KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

goFLUENT

Is this your company?

goFLUENT

Add a Review

goFLUENT Reviews

Updated Nov 25, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 131 of over 173 reviews

3.1
46%
Recommend to a Friend
34%
Approve of CEO
goFLUENT CEO Christophe Ferrandou (no image)
Christophe Ferrandou
64 Ratings
Pros
  • "You have the ability to work from home(in 17 reviews)

  • "The work environment is pretty pleasant(in 8 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "No benefits, no salary increase, feeling of loneliness after some time(in 10 reviews)

  • "The evaluation and review has no corresponding KPIs, which means no salary increase(in 10 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Teachers

    Join the conversation on

    Teachers

    1y

    a 

    West Virginia Elementary School Teacher

    Who is taking the COVID-19 Shot? Do you think all teachers should?

    2,866

    959 Comments

    Join the conversation on
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great Company

      Jul 17, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Adaptable to changing market Opportunity to work with people around the world Interesting work

      Cons

      Workload is heavy at times but it's interesting and motivating

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Current Employee

      has benefits, but a lot of drawbacks

      Nov 10, 2021 - Corporate English Trainer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You get to work with a lot of interesting people from different countries.

      Cons

      The money. There are no raises. You have to pay for your own equipment. There are no benefits and no sick leave. And, if you have tech trouble, they will more than likely try not to pay you for the time you spend fixing it.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Bad

      Oct 1, 2021 - Personal Trainer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work at home is good

      Cons

      Poor pay. Not paid for time required to do job

      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Students, Below Average Company

      Aug 23, 2021 - Corporate English Trainer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work was rewarding and I made many great international business connections.

      Cons

      I worked for this company for about 3 years. During that time, I received a $0.25 raise while working essentially full time. Direct manager performed poorly.

      4 people found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Learners have issues and so do i!

      Sep 7, 2021 - English Teacher 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice to work with students in other countries.

      Cons

      A number of students complained about poor teachers, teachers with heavy accents, teachers who lacked knowledge of English, poor communication with corporate. Low starting pay that apparently never increases. Teachers expected to generate a report after each lesson, but no pay for time to prepare those. Horrible, petty, overbearing supervision. Corporate people don't speak English.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee

      make it work

      Mar 2, 2021 - Teacher in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      you get to make your own schedule

      Cons

      night time hours are difficult

      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Full time employee’s advice: STAY AWAY

      May 8, 2020 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Hmmmm cannot really think of any aside from getting paid ok time and having *some* benefits...

      Cons

      Just stay away from this company.

      Continue reading
      11 people found this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      English Trainer, Mostly Happy with a few Caveats

      Jun 26, 2019 - Corporate Trainer in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This job has given me more freedom than any other job. I have never had it easy in office environments. This one is sustainable. It is so interesting and wonderful to have feelers out in the world, to be able to know what's going on in a different place at that moment. Teaching people English is a very rewarding experience. I've learned so much. The training was long but I am a patient person. I have put a lot into this job, and not received a lot in return.

      Cons

      This job has given me more freedom than any other job has ever given me. But, living in New York, you need $700 a week minimum, not $700 a month. I have come to the conclusion that this works in the US as an extra job. If you are in the Philippines, Romania, Poland or other countries where $13 per hour is considered a good income, then you won't have a problem financially for exchanging your time for this low pay. No raise in sight, ever. Now let's talk about the system used for booking. The portal we use, it's great for someone living in the year 2000, when this company was founded. It seems it hasn't been updated since that year. Trainers should have the ability to cancel lessons any time, the same way students are (within reason), and from what I hear from students, they are pressured to complete their lessons in a short time frame, so perhaps this is why some of them write nasty emails when you by chance are not available. The system of this company is made to not favor the trainer. If you are booked for a lesson, you are locked in. Either way, be prepared to be on the losing end of this equation. In Pay and in Treatment. Never say you are available and God forbid have something come up, like a job that pays you 3x as much, but you still OWE GoFluent. My personal worst moment: sobbing on the street at a bus stop in Europe because I just missed my bus to get to my hostel to teach a lesson, for fear of my standing going down as a result of this system. Also, said hostel not having good internet. As this is a remote job, there should be an understanding that things can change, that all is not lost if one thing goes wrong with a lesson. You are not notified about lesson observations sometimes at the moment the lesson observation is going to start. I don't mind about this, but perhaps it would be good to look into why this is.

      Continue reading
      11 people found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Management is bad, pay is worse.

      May 22, 2019 - Trainer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      learning about cultures in other countries

      Cons

      headquarters in France, but no fluent English speakers there - American micro managers who clearly have waaaaay too much free time poor pay, no benefits - the supervision you get would suggest you have a very high level job, but the pay doesn't bear that out AT ALL. No benefits and no incentives to be successful at your job.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Lowball initial salary

      Mar 13, 2019 - English Teacher in Guaynabo, PR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good-natured people, smooth skype interview process.

      Cons

      Hideous requirements for an interview. A 30 min grammar assessment and a 1500 words essay.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 131 Reviews

    Popular Careers with goFLUENT Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at goFLUENT? Share Your Experiences

    or