emarsys Reviews | Glassdoor

emarsys Reviews

Updated Oct 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 19 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
88%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
emarsys CEO Ohad Hecht
Ohad Hecht
16 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Exciting company with great people and lots of opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at emarsys for more than a year

    Pros

    Really great company culture - very friendly atmosphere. Lots of people have been in the business for a long time and have been promoted for their success, which is great to see. Supportive leadership. For a tech business, there are a lot of women and social groups like 'Women at Emarsys' make it very empowering. Management is really listening to the business and over the last year have been increasingly open about... changes in the company and business strategy. The benefits in London improved significantly at the beginning of 2018 with increased holiday, healthcare and local discounts.

    Show More

    Cons

    Not necessarily a con, but hard work is expected and can sometimes impact life balance. On the plus side, its work you want to do and are well recognised and rewarded for.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the open communication and focus on culture!

    emarsys2018-03-26
  2. Helpful (16)

    "Trying hard but failing to deliver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Implementation Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at emarsys full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great individuals (on a personal level) - They 'talk the talk' (transparency, support, people first) - Starting to introduce leadership training - Great 'brand' (on the outside)

    Cons

    - Below market salary with no pay reviews - Below market level benefits - Too many ego's and 'lifers' - Low paid, unskilled staff preferred over experienced hires - Aggressive, obnoxious senior management who don't know their teams names (I was called 'sweetie' for most of my time there by a certain someone) - All the investment went into sales & marketing, under the surface it's a fight to keep everything... going - Blame culture; no-one works together, they just look for scapegoats - If you're not in sales, you're not important.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Before you get too big, take a step back and work on all that needs to be fixed. Start with the culture at leadership level and invest in the internal working of the company.

    emarsys2018-03-16
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Client Success Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Success Manager in Ciudad de México
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at emarsys full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. Being part of a company that have revolutionized the market 2. Being part of the formal opening of a region with offices based where I lived 3. The PR that is developed as a CSM

    Cons

    1. Limited Resources in the Region 2. Limited understanding of the market from a cultural perspective

    emarsys2018-03-23

    emarsys Response

    April 16, 2018Talent Acquisition Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed being a part of an emerging market and continuing to develop your career here at Emarsys. We’ve made a conscious decision at this time to be more intentional with our resource allocation globally including the Americas. Additionally, we have an ongoing focus on our values including #WeAreOne to continuously encourage cross functional collaboration at all levels. If you would like to provide further feedback on ways that we could improve cultural understanding please email us at HR-US@emarsys.com. -Emarsys HR Team

    Show Less
  5. Helpful (8)

    "Good company but management sux!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vienna
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at emarsys full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Team, the people and people

    Cons

    Management just know how to talk, especially Ohad Hecht the CEO. Lack of clear guidance and direction from top. They also tolerate the presence of cirtain harrassement or sexual remarks. Management from Israel and think they can do anything with support to their sales people by over incentives and virtually none to other departments who also work just as hard (eg. Commissions+kickoff in madrid+sri lanka trip),... but round corner ask other department to renegotiate costs with hotels and suppliers becoz of no budget. Shameful !

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop being biased with your workforce. Treat everyone equally. Stop blabbing and put your words to action.

    emarsys2018-03-22

    emarsys Response

    March 29, 2018CEO

    Ouch. It’s sounds very personal, and I am taking it personally. Whatever we have made to make your experience so bad, I truly apologize. I feel that your comments are coming from a place of pain rather than truly professional and objective feedback that will help us improve. Regardless, I wanted to respond: • My experience in Emarsys and before is in operations/execution. Contrary to your feedback, on the employees satisfaction survey the ask was to communicate more, which I feel as a company we’re doing better work that doesn’t come on the expense of execution. • I am very proud of the diversity at Emarsys and I am a proud Israeli. We have 25 different nationalities in the office in Vienna, people in different ages and genders across the business. We hire and retain based on capabilities and not gender, nationality, or race. • Being a sales person has certain perks, but with a major part of your income coming from the ongoing pressure to hit the numbers each month and the awareness that our customers are paying for the salaries of all employees. At the same time it also means that every department and individual has a huge impact on our results. Elite circle for this year is opened for people from all departments. We can do a better job on that front, but there are events and recognition programs across all functions. • Investing the dollars in growth is very important, and at the same time reducing inefficiencies and making the right investment is not less important. It is similar in managing a household. We’re saving in all areas of the business including in sales, in management, and travel and redistributing these savings to growth which benefit all employees. • Harassment of any kind is not and will not be tolerated. My ask from you is to provide details of such occasions either to me or to HR, and I will make sure that actions will be taken. Look, you were extremely unhappy with us and believe me when I say we are trying very hard to satisfy all employees. I am also a realist and I know this is impossible. My recommendation for you is that you should take it as a lesson: our organization is not right for every employee, and vice versa. If you are so unhappy in your future job, do not wait and search for something suitable for you the moment you’ve realised you have made a mistake. Both sides will win. I wish you nothing but success. -Ohad Hecht

    Show Less
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Good engineering culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Engineer in Budapest
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at emarsys full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Pretty autonomous decision making is provided for most engineering teams - A lot of technologies you can learn and even introduce new ones - Comparatively good compensation and benefits - Nice working environment - Middle management had some very good leaders

    Cons

    - The company has some amount of complex politics based on the history of the last 15 years as an "old startup" - You will face some amount of hardcore legacy stuff (15 years of a tech company's history) - Sometimes it is hard to get hiring quota for some engineering teams

    Advice to Management

    Be more transparent about some decisions and processes behind the scenes. Continue with the initiatives of the OKR based autonomy of organizations/teams.

    emarsys2018-01-14

    emarsys Response

    February 9, 2018Internal Recruiter

    Thank you for the feedback and choosing to spend a portion of your career with Emarsys. We are glad you enjoyed our working environment as well as our management teams during your time working with us. As we continue to grow, it is important that we put an increased focus on transparency companywide. In order to create change that will benefit each particular office when it comes to transparency, we will be using the results of the Employee Satisfaction Survey to take actionable steps. If you have any additional feedback you would be open to providing, feel free to reach out to us at hr-hu@emarsys.com -Emarsys HR Team

    Show Less
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great intro into email marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Account Manager in London, England

    I worked at emarsys full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company provided invaluable experience into the world of email marketing

    Cons

    There was a lot of company changes at the time as the company looked to expand its footprint.

    emarsys2018-01-15
  8. "monthly salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Test Engineer in Vienna
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at emarsys full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    nice work environnement, friendly atmosphere

    Cons

    i don't have any, it was really nice

    emarsys2017-12-27

    emarsys Response

    April 16, 2018Talent Acquisition Partner

    Thank you for spending a portion of your career with us and we appreciate the feedback. It is good to hear you enjoyed our environment and friendly atmosphere as this shows how we are able to express our culture and values. If you have further feedback to share please email us at hr_hq@emarsys.com -Emarsys HR Team

    Show Less
  9. "Dynamic environment and with great people and culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vienna
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at emarsys full-time

    Pros

    - Genuinely nice, driven and passionate people throughout the company. Positive and open culture. Top management is also very approachable. - Amazing to be part of growth, dynamic environment where you get the chance to learn tons. - The company is still in a stage where you can have an impact and drive initiatives, management is open and supportive. - Cutting-edge technology and "sexy" product with and a bright... future. - Nice benefits (free breakfast snacks and fruits, food vouchers, shiatsu, great winter and summer party etc).

    Show More

    Cons

    Salaries could be better (depending on market)

    emarsys2017-12-21

    emarsys Response

    May 21, 2018Talent Acquisition Partner

    Thank you for the feedback and we are thankful you have chosen to progress your career with us. Additionally, we are glad you've been able to enjoy the great benefits our Vienna Headquarters has to offer! Though we are not always able to provide salaries that are aligned with the industry average, we do our best to stay focused on what makes Emarsys a top place to work including hiring passionate people and enabling our employees to do meaningful work. If you would like to provide us with additional feedback, please reach out to your local HR team at hr_hq@emarsys.com. -Emarsys HR Team

    Show Less
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Learning Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Team Lead in Budapest
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at emarsys full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Best place in Budapest to work if you are into improving yourself. People are skilled and open, so you can always get help if you are stuck. My job provides lots of technological challenges and our team has the autonomy to find the solution for these. The company is dedicated to provide learning opportunities, with workshops, language courses and conference opportunities.

    Cons

    Pressure from product management is high, meeting expectations is sometimes hard. Having full responsibility for the features we build means our team has to provide 24/7 on-call duty.

    emarsys2017-12-15

    emarsys Response

    February 9, 2018Internal Recruiter

    Thank you for taking time out of your day to provide us feedback. We are glad you have been able to improve yourself during your time at Emarsys as well as find your current role challenging and fulfilling. As a fast-growing organization, it is always challenging to balance the efficiency of product management with client expectations and this is something we are currently working on. With, ‘We Love Our Customers’ as a core value we do our best to ensure we do what’s best for our business as well as providing our clients with the radical candor to do what’s best for them. We would be happy to hear any additional feedback you would be willing to provide. Feel free to reach out to hr-hu@emarsys.com -Emarsys HR Team

    Show Less
  11. "Fast-growing, innovative company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Web Developer in Berlin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at emarsys full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Flexible Working - Knowledgeable & friendly colleges - Chance to develop personally - Regular team events & company breakfasts - innovative and dynamic company

    Cons

    Working with other emarsys teams can be strenuous

    emarsys2017-12-28

    emarsys Response

    April 16, 2018Talent Acquisition Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are glad you are able to enjoy many our benefits including team events, company breakfast and flexible working in our Berlin Office. One of the most exciting parts of our business is having employees all over the world, but we also understand this can pose challenges. If you would like to provide further feedback on how we can improve cross-functional collaboration, please reach out at hr_de@emarsys.com . -Emarsys HR Team

    Show Less
Found 19 reviews