iTutorGroup Employee Reviews about "native"

Updated Jan 13, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
2.6
34%
Recommend to a Friend
22%
Approve of CEO
iTutorGroup Co-Founder and Chief Executive Officer Eric Yang
Eric Yang
186 Ratings
Pros
  • "Freedom to work from home is always a bonus(in 181 reviews)

  • "Good flexible hours and good students(in 101 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "I was also surprised at the extremely low base rate for adult lessons(in 82 reviews)

  • "the base pay starts off very low as a south african(in 78 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "native"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 3.0
      Current Contractor, less than 1 year

      Depends on where you are from

      Oct 23, 2019 - ESL Teacher in India, MS
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Timeley payment Little bonus upon good reviews Flexibl hours of work Communication portal- active and helpful Quick response from IT Requires low bandwidth for lessons, as compared to other portals. Very user-friendly whiteboard and easy to follow lesson plans.

      Cons

      It doesn't matter if you are an excellent teacher with a native level fluency. You wages will be determined as per your country. Sadly enough, $3 an hour is not the wage of a well-educated teacher often. It is like that, not just on iTutor though but all online portals. So there is little point in complaining about it.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Unethical practices

      Dec 14, 2020 - English As Second Language Instructor in Mobile, AL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great way to develop your teaching chops, opportunity to make money and learn skills in times of economic crisis, lots of training tools, flexibility on interface and image database. In all honesty, I had some great moments with this company before the "big shift" occurred. It really helped me learn and develop some serious teaching skill, so now I can feel more confident in my ability.

      Cons

      Company has changed ownership, and has gone downhill ever since. I went from being offered promotions to recruiter and demo teacher, to being let go without any explanation, over the course of a few months. Hundreds of teachers in my social media were let go, for various reasons - vague descriptions of shifting industry standards (from connection, teaching style, status as native or foreign speaker etc). Company is basically just trying to pay teachers less - automation has also come to produce unwelcome environment.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Honestly... Run!

      Nov 23, 2020 - English Teacher in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible schedule and cancellation policy

      Cons

      -They don't value teachers. Recently they have started to fire a lot of teachers who have been with the company for several years without any reason but being a non-native speaker. -No loyalty to teachers. -Horrible ratings policy requires you to maintain average of more than 9.5/10 per month. Only one spoiled kid giving you a 1 rating could cost you your job.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      An OK place to get your feet wet.

      May 1, 2020 - Consultant in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They have a decent platform and your colleagues are always ready to help. The kids are great, but I think you will find that with any Chinese company.

      Cons

      The curriculum is terrible. Basically, anyone can write curricula; it doesn't matter whether s/he has experience or not. Even if the lesson has flagrant errors, you still have to teach it, or be penalized should a student complain. The company doesn't care about qualifications. You get paid according to where you live. For example, you could have Ph.D in Education or Applied Linguistics, twenty years of experience, and be a native speaker, but if you choose to live in the Philipines or Thailand, you could make 2 or 3 dollars an hour. However, if you live in the States, for example, and have a Groupon TESL certificate (120 hours), chances are you will be making 10 times what the Ph.D is making. I've never seen such a disregard for quality. In addition, they are quite punitive to their teachers- there is no grace period to learn the ropes. You basically have to sink or swim.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful

      iTutorGroup Response

      Senior Systems Analyst

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts with us! If you have any suggestions to our learning material, please feel free to shoot us an email via comm center under "lesson plan" category, our material team will be more than happy to have some practical and constructive suggestions from consultants. Meanwhile, you may consider becoming a writer with us if you have a strong background of linguistic education. Regarding unfair low ratings, don't worry, we won't let your effort ruined just by a few unfortunate cases. Our low rating invalidation policy removes a certain percentage of your lowest ratings so that your payment will still reflect your genuine hard work. Having said that, we will always be reviewing our current policy based on consultant's and student's feedback. Any concrete suggestion is more than welcome.

    5. 1.0
      Current Contractor, more than 1 year

      Very Low pay outside US, UK, or Canada

      Mar 30, 2020 - Senior Consultant in Rochester, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The schedule is flexible. However, if you make any adjustment in your schedule or take any time off you immediately lose 10% of your pay which is given as a "prefect attendance" bonus.

      Cons

      Low pay ($2.00 USD per hour for native English teachers outside US for 45 min classes ) They tell you that 45 minute classes are rare, however, this is not true. In addition, you can teach up to 6 adults or 3 children in a 45 minute session and you have to complete an extensive report on each student that attended for an effective pay rate of $2.00 USD and hour.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      iTutorGroup Response

      Senior Systems Analyst

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts with us! The pay structure was decided based on a lot of factors including the living cost at your place. But we also offer great incentives to raise your base rate and bonus as going forward. Enjoy teaching every day!

    6. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Running a company on bad algorithms results in a bad company

      Jan 10, 2020 - Consultant in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have made decent money there in the past (but that seems to have changed for the worse).

      Cons

      1) Rating System Your income and employment status with the company is based a completely capricious, unchecked and unappealable ratings from often angry kids or frustrated parents. Yes, they remove the lowest 3% of ratings from your penalty fees (they actually deduct your pay based on this), but these ratings do continue to stay on your permanent record, lowering your overall average. That means you'll loose raises and possibly your job in the no-so-long run. I have stellar ratings and even I lost a pay raise once because of basically two vindictive 8 or 9 year olds who gave severely low ratings in the same week, because they didn't feel like doing English after a day at school (can you blame them?). I make classes as entertaining and fun as possible. My 9.8 average dropped to 8 something overnight and I nearly was suspended. In one case, the kid had fun in class, but the parent obviously thought fun doesn't equal learning and gave a punishing rating and including every negative comment imaginable. If you like to be humiliated, this is the job for you. 2) Pay Pay is based on location not on your experience, your qualifications, your being a native speaker, or your skill, enthusiasm, charisma or any intrinsic quality you may have as a teacher. You may get a good service agreement if you're in the US, CA, UK or some other cities in the EU. If you're not in those places, you'll be paid well below minimum wage even for your region (try $2 an hour of which you could even be deducted pay). Why so many people from low paying regions (Serbia, Croatia etc) even apply, is a bit of a mystery. 3) Bait and Switch You'll be given a full schedule initially, but as soon as you reach 1000 hours and your raise is coming up, suddenly everything will change (at least from what I've experienced and seen from others). You'll be put on "demo" classes which pay very little and can be quite stressful. Your normal bookings will suddenly drop. It's like you're working for a different company. In my case, my service agreement suddenly changed and my salary was permanently lowered AFTER I was hired. I nearly quit on the spot. As this lower payment was only for adult classes and I was assigned to teach kids, I decided to stay. I had no idea at that time that some kid's classes would also pay that adult wage, as do demo, as do many things. They obfuscate these important details as much as possible. I had to work for months and months before these serious payment issues began to affect me. Not a welcome surprise.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful

      iTutorGroup Response

      Senior Systems Analyst

      Our rating system is specifically designed to truly reflect the performance and student-teacher match, while also to review the impact on your payment given potential unfairness or extreme cases. Certain percentage of your lowest ratings will be automatically removed and won't affect your pay at all. Our base rate is designed in conjunction with the performance based bonus. The algorithm ensures a self-sustaining ecosystem whereby only the best consultants (best is defined as relative to other consultants on the platform) will receive classes & great pay. As progressing with your teaching here, we will open more opprotunities for consultants which is not limited to special sessions with great incentives, but also to other roles in the company, such as curriculum writer or trainers. Simply write an email to us for more information about your career progression opportunities.

    7. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      started out great...now they are just using me

      Sep 13, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      First month was fair and I enjoyed the company. I had what I would call a fair split of the 45min classes ($8/hr) and 30min classes ($16/hr). I taught about 50 regular classes and had about 8 of the really lame $8/hr.

      Cons

      Now I'm into my second month...and all they seem to give me is the borderline criminal 45min classes. I've taught about 30 classes this month and 15 have been 45 minute classes. They have brought my pay average down to almost 11 dollars an hour for the month. This is unacceptable as a fully qualified US native teacher and if it continues I will be taking my business to another online company. I refuse pouring my soul out for the same wage I could get working at Mcdonalds. I have a high average (9.61)...because I know the PR people monitoring this page LOVE to run to the "youre just not one of the best teachers excuse."

      Continue reading
      21 people found this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Current Contractor, less than 1 year

      It's great - unless you're from SA

      Jan 13, 2021 - Online English Tutor in Johannesburg
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They give you your material They book students for you You still get paid even if your student doesn't show up They have a built in reward system

      Cons

      If you are not from the US, UK, New Zealand or Australia you will be paid very little -even if you are also a native English speaker. You have to be in the classroom 10 minutes before the lesson actually starts

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Not a company for non-natives anymore :(

      Jan 11, 2021 - English Teacher in Belgrade
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It was a good company before 2020. It seems that the pandemic affected them greatly...

      Cons

      In 2020, the company started firing non-natives massively... I worked there for 4 yrs, maintaining a perfect teacher rating for yrs. It came out of the blue and for no particular reason. Since I heard from other colleagues that the same happened to them, it seems that the company favors only native speakers from now on...

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      I like this company, been here a while, but it has it's a downfall.

      Sep 21, 2020 - English Consultant in Clovelly, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very flexible, and if you are a Bona Fia English teacher who can hit a high average consistently, you will get lost of classes. Freedom to work from home is always a bonus.

      Cons

      Very pooly written materials, containing phrases and terminology that are obviously not written by a native, and lots of errors both factual and grammatical.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 21 English Reviews

    Work at iTutorGroup? Share Your Experiences

    iTutorGroup logo
    or