underway. - Can be high stress. There’s a lot to do. That said, you won’t be bored, success is usually recognized, and work/life balance is respected. - Our top PPO plan (Blue Shield) could be better for coverage and cost .. Aetna had been great.

      Continue reading
      14 people found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Good culture, good benefits. Fun people

      Jun 8, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Köln
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits (catered lunch once a week, several possibilities for gym memberships, good medical/dental) HR is accessible and available w/answers to your questions Good culture - coworkers are friendly and knowledgeable. You're not afraid to ask a question. Atmosphere is mostly relaxed Nice new digs... But I'm not a fan of Westwood Work/Life Balance is awesome

      Cons

      Management is always tied up in meetings. Too many meetings. Not as transparent as it used to be. Would be nice to see who's working on what Not that easy to be promoted in the current department I work. Would be nice to be able to crossover and work in other departments to learn more and help my own job.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Fulfilled employees + great work-life balance

      Apr 20, 2015 -  in Frankfurt, Hessen
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      eHarmony has a stellar company culture - truly nice people work here and there is a great work-life balance. The core values of the company & the product, improving people's lives and creating lifelong partnerships, really do permeate in a positive way through the culture at eHarmony. I've worked at several tech companies over the past ten years and I look forward to coming to work at eHarmony each day more than I have at any previous company.

      Cons

      Because eHarmony is a 14-year old product, employees leave from time-to-time to pursue opportunities at early-stage start-ups. Prospective employees should be aware that although we aren't a brand new product, the business is doing better than it has in years and the product continues to evolve and become more innovative.

      6 people found this review helpful

      eharmony Response

      Chief Operating Officer

      I am very glad you enjoy working at eHarmony and I agree – I look forward to work each day as well. Business is doing better than ever and as we expand in new areas, there will continue to be more opportunity for everyone here to grow and innovate. Best Regards, Armen

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 29 Reviews

    Popular Careers with eharmony Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at eharmony? Share Your Experiences

    eharmony logo
    or