iCorps Technologies Reviews | Glassdoor

iCorps Technologies Reviews

Updated Sep 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 47 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
58%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
iCorps Technologies CEO Michael Hadley (no image)
Michael Hadley
37 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Couldn't be happier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at iCorps Technologies full-time

    Pros

    I joined iCorps despite, not because of, Glassdoor reviews, which do not reflect the culture I've found here. The CEO has an open door policy made clear by his door being literally open for great stretches of the day. There is a spirit of boisterous camaraderie among the younger workforce but also a sense of professionalism I've experienced company wide. Our IT consultants are serious-minded people across all... levels and there appears to be a solid career track from Associate, through Mid and Senior to Strategic Technology Adviser. Since our people are the greatest part of our solutions, this is gratifying to see. I've read elsewhere that it's a top-down culture but have yet to see any evidence of this. Good ideas are respected, as long as they are data driven and well thought out.

    Show More

    Cons

    The MSP space is highly competitive. If you are risk-averse, this field might not be for you. Many roles require a daily office presence, and therefore a daily commute to a congested corner of Boston. That said, you're in Boston (well Charlestown), which is pretty darned cool.

    Advice to Management

    Keep that door open, keep listening and keep innovating!

    iCorps Technologies2018-12-12
  2. Helpful (1)

    "New York office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Consultant 

    I worked at iCorps Technologies full-time

    Pros

    Great if you like to spend your time driving on the highway to Jersey or LI, because there are so few clients actually located in the city.

    Cons

    NYC office largely unmanaged and unsupervised. Region client base dwindling with no growth. Clients sold networking hardware that was rarely properly configured.

    iCorps Technologies2019-09-05
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Completely Inept"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at iCorps Technologies full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good health insurance (completely paid for deductible), alright 401k

    Cons

    Way too many to list.... See below

    Advice to Management

    Speaking from a strictly MSP standpoint, iCorps is the most disorganized organization I have ever worked for. Their idea of keeping track of client needs and information is to essentially throw all of it into a list that is complicated and difficult to extract information from. This can cause major issues when you are trying to help someone and don't know where to go to get client information, on top of it the... information stored is regularly kept out of date. Management doesn't know how to run an organization, that is blatantly clear. Their price structure is $3,000 upfront for managed services (think firewall, help desk support, etc) and everything else is extra with huge markups (such as laptop builds, onsite visits, projects, etc). When you as an employee attempt to deal with a client who is upset they are being charged three times what they were quoted, they expect you to deal with it. There is no such thing as training, they don't do that. They expect you to train yourself. Strap in and jump into as much as you can, only problem is they have maybe 35-40 clients by my estimates, and they are losing clients fast. So there is very little work to go around. Needless to say, because of the lack of work (and the fact that they employ more people than other MSPs with 3x as many clients) most people screw around most of the day. Their help desk staff have Xbox's, gaming PCs, and a TV at the ready for when there isn't anything to do, majority of the time at least one person in the help desk is watching something on Twitch or looking up sports stats. The consultants regularly show up onsite and don't do anything. Most former clients I meet tell me the onsite consultants were about as useful as the receptionist. Suffice to say, there's a reason iCorps can have beer cart Fridays where the employees just play pool for an hour on the clock. The environment here is very unprofessional, and quick to hurt you. I've seen employees spend an entire shift watching TV shows, the only interruption being their lunch break. As noted, this is easily the worst MSP (if not the worst employer) I've ever delt with. If this business stays open for another 10 years, I would be shocked.

    Show More
    iCorps Technologies2019-07-12
  4. Helpful (1)

    "A Fantastic Place to work as long as you are a self starter."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Technology and Systems Consultant 

    I have been working at iCorps Technologies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A Fantastic Place to work as long as you are a self starter.

    Cons

    you are judged by billable hours

    iCorps Technologies2019-05-13
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Lack of training and unprofessional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technology Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at iCorps Technologies full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you were hired before the current manager you are favored and will probably do well for yourself. Some employees are smart and if you ask the right questions you can consider this your training. It's a job and a paycheck, certification reimbursement, and if you make it to Christmas, Champagne.

    Cons

    Advertising the job is a lot different than actual job. There is no training and vastly underpaid. Employees aren't valued or respected. You are micromanaged on tedious tasks but still no actual job training when it comes to having white glove service for executives and scenarios as such. They always say there is an “Expectation” to do something but that is something you find out 5 minutes before they need something... done. The actual job is more like a general IT guy that after the second day you are thrown into a random client (maybe, or on the bench then fired), and without knowing what you are doing, even after asking for guidance, or making a mistake and then asking for guidance on how to handle in the future you are left without response and unsure. When at a client you’re either alone at a client and tending to password resets, replacing VGA cables, calling the internet company when the phones go down. Maybe there is another consultant onsite with you, but you are put in either a freezing server room with no desk and a stool, or the closet/backroom of a client. It is depressing honestly. Even though you are hired as a consultant they try to keep you at their NOC (aka fancy term for their Tier 1 help desk), and you are micromanaged to the point you need to sit at a certain spot in the office right in front of the manager. They advertise office time to study for certifications and do personal development, but back to reality they don't feel like hiring enough Tier 1 help desk employees to perform the services they advertise to the clients (common theme here) so they stick consultants in the help desk. Not many people take advantage of the certifications they offer, (not a motivated group of colleagues), because of all the help desk games the manager was playing with me by bait and switching me, I put in the after hours of personal development and passed the certification the manager recommended in hopes that would get me back on track for the job I was hired, and I was fired two weeks later. I also noticed a lot of drug use and talk around the office, to the point where exchanges were taking place and even used in the office. Very unprofessional and concerning, maybe the people on drugs are the ones that wrote the good reviews, because that is the only way they could be happy at this company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please really inform the candidates what the position they are stepping into truly is and maybe there wouldn't be such a revolving door of employee turn over. Standardize the micromanaging and lack of direction. Drug test your employees.

    iCorps Technologies2019-04-13
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Save yourself while you still can"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at iCorps Technologies full-time

    Pros

    Every place has their pros and cons but some places are just drowned in cons you almost feel pity for them. Got ahead of myself i forgot this is the pros section. Well to be fair the employees are a perfect balance of personality and intellect. If you ever wanted to find a place you could be yourself and be embraced by your coworkers for your personality you found the right group of people to be fun and weird with.

    Cons

    Speaking of being yourself without judgement and freely communicating with your peers; Thats referring to times when you are not in the office and not being watched like a hawk stalking its prey. Working at this company felt like the first few episodes of Mr. Robot when Eliot thought the government figured out his scheme to take down Ecorp leading him to demolishing his hardware equipment to cover his tracks. That... may have been an extreme example but you would have to work there to comprehend the comparison (which i don’t recommend any applicants to do). If you are looking for that comfortable and fun culture with a side of proud hard work , you might want to keep your job search. If you are looking for a company to suck up to and to do everything you’re told in order to survive in hopes that it’ll get you greater experience for your career, that’s the closest thing to it. If you like the flexibility of working from home and expressing your knowledge and ideas in hopes to make a change Icorps isn’t the place for you. Take your time in your job search and choose wisely.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your workers and what they request to make working in such a stressful environment more tolerable. When you agree to listen and make a change seek it to existence. Have regular meetings and listen to what they have to say. If they aren’t happy try to see how you can change things around. Eliminate the idea of contracts because it makes them feel emprissoned and can’t have the flexibility to move forward... for other opportunities. This leads to them being unhappy which leads to possible poor performance due to lack of motivation. Led them be themselves without you controlling them to be like you. They are grown adults and don’t need to be told what to do or how to do it. Everybody has their own style of working and give them that flexibility be trustworthy. I guarantee this will lead to high productivity and greater results. And if they want to express themselves somewhere else do not guilt them to stay, encourage them to level up regardless if it’s within the company or elsewhere.

    Show More
    iCorps Technologies2018-11-22
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Your employees are growing tired"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at iCorps Technologies

    Pros

    Good pay and decent paid time off. Health insurance with HRA to offset costs. Smart coworkers and the opportunity to deploy leading technologies

    Cons

    No work from home benefits unless you're one of a select few. Favoritism. A lot of turnover, especially in admin and support positions. The 401k match is far below industry standard. Bonus program has unattainable goals for most consultants. Work life balance can be a struggle at times.

    Advice to Management

    Work to improve the office culture instead of just talking about it and changing nothing. Increase the 401k match. Additional vacation would be a nice touch for tenured employees, consulting is stressful. MOST IMPORTANTLY... Actually listen to these reviews and take them to heart, rather than dismissing them in our company meetings.

    iCorps Technologies2018-05-09
  8. Helpful (1)

    "lots to do, but the people are great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - NOC Technician in Charlestown, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at iCorps Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    competent coworkers lots of great places to eat nearby

    Cons

    clients can be very demanding

    iCorps Technologies2018-03-29
  9. Helpful (11)

    "Horrible Toxic Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at iCorps Technologies full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Free food, shuttle service, location is good, beer cart fridays is always cool. snacks are a plus. That’s really about it

    Cons

    Toxic Environment!! Worst Job Ever!!! I was contemplating writing a review because I’m in such a happy place in my career but this company put me through the ringer and I think this needs to be done. First of all I would like to say when I was hired that you get so exciting thinking your working for a close knit exciting IT firm, that is not the case you soon realize that this company and its environment it’s... beyond toxic. I regret working here so badly it was a unhealthy experience. This company is a revolving door of employees. Nobody talks to one another. For a tech company you would expect employees to be lively and energetic but that’s not the case at iCorps. Everyone looks miserable. You won’t make friendships built to last. All employees talk about each other behind their backs! ICorps lies to you saying there a friendly upbeat environment it’s totally a lie, a professional company after an interview would take you on a tour of the office that didn’t happen at all because they know if people see the work environment they won’t get people coming back! Management makes you feel like your walking on egg shells. The CEO has no idea what he is doing! More people leave than come! Run away.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    VALUE YOUR STAFF!!

    iCorps Technologies2018-04-19
  10. Helpful (8)

    "One of the best places I have ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Senior Consultant in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at iCorps Technologies full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Leaving iCorps was a hard choice for me. This place represents the best MSP work environment I have ever been a part of. They have a great management structure, they don't micromanage the senior consultants, they pay great, they offer a great health insurance and a decent 401k package. The office is a nice environment, no dingy basement, an open kitchen with food and drinks (not just a bubbler and a coffee... machine), beer cart Friday, and regular events catered by the company. Everyone is friendly, the culture in the office is formal enough to be absolutely professional without being stuck up or conceited, while at the same time being relaxed enough that when the owner walks around nobody feels the need to run and hide. They clearly work VERY hard to build a positive work environment where it doesn't suck to come to work, and it shows. The work is challenging and interesting, and unlike any MSP environment I've ever been a part of...if a client is too difficult, THEY choose to part ways with the client. This prevents clients from being allowed to abuse iCorps employees (which is absolutely the norm in the MSP environment). Senior consultants are exempt from the on-call rotation unless they choose to take part, and the company reimburses (as of the end of 2017) $650 a week for anyone who does take it, so there are never a lack of volunteers. As someone who has almost 17 years in IT, this has been one of the best employment experiences I have ever found.

    Show More

    Cons

    It wasn't all perfect at iCorps. The bonus structure was pitched in an unrealistic way, basically it is nearly impossible to bonus here, so when negotiating for salary...ignore any bonuses as part of that negotiation because fewer than 10% of the technicians get more than 50% of the possible bonus. The PTO package wasn't awesome, only 3 weeks off, not enough time to decompress from what is really a stressful... field. Lack of remote work. When the company didn't have work for a consultant, they asked you to sit in the office. That is fine and all, except that due to their location in Charlestown it often means a 2 hour commute each way to sit in a cube and study for IT exams, something that as a Senior Consultant...we should be trusted to do while at home. We aren't children, and if the company didn't trust us to be productive while not in the office, they shouldn't have hired us in the first place.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don't make all of the open senior consultants sit in the office if there isn't work, have a rotation allowing some people to work remotely when several are open. Allow users to negotiate for more vacation time in lieu of a raise if asked. Senior level IT is a stressful work field, 3 weeks just isn't enough time off to fully decompress. Keep up with the awesome work on building the culture at iCorps! The... events,the catered food, and beer cart all make working at iCorps something all our friends are jealous of.

    Show More
    iCorps Technologies2017-12-22
Found 47 reviews