impartial Reviews

Updated Apr 7, 2016

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
57%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    It was a good 4 years

    Aug 8, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This was my first professional job after graduating from college. My manager moved me into a Pod lead role, which came with a far more livable salary and nice bonuses (and the profit sharing helped). I learned a lot about working in a professional office. I worked closely with physicians who can be demanding but were pleasant. I built strong relationships with a few of them. I managed their calendars and records collating -- anything from exams to depositions to phone conferences. It was busy but the multi-tasking skills I developed and the personal growth, mainly in my confidence in interacting with the attorney and physicians, has helped me.

    Cons

    In the 4 years I worked there they expanded to 5 new states and added new lines of business. There were new people joining the company every month. Lots of growth in a short period of time. Some of the new hires I was asked to train weren't very good -- and some of them were allowed to stay way too long.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Amazing place to work!

    Jan 7, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They offer an excellent compensation package and opportunities for advancement. Management is fantastic! They are knowledgeable, fair, and helpful. They don't just sit behind a closed door and dictate what needs to be done. They are involved, engaging, and sit right alongside everyone else. I also appreciate that the management has the courage to let poor performers go. I don't know what the reviewer that said the management is secretive and doesn't inform the employees and quick to fire is thinking. The management always keeps us informed and the turnover I've seen needed to happen.

    Cons

    Need to continue to grow.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    A good company in which to learn and grow!

    Aug 11, 2014 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I really appreciate impartial's interest in supporting the professional development of its staff members. I found that if you are proactive in articulating your professional goals, the management at impartial is very responsive. They supported me by adjusting my work hours to accommodate graduate school classes, and they helped me tailor my job to better suit my long-term career goals. In my experience (compared to working for other companies), this kind of interest in and support for staff's personal career goals is rare. The medical/legal field is complex, and my work at impartial was interesting and challenging. I always knew everything I needed to know in order to do my job well, and the management and other staff always answered any questions I had.

    Cons

    Providing great customer service to the deadline driven legal/insurance industry can feel stressful at times. Steadily growing, impartial is a good environment in which to strengthen one's time management skills.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Outstanding place to work for smart, driven, entrepreneurial-minded professionals.

    Dec 10, 2013 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    impartial is growing and with growth comes opportunity. New needs and responsibilities are constantly presented and these opportunities are earned based on meritocracy. We work hard for our clients, physicians and each other. We also make sure to balance it with happy hours, free lunches, holiday parties, free Starbucks runs, company Trailblazer and Timbers tickets -- of which I take full advantage!

    Cons

    That I took too long to jump in with both feet. Now that I have, I couldn't be happier.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    A Place to Grow Professionally

    Aug 11, 2015 - Client Services Representative in Lake Oswego, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    When I first started at impartial, I had no really administrative experience. Throughout my time at the company, I was able to work on my customer service and computer skills. I got experience handling medical records, performing front desk duties, scheduling, and with transcription. The experience that I gained helped me land a dream job of mine. If you work hard and show an interest in the company, you will be rewarded with more responsibility and more opportunity to expand your skill set. The office is full of friendly, young professionals. Some of the perks include happy hour, Starbucks, free lunches, and generous bonuses.

    Cons

    It is a fast-paced, growing environment. With that comes a lot of new challenges. Being in the worker's compensation industry, you sometimes have to work with people who are frustrated or upset. You just have to leave that part of it at work.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great place to work! Company is willing to help you grow.

    Feb 6, 2016 - Pod Lead in Lake Oswego, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    impartial is a great place to work. When I first started it wasn't a great place to work, because there were several employees who were negative and would bad mouth the company. Those employee are gone and now the environment is great. I've never seen the management whispering or being secretive. The management is friendly, they give lots of feedback, and they are willing to let you learn new things. I've been with the company almost a year and I've been promoted, received two raises and a generous bonus. I've been given lots of opportunities to learn new things and to grow professionally. Opportunities to advance are limited because the company is very small. There are only about 15 employees. When I joined the company, I knew there were limited opportunities, but I accepted the position to gain office skills. I appreciate that impartial gave me the opportunity, because I didn't have any previous experience. Perfect place to work if you want to learn a variety of office skills, including how to be a team leader, and work with a great group of people!

    Cons

    The office is located in Lake Oswego, which isn't a great location if you don't live in SW.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Poor management holding company back

    Jan 23, 2016 - Customer Service Representative in Lake Oswego, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Many employees are smart and driven. Likely to perform a variety of tasks to add to your resume. Many of the physicians are nice and are genuinely interested in your career.

    Cons

    Management holds the success of the company and its employees back. There is absolutely no upward mobility at impartial. Management mishandles good employees, creates a passive aggressive work environment, and avoids having to address the breadth of issues faced amongst staff.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    The more I found out the less I liked.

    Aug 15, 2013 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The employees are all very nice and fun to work with, and the work can sometimes be very interesting.

    Cons

    None of management has any real prior business experience and it shows. Management is also very secretive and almost never informs an employee why they are being asked to do something. Turnover rate is also very high, with frequent firings.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Save yourself the trouble

    Aug 3, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Friendly staff Occasional coffee and happy hour Once a week you get leftover pizza from the doctors Located in a nice area of Lake Oswego

    Cons

    Unprofessional and poor management Disregardful of staff High turnover due to management style Poor communication and secretive No integrity within management

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    customer service represenative

    Jan 28, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Lake Oswego, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Office is fairly new and in good condition, & fellow employees tend to be friendly. It's hard to think of many more positives though...more a lot of neutrals, and quite a few negatives.

    Cons

    The work is kind of the McDonalds of office work: Almost all very young employees, with a high rate of turnover, & essentially no room for advancement (there's regular staff, then pod leaders - then that's essentially it). The workload is fairly unpredictable, and being the medical field - in a nearly constant state of crisis. There's not a lot to learn either - basic office computer skills, medical file collating, some organizational skills (especially for pod leaders), and I suppose being calm in a tense environment where things are in disaster-mode ~40% of the time. There's no real management to speak of - no real performance reviews, nor any formal way (that I saw) of measuring employee performance whatsoever. Management is managing something, I assume, but it's not the employees. Initially I felt like it was a 2/5 place. But looking back, and with more experience - kinda 1 star. Especially given the different managers I've interacted with since - people who can be encouraging, helpful, and give feedback.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 11 English Reviews

Work at impartial? Share Your Experiences

impartial logo
or