Cover image for Foursquare
Logo

Foursquare

Engaged Employer

Foursquare

Add a Review

Foursquare Reviews

Updated Jan 19, 2023

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 149 of over 174 reviews
3.7
68% Recommend to a Friend
Foursquare President and CEO Gary Little
69% Approve of CEO

Found 149 of over 174 reviews

3.7
68%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Foursquare President and CEO Gary Little
Gary Little
38 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

560

77 Comments

Tech

625.7K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Foursquare~492487
Join the conversation on

Got a burning question about Foursquare? Just ask!

On Fishbowl, you can share insights and advice anonymously with Foursquare employees and get real answers from people on the inside.

What's Fishbowl
Ask a Question

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Amazing company to work for

    Nov 4, 2022 - Ad Operations 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Strong onboarding and Welcoming team

    Cons

    None, company truly cares for their employees well being

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Failing tech bro company with lack of direction, trust and transparency

    Jan 18, 2023 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Fully remote work - Competitive industry pay - Learning stipend

    Cons

    - Lacks any company culture, especially since the pandemic, acquisitions (competing legacy companies), and mass layoffs (4+ in 2022) - Accountability in teams is lacking due to bandwidth (caused by shrinking teams) - Siloed departments that don’t communicate with each other (eng/product/sales need to work together better) - Leadership (especially CEO) doesn’t have clear vision/direction for the company

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  3. Join the Foursquare team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Toxic bro culture

    Jan 19, 2023 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    None that I can think of

    Cons

    Toxic bro culture where CEOs friends are prioritized over others. Company does not care about employees and were told “do not ask what your company can do for you but what you can do for your company” during the last company meeting. Lack of direction and strong management. Lack of career growth and opportunities (unless you are buddy buddy with the CEO). Toxic culture. Competing company cultures resulting in no company culture.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Overall good place to work

    Dec 28, 2022 - Software Engineer III 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Helpful and positive coworkers Good work/life balance Open lines of communication to people above you

    Cons

    Recently made too many high-level changes which has lead to some things slipping through the cracks (for example, performance reviews) Disconnects between engineering and management on timelines

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Good Company

    Jan 9, 2023 - Account Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Benefits provided by the org

    Cons

    Knowledge from the top down

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Decent work/life balance, reactive/messy, lack of transparency

    Apr 20, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Decent benefits for wellness - You'll get the opportunity to work with some very smart and collaborative teammates - The company has been financially doing well and profitable for the last several quarters

    Cons

    - Complete lack of transparency from the exec team. Execs mandate that folks write their names next to questions they submit for all-hands or they "won't answer it". It's completely valid and fair for people to not want to tie their names to questions given the power dynamic at play there. Management expects transparency from the entire company, but are not willing to be transparent themselves about company level initiatives like compensation reviews, DEI...etc. For example, we did an entire exercise last fall around compensation review to make sure that we're being competitive with the market. Between January - March, management team completely ceased communication around this topic including avoiding the question when it's been asked in engineering and company all hands. - Reactive culture: when key people churn on a team, then it becomes a priority to build up the team even though the red flags were there for multiple quarters - Lack of comms around attrition. Exec wants to keep attrition and departures hush hush and as a result, some people don't find out that a co-worker they collaborate with has left the company until an email bounces or you see that their slack has been de-activated. - DEI: We hired several engineering and data science leads in the last quarter and not a single hire was a woman. The company is also not willing to put a DEI metric in company or team OKRs - Competing cultures between 3 different companies. - High expectations around shipping features and products w/o giving the team the sufficient headcount it needs

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Decent place

    Dec 9, 2022 - Data Intern 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Friendly people, good perks, work-life balance

    Cons

    Salary isn't where it should be

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Former Employee

    The tide is turning, beware.

    Apr 21, 2022 - Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work life balance, decent benefits and so far flexible wfh (but we sadly expect that to change)

    Cons

    Foursquare is in a weird spot and leadership is mostly to blame. We hit goal in 2021 with many headwinds, but the tone is different this year. We have unrealistic goals and out of touch execs. They are trying to show massive growth to IPO, but they don't understand what’s feasible. In our all hands, the CEO makes us feel like we’re not doing a good job (despite 94% attainment so far with unreasonable expectations). With more in person events lately, the CEO is also clearly off script and the tone doesn't sit well with employees. People are losing confidence. He should lift us up and inspire, none of that here. No charisma. We have botched product launches and he responds "we move fast"...well now we burn client bridges. The company will soon be tracking every email and recording every call. Doesn’t set a good environment. We’re turning into the type of place people leave in mass exodus. Promotions can take 3 years for top performers with an average 3% raise. They are really stingy despite telling us constantly they are investing in their people. Attrition is out of control...I wonder why? Many of these reviews are obviously fake to improve the low score we had prior due to previous company missteps.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  10. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Layoffs

    Nov 28, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Talented, smart employees who are a pleasure to work with - Summer Fridays (every other Friday off in the summer)

    Cons

    - Two round of layoffs less than three months from each other - Shifting work to cheaper countries

    2 people found this review helpful
  11. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Couldn't Ask For a Better Opportunity

    Aug 2, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I couldn't be more pleased with my role here. My team is filled with phenomenal, hard working individuals who are extremely supportive of me. Despite being an entry level employee, my team puts great trust in me, and I am encouraged to run with my own ideas and lead conversations. The benefits are great, there are tons of learning opportunities, and I am well compensated for my role.

    Cons

    No cons to share at the moment.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 149 Reviews
</>Embed

Foursquare Reviews FAQs

Foursquare has an overall rating of 3.7 out of 5, based on over 174 reviews left anonymously by employees. 68% of employees would recommend working at Foursquare to a friend and 47% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -8% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Foursquare employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.0 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Foursquare. This rating has decreased by -1% over the last 12 months.

68% of Foursquare employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Foursquare 4.4 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.9 for culture and values and 3.6 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Foursquare to be benefits, culture, coworkers and the cons to be diversity and inclusion, career development, senior leadership.

Popular Careers with Foursquare Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Foursquare? Share Your Experiences

Foursquare logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

Foursquare Photos

+ Add Photo
Foursquare photo of: Foursquare Lobby NYC
Foursquare photo of: Conference Room
Foursquare photo of: Foursquare Library NYC
Foursquare photo of: Games in NYC
Foursquare photo of: Foursquare Cafeteria NYC
Foursquare photo of: Lunch at Foursquare NYC
Foursquare photo of: "The Library"
See All Photos

Affiliated Companies

PlacedFactual Inc.

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Foursquare Job Seekers Also Viewed

Twitter Logo
Twitter

3.4

2,064 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 174 Foursquare reviews submitted anonymously by Foursquare employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Foursquare is right for you.