esure Reviews | Glassdoor

esure Reviews

Updated Sep 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 117 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
49%
Approve of CEO
esure CEO Darren Ogden (no image)
Darren Ogden
12 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Head office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at esure full-time

    Pros

    Love my job, the company and the people I work with.

    Cons

    Nothing, I have no complaints

    esure2018-08-29
  2. "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Reigate, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at esure full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Canteen / Breakfast breaks/ good working hours/commutable from Greater London

    Cons

    Performance and role identity/ management is weak. Mainly a Jobs for the Boys culture- the in crowd hugely favoured, newcomers reviewed with some fear and suspicion, somewhat unwelcoming attitude; huge barriers in communication failing the major support functions, and the executive business teams expectations of business support not being met

    Advice to Management

    Embrace change and new ideas and most of all communicate with the business, respect your peers, and workers input as they can make a huge difference in changing the perception, ultimately the delivery of a transparent and meaningful working identity, driving the business to achieve its goals

    esure2018-09-12
  3. "Good staff and team leaders"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at esure full-time

    Pros

    The staff there are amazing, everyone is really friendly and helpful. It's a very upbeat, loud environment which is good because you need it to raise everyone's morale. The team leaders are lovely also.

    Cons

    You get a fair amount of abuse from customers and as there's is a high turn over rate you have to pick up the slack for the lack of staff and the inexperienced. I spent a lot of time fixing other people's mistakes and helping the new staff which wasn't fun. We consistently had to deal with complaints and high call volumes yet had a lack of staff and lots of people leaving. There is a lack of progression... oppertunities as well.

    Show More
    esure2018-08-29
  4. "What it is like"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at esure full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Very friendly, relaxed, lots of opportunity to do things better

    Cons

    the lack of flexible working, poor and slow decision making, unclear business strategy, poor IT

    Advice to Management

    Invest and come into this centuary

    esure2018-08-03
  5. "esure invests in its future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Platform in Reigate, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at esure full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    esure is investing in its future, over the past year I have seen many professional people across many departments join to move us towards our digital future. Pay and benefits reasonable for an outside London location.

    Cons

    Off the M25, travel can be difficult - suits those who like to get in early.

    esure2018-07-13
  6. "Friendly pro active place to work - exiciting times from a technical point of view!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tech Lead in Reigate, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at esure full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    friendly, flexible, very current technologies

    Cons

    a few tweeks to the benefits required

    Advice to Management

    Tweek some of the benefits!

    esure2018-07-10
  7. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Reigate, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at esure full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly Environment Subsidised Canteen Free Tea/Coffee Profit Share Central Location New Ideas are taken on board Dress down every Friday Charity fundraising events Team Culture

    Cons

    No Parking No other cons

    esure2018-07-09
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Reigate, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at esure full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Some really good characters in the company. -There is some room to learn (professional qualifications) but this very much depends on which department your in. -Over time isnt expected, most people do their normal 9-5 hours

    Cons

    -There is a lot of hate and gossip floating around departments filtering from team leaders down. One of the things i hated the most and a big reason for leaving. -There is no such thing as confidentiality between team leaders. -Seniors within the company don't really listen to what staff want, i.e one of the things esure recently implemented was dress down Friday every Friday, instead of something people want such... as pay rises. -The highest potential pay rise i was eligible for at esure, based on my salary, was well under the lowest pay rise i have ever received from an employer. -Over the last 5 years i have never worked with systems as archaic as esure's. This was a huge hindrance for me getting a new job as i struggled to market myself properly because my skill sets and software/technology experience was so old.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    My advice to management is do absolutely nothing. The company will never change, and the people that will speak up to make the changes will get shut down very quickly such as myself (i tried to speak out about a problem in the company, that in no way affected myself but affected many other, and the reaction i got from the head of the department wasnt great to say the least). You cant run a company where employees... fear about team leaders gossiping about their personal issues etc. There is no such thing as confidentiality in the place. A lot of the problems filter down from higher up and if anything is going to ever change it has to start from the top down. There is a lot of hate between different sites such as glasgow and reigate which helps fuel the fire. The pay rise structure does not work which i personally brought to the attention of my head of department. The response i got was cold and completely ruined our working relationship for the next 6 months of my time at esure. There is a big lack of understanding within management in regards to the importance of collaboration and team work. This is probably the single biggest problem as knowledge is not shared around the company, skills are not shared and barriers are built. Its a very toxic environment and even after i have left i am still hearing about my name being bad mouthed which is a great way to summerise the culture at esure. I learnt a great deal about insurance and i got the chance to speak to many other departments but unfortunately its easier for people to leave than to speak up.

    Show More
    esure2018-08-11
  9. Helpful (2)

    "IT Department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Department in Reigate, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at esure full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Profit Share, subsidised canteen, 36 hour week, not highly stressful

    Cons

    No Parking, boring work culture, no development, working from home frowned upon and not allowed in most cases, no performance bonuses

    Advice to Management

    Look at flexible working for staff, i.e. working from home. Improve work culture. Improve Tools to do job

    esure2018-07-06
  10. "Enjoying first year in IT team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Reigate, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at esure full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Interesting tech stack (Java microservices, Angular/Node.js, AWS) - Adopting agile/DevOps culture - Nice people

    Cons

    - Dress code (although getting better) - Still some old tech/processes (again getting better)

    esure2018-06-19
Found 117 reviews