ilovetravel Reviews | Glassdoor

ilovetravel Reviews

Updated 1 Oct 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 30 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Alex Handa
21 Ratings
  1. "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at ilovetravel full-time

      Pros

      The people who work there!

      Cons

      Nothing bad to say about working for them just be prepared to travel a lot, that's the fun in it though! It was a great experience and I learned so much.

      ilovetravel2017-06-15

      ilovetravel Response

      July 13, 2017Talent Manager

      We love Travel! It's in our name. We love the journey along the way as well. Our teams love hopping in a car, plane, train or bus to hit the road to sell all over Canada and the US. Another huge perk is traveling on site on destination for at least 2 weeks per year. We love travel ...

      Show More
    • "Destination"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Trip Leader in Santo Domingo
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at ilovetravel for less than a year

      Pros

      Visiting new countries, great work culture

      Cons

      Long hours on destination, poor compensation

      ilovetravel2018-10-01
    • "Trip planner"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Trip Planner 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at ilovetravel full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great company and atmosphere to get your foot in the door for b2c sales Great travel Perks and time Off

      Cons

      Management isn't that transparent

      ilovetravel2017-10-25
    • "Stepping Stone"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at ilovetravel full-time

      Pros

      - Great company culture - Friendly, personable teams - Passionate about the work they do. - Great stepping stone to learn transferable skills

      Cons

      - Expect to work overtime. - Little recognition for work done - Little room for growth (depending on the team) - No HR department - Low pay for workload - Reputation may carry over to future opportunities

      Advice to Management

      - Wages need to be MUCH higher for workload. - Clear cut job description would make roles much easier. - Investing in company culture events is great, until it's the only positive aspect of the work environment.. Perhaps change how you approach treating your employees.

      ilovetravel2017-10-05
    • Helpful (1)

      "Fantastic atmosphere - Fun but challenging."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Account Manager in Toronto, ON
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at ilovetravel full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      - Super fun atmosphere to work in! Work hard, play hard. - Great training program. Learn a lot in a short amount of time. - Salary, vacations, and benefits are awesome

      Cons

      - Vacation dates aren't very flexible

      ilovetravel2017-07-24
    • "Great place to work!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at ilovetravel full-time

      Pros

      Great staff and office culture. I've received support both professionally in my career and personally dealing with life events.

      Cons

      There are high and low seasons. Sometimes you're crazy busy and sometimes you've got a lot of downtime. You must have passion for the product to work here.

      ilovetravel2017-07-13
    • "A Lot of Growth and a Lot of Hustle"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at ilovetravel full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      - Super positive environment - Hard work is recognized - Strong office culture - Great training and lots of follow ups once hired - Leaders act as great mentors - A lot of room to grow if you set out to make it happen

      Cons

      - There can be some long days during the busy season - but you know exactly when they are and what to expect - If you don't hustle it's hard to get ahead

      ilovetravel2017-07-13
    • "10/10"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Trip Manager in Toronto, ON
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at ilovetravel full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      - Incredible training - Selling a life changing 'product' - Working/learning closely from Leadership Team and Owners - Not a typical boring 9-5 office job -High salaries / competitive commission - Opportunities for growth and development

      Cons

      - If you're not passionate about selling/working hard its not the right job for you

      Advice to Management

      Keep doing what you're doing.

      ilovetravel2017-06-21

      ilovetravel Response

      June 22, 2017Talent Manager

      Thanks for the review! It is great to see such positive feedback about your time with us. There is definitely nothing better than selling an amazing travel experience as oppose to a regular service or good - we change youth's lives and we love what we do. We do not believe in 9-5 ...

      Show More
    • "Marketing Coordinator"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Marketing Coordinator in Toronto, ON
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at ilovetravel

      Pros

      constantly learning, many project management opportunities, room for growth within the company, amazing atmosphere.

      Cons

      Flex hours not yet established concretely.

      ilovetravel2017-06-12

      ilovetravel Response

      June 21, 2017Talent Manager

      Hi! Thanks for the review. Working within the Marketing Team, we are glad you see the ability to manage projects and collaborate with other teams. With that being said, being the Head Office in Toronto requires that many of our staff work standard business hours in order to work ...

      Show More
    • "I love I Love Travel"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - User Support in Toronto, ON
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at ilovetravel full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      The culture at this company is amazing. Working with like minded and ambitious co-workers really makes it fun to come to the office every day.

      Cons

      There are very busy seasons at I Love Travel. You work long hours for weeks and months at a time. Although it is all worth it when you see the experience we provide for our clients.

      ilovetravel2017-06-06

      ilovetravel Response

      June 21, 2017Talent Manager

      Hola, thank for the review. With over 5 brands and 50, 000 passengers each year, you're right we can be very very busy during our peak travel periods. We appreciate your dedication and long hours and with people like you - we are able to handle the busy and stressful periods as ...

      Show More
    Found 30 reviews