esure "team leaders" Reviews | Glassdoor

esure Employee Reviews about "team leaders"

Updated Sep 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 117 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
esure CEO David McMillan (no image)
David McMillan
0 Ratings
Pros
  • "Esure have a senior management team with a good outlook and intentions, profit share, 1hr Lunch, good central location, regular incentives(in 7 reviews)

  • "The people are great to work with(in 6 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "team leaders"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Reigate, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at esure full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Some really good characters in the company. -There is some room to learn (professional qualifications) but this very much depends on which department your in. -Over time isnt expected, most people do their normal 9-5 hours

    Cons

    -There is a lot of hate and gossip floating around departments filtering from team leaders down. One of the things i hated the most and a big reason for leaving. -There is no such thing as confidentiality between team leaders. -Seniors within the company don't really listen to what staff want, i.e one of the things esure recently implemented was dress down Friday every Friday, instead of something people want such... as pay rises. -The highest potential pay rise i was eligible for at esure, based on my salary, was well under the lowest pay rise i have ever received from an employer. -Over the last 5 years i have never worked with systems as archaic as esure's. This was a huge hindrance for me getting a new job as i struggled to market myself properly because my skill sets and software/technology experience was so old.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    My advice to management is do absolutely nothing. The company will never change, and the people that will speak up to make the changes will get shut down very quickly such as myself (i tried to speak out about a problem in the company, that in no way affected myself but affected many other, and the reaction i got from the head of the department wasnt great to say the least). You cant run a company where employees... fear about team leaders gossiping about their personal issues etc. There is no such thing as confidentiality in the place. A lot of the problems filter down from higher up and if anything is going to ever change it has to start from the top down. There is a lot of hate between different sites such as glasgow and reigate which helps fuel the fire. The pay rise structure does not work which i personally brought to the attention of my head of department. The response i got was cold and completely ruined our working relationship for the next 6 months of my time at esure. There is a big lack of understanding within management in regards to the importance of collaboration and team work. This is probably the single biggest problem as knowledge is not shared around the company, skills are not shared and barriers are built. Its a very toxic environment and even after i have left i am still hearing about my name being bad mouthed which is a great way to summerise the culture at esure. I learnt a great deal about insurance and i got the chance to speak to many other departments but unfortunately its easier for people to leave than to speak up.

    Show More
    esure2018-08-11
  2. "Avoid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SERVICE ADVISOR in Manchester, England
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at esure full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Sometimes there are call gaps...sometimes you get to leave at 4 or 5 pm once in a blue moon.

    Cons

    This company will lie to you. Do not listen to them when they say “don’t worry if you don’t sell just offer”. You will be continually pushed pressured and humiliated in emails to your team if YOU DO NOT SELL!!! The team leaders make money from the sales...not you! They will insult your intelligence with “sales incentives for a box of chocolates”....

    Advice to Management

    Treat your staff like humans

    esure2018-05-28
  3. Helpful (1)

    "The job is fine, company is terrible."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Services in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at esure full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - The job itself is great, the are generally friendly, or at least reasonable, and generally the queries are pretty predictable, becomes like clockwork once you get used to the job. - If you get into the right team, it can be a really fun job with lots of incentives and nights out. - If you know how to network there is a lot of opportunity for progression, and very quickly too.

    Cons

    - The company and the management. Training is a shambles if you get the wrong trainer, they promise things that don't happen because "we're changing processes", usually involving bonuses and money, always meaning you miss out. - Sales. It. Is. 100% a sales job. DO NOT let them tell you it isn't. They have to say it's not because the FCA do not allow Insurance companies to hard sell, but it is very much a sales... job that is ACTIVELY TARGETTING ON SALES. They'll tell you it's about "offering" and making sure the customer is aware of the optional add-ons, which sounds fine, but it's absolute lies. If you offer and the person doesn't take it, you lose out on a target and the team leader WILL complain about it non stop until you start selling things. It's a good way of doing it, from a business point, because you get to pressure your employees into a sales role by threatening their job without having to offer them any of the incentives that they'd get in an actual sales role. - Team leaders. Again, it's one of those things where you either get lucky or you don't. If you get a good team leader then the job can be great, but if not then it's a nightmare. The team leaders get insane bonuses for sales targets, so they get really horrible if you're risking that for them. Again, no incentives, just... Make your job hard by putting little passive aggressive things in until you hit your "offering" (sales) targets so that the team leader can get that £3000 while you get nothing. Yup. - The shifts are monstrous. I mean they'll have you in 9 days in a row, 45 hours+ and then say you'll get the time back eventually, but you don't unless you absolutely hound them. Nothing worse than working 9 day weeks with 8-10 hour days and then getting the exact same pay as people working normal hours.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Be honest at interviews, admit that it's 100000% a sales job and that you're mainly targeting on sales, not customer service. Demanding that you offer a £40 package to a customer that has just told you they can't afford a £10 change is NOT CUSTOMER SERVICE IT'S SALES. - Stop changing things without telling people. Multiple people worked overtime because they were told they'd get it paid the same month, but now... all of a sudden it's a months wait. They would've never worked it if you were honest about that.

    Show More
    esure2018-05-21

    esure Response

    May 23, 2018Recruitment Assistant

    Thank for taking the time to leave a review. We really value our employees feedback and it's important to us that our employees feel supported by their Line Managers. We encourage all of our staff to post reviews. I know most of our staff seem to enjoy the day to day working environment. ...

    Show More
  4. "Not very good."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Operations Specialist in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at esure full-time

    Pros

    Can't think of any. Only that some of the people on my team are very nice.

    Cons

    Inaccurate information at interview level. Position mid-sole. Was told not pushy with sales, but they are expected to be offered on every single call. Poor training, inconsistent information and rushed through without answering all questions. Left unattended on weekends, as the help desk is not always open. There isn't much chance to speak to colleagues, so moral is pretty low and it doesn't really feel like a team... environment. The team leader is terrible at his job and does not want to make time to help or motivate anyone and storms off in a huff after challenging calls. A very unprofessional environment as the TL will make time to chat to clique. Breaks are monitored very closely and 'comfort' breaks for the toilet are also limited. They are trying to sell a relaxed environment, but this is not the case, you feel more like a robot on repeat. TLs give you nothing to do in between calls on quiter days and there are very basic training sessions sometimes, but nowhere near as many as necessary for all of the information there is to learn. The canteen is okay, but not very healthy food and there are no facilities to take your own food. Which is ridiculous for such a large building. Avoid. It's pretty soul destroying and I will be aiming to leave ASAP. No offer of any kind of support for medical conditions, just a call from occupational health who were only interested in capability of doing the job.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Cater the training to people's needs. Get some facilities for people to bring their own healthy food. And have facilities clean them if it's such a problem. You can clearly afford it. Check in with TLs more to make sure they actually know how to manage and motivate people. Think about what more could be done to keep people energised between calls. It gets very tedious. Get more feedback after the first week, not... just when everything is being sold as laid back. Because this isn't the case as soon as model office hits and this means the feedback is an inaccurate representation. Teach TLs that it isn't us vs the customer and that we are here for the customer. Create a culture where a customer can speak to a manager when needed. It's embarrassing to be expected to fob them off with a call back in four days, if it does not involve a call listening. It's reasonable to expect an operative to require support on occasion or a simple back up with the information being relayed. In short, management need to work on communication.

    Show More
    esure2018-04-01

    esure Response

    May 11, 2018Recruitment Assistant

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We really value our employee's feedback and it's important to us that our employees feel supported by their Team Leaders. We offer many learning and development courses to assist in career progression and really believe in nurturing ...

    Show More
  5. Helpful (1)

    "sales sales sales. micro managed by useless team manangers on power trips."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Support in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at esure full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    the people there make the job bearable. however the time you get to spend with them is miniscule

    Cons

    trying to make all roles sales focused, pushing upselling on all customers irrelevant of cust want or need. pretence of not being sales focused but that is their only focus. never any holiday availability. loo breaks monitored and pulled up if your over 5minutes in a day. managers who dont care about you, only how many calls youre taking and what your selling to customers. ridicuous scripts that you cant deviate... from, by one word. horrendous call queues and angry customers who are frustrated by wait times. useless complaints department whos answer is to throw money at the customer so the complaint goes away.No back up for staff so staff feel demoralised and overworked. very cliquey. team leaders/managers are pretty useless. the new senior management team do come across as wanting the best but they really need to have a major cull of the team leader positions and get fresh people in as the ones that run the floors now are yes people with no motivation or willingness to better themselves or their staff.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    too many useless bosses with no backbone.start afresh. back to basics.

    esure2016-11-11
  6. "Good company to start off from somewhere but not worth staying for long"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Support in Manchester City Centre, England

    I worked at esure

    Pros

    continuous training, great attitude when needing to be off work for medical reasons

    Cons

    not much support from Team Leader, stressful, everything is timed even when going to the toilet.

    Advice to Management

    Try assessing team leaders as many TL where just indifferent and abrupt.

    esure2016-09-06
  7. Helpful (3)

    "no loyalty for long term employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Anonymous 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at esure

    Pros

    profit share if this is awarded

    Cons

    1% payrise if you are lucky per year. increased workloads/caseloads always changing goal posts and the way claims are handled so staff constantly struggling to keep up with the esure procedures. terrible system so struggle to do work with tools provided. pressure to hit service level even when under staffed. no progression. have to sit an interview if you want to move teams but if the company wants you to move... you dont. having to write your own monthly and yearly reviews when this should be a team leaders job. overtime only available at weekends. part time employees not paid overtime at same rate as full time employees. external people employed in higher positions when this hasnt been advertised internally. people genuinley ill and sick punished if they have to take time off for the hospital etc and dragged through a capability hearing/disciplinary route.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    concentrate more on the loyal employees and give people who are part time more opportunities. give more of a payrise as an incentibe to stay.

    esure2014-08-22
Found 117 reviews