KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

iD Tech Camps

Engaged Employer

iD Tech Camps

Add a Review

iD Tech Camps Employee Reviews about "minimum wage"

Updated Jan 14, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17 of over 883 reviews

4.2
88%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
iD Tech Camps President and CEO Pete Ingram-Cauchi
Pete Ingram-Cauchi
329 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great if you love working with kids(in 47 reviews)

  • "Mentorship from industry professional, fun work environment(in 36 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "long hours to deal with in the summer(in 145 reviews)

  • "Many of those that work there are former campers and can be resistant to change with new leadership(in 32 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Teachers

    Join the conversation on

    Teachers

    1y

    a 

    West Virginia Elementary School Teacher

    Who is taking the COVID-19 Shot? Do you think all teachers should?

    2,871

    959 Comments

    Join the conversation on

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of iD Tech Camps and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "minimum wage"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Company

      Dec 2, 2019 - Instructor in Needham, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They make your job super easy by giving you lots of teaching tools and curricula modules. My manager was awesome and very up-to-date, but I've heard from other employees that my experience was a rarity. I enjoyed my time.

      Cons

      Long hours, technically less than minimum wage after doing all of the necessary things.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      iD Tech Camps Response

      Regional Manager

      Thank you for the feedback, we are happy to hear about your experience this past summer. We had found that other employees felt similarly about pay in Needham, MA. In turn, we updated our pay for this coming summer in this area.

    2. 4.0
      Former Temporary Employee, less than 1 year

      Difficult but Rewarding

      Jan 14, 2021 - Anonymous Temporary Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing students that can help you have fun as you teach

      Cons

      A lot of work and expectations for minimum wage

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      A decent place to get experience if desperate

      Oct 18, 2020 - Instructor in Thousand Oaks, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you enjoy teaching other people about basic coding or engineering, it is a decent start.

      Cons

      Wages for summer instructor is pretty much minimum wage

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Good first job

      Oct 22, 2019 - Instructor in Waltham, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It is a really easy and fun way to make money especially after your first year of college. Teaches good organization skills, teamwork and leadership. In addition you reinforce a lot of basic programming skills. Also the coworkers are great.

      Cons

      Pay comes out to about minimum wage but they pay you per week instead of hour.

      1 person found this review helpful

      iD Tech Camps Response

      Talent Acquisition and Development Specialist

      Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your time at iD Tech! Your input is extremely important to us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, while gaining skills in teamwork, leadership and programming. Thank you again for your review.

    5. 4.0
      Former Intern, less than 1 year

      pretty fun, good experience, very low pay

      Sep 10, 2019 - Instructor in Waltham, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      most of the kids are excited to learn programming fun co-workers and working environment lots of flexibility with course plan

      Cons

      very low pay, minimum wage

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      iD Tech Camps Response

      Talent Acquisition and Development Specialist

      Thank you for sharing your experience at iD Tech. Your input, as well as the feedback from all our current, past and potential future employees is extremely important to us. We are glad to hear that you had fun coworkers around you and enjoyed the environment at camp. Thank you again for your review and your contributions to iD Tech this summer.

    6. 2.0
      Former Employee

      "Loved my time there, but I'd never do it again."

      Oct 9, 2016 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The kids are (for the most part) wonderful and very excited about learning. The company has good policies in place to prevent bullying or other negative camp experiences, and they are great about trying to get women involved in STEM fields.

      Cons

      "The customer is always right" mentality can lead to lethal repercussions if a student rights a negative review about you, and a single negative review in the course of a few hundred positive has an impossibly large effect on the way you are looked at and disciplined by middle management. There is no work/life balance. It is only work. The pay seems nice at first until you realize that it really boils down to less than minimum wage and over 80 hours a week, often with no breaks on the weekend. The company also informs employees that if they consume alcohol or fraternize with any other employee (even in private, at an off campus location) at any time while they are employed they will be immediately terminated. I'm not sure if that's even legal.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Hectic at times, but an absolutely fantastic experience

      Mar 5, 2019 - Instructor in Stanford, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Surrounded by amazing staff Teaching STEM to kids that are pretty all psyched to be there Housing and Food is accommodated for overnight staff (Actual life saver for someone dirt poor like me) Fantastic resume builder and networking opportunities Best Company Culture I've ever experienced or heard of since.

      Cons

      Things can get really hectic, and you'll have to improvise to keep it a cohesive experience for the campers Huge international groups without proper support. At Stanford there was huge groups of international students that had no conversational skills or only had a few students that had conversational skills and it made everything extremely difficult. We couldn't explain rules properly, they didn't understand the camp games because they couldn't understand the rules. In class, it was difficult to teach them anything. We resorted to using Google Translate and if there was a bilingual kid in class they could translate but that's really not fair to the bilingual student. They didn't sign up to be a translator. The international groups were supposed to provide translators when needed but a lot of times those translators would just disappear without explanation. There were cases where entire classes of international students(Teens especially) just could not be bothered to care about the class and would blow off all staff and even there liaisons. It was a frustrating experience for all of us. The Assistant Directors and Directors are the heart and soul of camp and they held it together every time it came close to tearing apart at the seams, but they don't get paid enough. They're salaried so if you actually look at how many hours they work, they're working for under minimum wage. Just totally unacceptable.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      iD Tech Camps Response

      Talent Acquisition and Development Specialist

      Thank you for sharing your experience with iD Tech! Your input is incredibly valuable to us. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your time with us and our culture! We appreciate your advice and will make sure to forward it along to the appropriate teams as we look for ways to improve next year. Thank you again for your review!

    8. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Insanely Bureaucratic company

      May 12, 2015 - Lead Instructor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Food, housing, experience working with kids and teaching, lots of Tech. Working with other smart college students is cool

      Cons

      Very, very bureaucratic company. The company tries to seem like a homegrown summer camp, but working there, you find out very quickly that it's a giant corporation that compartmentalizes information and is paranoid about any legal struggles. The money seems good on its face, but it's really a bit below minimum wage. As lead instructor, I was paid ~$700/week, but I worked M-F from 6am-11pm. Not fun hours, especially when you're handling kids constantly.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Tech Camp Counselor - Instructor

      Dec 11, 2017 - Instructor in Waltham, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good opportunity for relevant work experience as an undergraduate student. Locations all around the US. Kind coworkers and directors. Willing to change the courses you teach if desired. Conditional $100 weekly bonus for returning employees.

      Cons

      I worked the maximum number of hours and was paid approximately 2/3 of minimum wage. No overtime given. Long periods of time spent with children; eventually it can wear your energy down. Directors were ineffective at re-energizing the crew towards the end of the summer.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      iD Tech Camps Response

      Talent Acquisition and Development Specialist

      Thank your for sharing your experience with iD Tech. Your input is extremely important to us! We are happy to hear that you were able to gain relevant experience as a student to help you towards your career. We also are glad that you took advantage of the flexibility to teach other courses if you'd like. It never hurts to try something new! We appreciate your advice and are always looking for ways we can improve, so I have passed your feedback along to our operations team. Thank you again for your review!

    10. 2.0
      Former Contractor, more than 1 year

      Lead Instructor

      May 29, 2016 - Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working with kids, clean, decently organized, systematic. For the most part, the staff they hire is really great.

      Cons

      Overworked, the hours are absurd and the pay is incredibly low. When you're first hired, you might be led to believe you'll be working about 40 hours/week, but in reality you could be asked to work 60+ hours which means that the pay balances out to minimum wage. Camp to camp, site to site, the program can also be rather different. That said, I spoke and worked with people who had worked at many different sites and most of them had frustrations with their compensation and the time they spent working.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 17 Reviews

    Popular Careers with iD Tech Camps Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at iD Tech Camps? Share Your Experiences

    or