iZettle Reviews

Updated Aug 5, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
83%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
iZettle Founder and CEO Jacob De Geer
Jacob De Geer
46 Ratings
Pros
  • "Lots of freedom and relaxed environment(in 7 reviews)

  • "Great culture, fun atmosphere, contact with people from another countries, good benefits and salary(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Pension contribution below expectations for a company this size(in 6 reviews)

  • "Poor management at times no clear path(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (14)

    "No career/ growth opportunities"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at iZettle

    Pros

    Mostly good culture and professional team members.

    Cons

    No career opportunities/ development or investment in employees.

    iZettle Response

    April 13, 2020

    Thanks for your feedback. We are constantly learning and your feedback is valuable to help us improve. After all, all amazing people working here deserve a great employee experience.

  2. "Good place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at iZettle full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Overall I had a great experience at iZettle. Our manager was great and always put the team first. Amazing office too.

    Cons

    Targets were beginning to get out of reach.


  3. "Ok"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at iZettle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly colleagues - good culture and environment

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    iZettle Response

    August 3, 2020

    Thank you so much for taking the time to review your time with us.

  4. "Disgruntled ex employees"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at iZettle full-time

    Pros

    Diverse culture and some of the most progressive employment policies around females in the workplace I have seen. There is definitely not a white male dominated culture. Some recent reviews have attempted position iZettle (and particularly the London office) as institutionally racist. This is unfair, particularly as that "nuclear bomb"was timed to coincide with the black lives matter demonstrations in London. Whatever grievance that particular former employee has, the timing of that was at best unfortunate and at worst malicious. Prior to the Paypal integration, this company had many many challenges, being institutionally racist was not one of them. If there were individual cases or managers that should be investigated then the author of posts identifying the company as racist should raise them with the iZettle management. I

    Cons

    Its not all perfect. There are cliques, there are favourites, being close to the former owners certainly helped employment prospects, but it's pretty difficult to find a business or organisation where if you scratch the surface that is not the case.

    Continue reading

    iZettle Response

    August 3, 2020

    Thanks for your feedback. We’re ambitious just like our merchants – always learning, innovating and evolving. We are constantly learning and your feedback is valuable to help us improve.

  5. "I have been working at iZettle full-time for less than a year"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Machine Learning Engineer in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at iZettle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Mostly good culture and professional team members.

    Cons

    Not great career opportunities/ development or investment in employees.

    iZettle Response

    April 13, 2020

    Thanks for your feedback. We are constantly learning and your feedback is valuable to help us improve. After all, all amazing people working here deserve a great employee experience.

  6. Helpful (4)

    "Decent for developers getting started in their careers"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Developer in Stockholm, Stockholm
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at iZettle full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    iZettle hosts really great parties. Limiting the discussion on just software development, the environment in iZettle promotes open exchanges of ideas and gives developers leeway on developing sound, future-proof software as the devs see fit.

    Cons

    Overall however, relocating to Sweden for iZettle was a big mistake and an utter waste of years. The structure imposed is systemically and inevitably bound to create a toxic work environment. Developer's careers and employments are solely determined by the whims and opinions of a single non-technical role detached from actual daily development -- the tech manager. Lacking first-hand input, the tech manager relies on one of two things: either surface observations or petty gossip-like feedback from other team members in regular 1:1 and check-in meetings. Given the steep and limited career progression in terms of grade levels and roles in iZettle, if you chance upon a team that happens to compare salaries and are mostly in competition for an appraisal, then you end up with a disaster. Despite receiving stellar feedback, if you unfortunately chance upon a corporate psychopath of a manager, well, it'd be time to call it quits and move on. A system that relies solely on the hopes of hiring benevolent and competent tech managers with no counterchecks against abuses, bullying and sheer incompetence in management is simply not good for anyone's sanity long-term, so I am thrilled that my time there is finally over. Browsing through the reviews on this site since 2014 they all mention the same recurring flaws which rang true to my experience as well working there: poor management and lack of growth. Sadly, all these reviews get the same generic complacent response that "..things can always be improved" as a bottomline excuse for perpetual inaction.

    iZettle Response

    April 13, 2020

    Thanks for your feedback, we're sorry to hear about your experience. We constantly aim to create the best possible conditions for all our talented iZettlers, but admittedly things can always be improved. Your feedback is valuable and will help us understand how we can evolve. Our door is always open if you would like to speak further to your HR Business Partner.

  7. "positive"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst 
    Recommends

    I worked at iZettle full-time

    Pros

    fast-growing startup environment with ambitious colleagues

    Cons

    some of teams and departments are a bit chaotic

    Continue reading

    iZettle Response

    January 20, 2020

    Thank you so much for this review. We are constantly learning and your feedback is valuable to help us improve. After all, all amazing people working here deserves a great employee experience.

  8. "Fun kickstart of your career."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Manager in Amsterdam
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at iZettle full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice kickstart of your career. Great collegues. Fun atmosphere!

    Cons

    Not very flexible. Limited growth opportunities when you work from a remote office.

    Continue reading

    iZettle Response

    January 20, 2020

    Thank you so much for this review. We have so many good things to shout about and so many people work hard every day to make this a great place to work, to develop and to make friends. We are not perfect, every day is a school day as they say, but you are right, we have far more pros than cons.

  9. "Working in an environment with a great culture and great people."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Stockholm, Stockholm
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at iZettle full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A company that puts its employees at wellbeing first and you always get surprised with what the company has to offer. Interesting product with a great vision and mission.

    Cons

    Growing at a very fast pace and many changes are happening at the moment. This leads to that processes are not always in place, and questions and uncertainties may remain unanswered.

    iZettle Response

    November 11, 2019

    Thank you so much for your review. We are very proud of the culture at iZettle and it’s all our people, creating it, that is our strongest asset.

  10. Helpful (4)

    "Amazing culture and a company that cares about you"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Web Developer in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at iZettle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I love working here and I can't imagine leaving. I came from a 9-5 developer job in the public sector, and the difference is huge. iZettle get so much more out of me - not by working me to the bone, but by trusting me and creating a fantastic work environment. Some points: - There's a flat structure and it really is flat. They don't just say that. From day one you can reach out to anyone in the company and you'll get a response. - You are given a huge amount of freedom which creates loads of space for innovation. Hack weeks, lab days, and a huge amount of trust meaning that you can explore ideas and new ways of working. - iZettle recognise that sometimes life gets in the way. You have core working hours of 10 - 4 when you should be available on Slack, but other than that, you fit your life around the work. Sometimes I need to do shorter days midweek, and will catch up at the weekend. This makes a huge difference. - They put so much work into events, clubs and activities. Fundraising efforts, office drinks every Friday with a different theme each time (celebrating birthdays..etc), amazing winter/summer parties, culture clubs where groups of employees are supported in creating clubs around common interests...etc. - The office atmosphere is incredible. Edinburgh is open plan, and everyone knows each other. There is a great vibe. This is helped by initiatives such as the Office Yoda, where new starts are assigned a mentor from a different team to go for coffee, arrange a lunch..etc.

    Cons

    People have mentioned that benefits could be improved compared to other employers. e.g. there isn't really long-term sick leave for Edinburgh employees. However, for me this isn't really an issue. The overall benefits package is excellent. e.g. employer contribution to private health insurance.

    iZettle Response

    April 13, 2020

    Thank you so much for your review. We are very proud of the culture at iZettle and it’s all our people, creating it, that is our strongest asset. We have so many people work hard every day to make this a great place to work, to develop and to make friends. Also, together with PayPal, our benefits, which were good, have gotten even better! You will be amazed at our offering. Check them out: https://jobs.izettle.com/pages/compensation-benefits

Found 72 reviews