KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

inVentiv Health

Is this your company?

inVentiv Health

Add a Review

inVentiv Health Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Oct 1, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 28 of over 848 reviews

3.4
67%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
inVentiv Health Chief Executive Officer Alistair Macdonald (no image)
Alistair Macdonald
39 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work Life balance with flexibility(in 50 reviews)

  • "They have very good benefits for a contract company and the people are good to work with(in 33 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Upper management seems distant but I understand you can't get to know everyone(in 19 reviews)

  • "Contract work where there doesn't seem to be much help from the Inventiv recruiters once contract ends(in 19 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of inVentiv Health and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "upper management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      inVentiv has been the best pharma experience I've had in 17 years!

      May 9, 2016 - Pharmaceuticals Sales Representative in Detroit, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay is competitive with Big Pharma inVentiv is the largest CSO with many contracts to choose from Company car / comparable benefits package Recruiting team will work had to place you in a new contract ASAP! The high level of rep support from upper management is very personal and rewarding

      Cons

      There is always a risk of the contract ending, but there is a risk of losing a job anywhere you go. The BIGGEST difference is that you will have your own recruiting team working hard to place you in a new contract.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Disappointing Experience

      Dec 3, 2012 - Director in Somerset, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are many dedicated, hard working, good employees trying hard to help this company succeed.

      Cons

      Upper management is the biggest con here. They are universally out of touch with the needs of the business, demonstrate a lack of knowledge about the requirements of operating in the pharma space, and do not have a unified focus for driving business or transforming the company into a cohesive whole rather than a loose conglomeration of acquisitions. Resources, both as manpower and capital expenditures, are tightly restricted. Workloads are unreasonably high and are paired with the expectation that employees are to work days, nights, weekends, holidays and on vacations as management deems. An employee was called away from his parent's funeral to come in to work on what was deemed to be an essential issue, for example. Additionally, professional best practices and general common sense are in short supply. Also, there is a recent trend toward outsourcing employee positions to overseas contractors across multiple departments. IT has been the hardest hit by this resource action, and others appear to be following suit.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    3. Talk anonymously with Healthcare professionals
    4. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      A company in chaos, swirling around the bowl...

      Jul 28, 2012 - Non-Management in Princeton, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Colleagues are good, and we all try to treat each other well

      Cons

      Company merger (of Pharmanet, i3, and inVentive Clinical Services) is being badly mishandled Company management seems to be absolutely clueless We had round after round of layoffs, and then management realized there weren't enough people to do the work... so they are trying to hire new people, but the word is out that this is a terrible place to work Upper management gives "lip service" to the things that need to be done ("We know we have a retention problem..."), but never actually DOES anything about problems ("...so we have formed a working committee to determine what needs to be done," and then you never heard another word about the problem OR the working committee's efforts)

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      A company getting rid of Good workers while keeping the slackers... recipe for disaster!!!

      Jun 28, 2012 - Anonymous Employee in Somerset, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A number of good employees working there and location is great for their type of business... working with pharma companies. Unfortunately, not a lot of upside since THL take over.

      Cons

      Poor upper management. Employees are not happy with environment and looking to leave for better opportunities. The lack of good management builds a lot of dissention amongst the employees and creates a bad work environment for everyone. Promoting employees without just cause is a big issue!!!

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good company but not totally transparent with CRAs

      Oct 1, 2018 - Senior CRA 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good company overall. Line Managers tend to be awesome. They company won't assign more than 2 protocols but preferably one. Perdiem could be better but is not that bad.

      Cons

      They advertise that CRAs gets traveling quarterly bonuses but the metrics are so high that only a very few CRAs qualifies for these bonuses. They also advertise that after two years with the company CRAs qualify to get 2 paid weeks of Sabbatical but what they don't say upfront is that the pre-requisites for Upper Management to approve the sabbaticals are so up high that every time you apply for it, it gets denied. It seems that they use the "Travel bonus" and the "Sabbatical" benefit as a way to attract CRAs to compete with other CROs but the reality is that they don't aloud CRAs take their Sabbaticals or give CRAs traveling bonuses no matter how much a CRA travels because the metrics are designed to benefit the company not the CRAs.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Just OK - totally unorganized

      Mar 27, 2014 - District Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good Salaries for contract field sales. Company cars. Very little inVentiv involvement - everything comes from and is dictated by the client company. This can be good or bad depending only on the client. Good place to begin a sales rep or DM career in pharma.

      Cons

      VERY few people in the home office/upper management to actually help out the field with issues/questions/information. They seem to "wing it" on many, many things. Can be frustrating as a field employee. Terrible health benefits! Since it is contract, there is always ambiguity and you always wonder when your job will end. No real career path to move up in the company.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      overall positive experience

      Jul 17, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Consistant growth, always busy which means great job security. inVentiv offers many types of services to clients so there are a variety of ways for career growth and opportunities. The employees at inVentiv are very supportive, understand teamwork, are very dedicated. Everyone works hard and prides themselves on getting results....refreshing to see people so dedicated. Upper management also values work/life balance. I've never been denied a day off....been understanding with sick kids and other life issues.

      Cons

      Lack of efficient marketing and branding...hard for people to understand what we do and how we do it.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Ever Changing Landscape

      Jan 6, 2016 - Manager in Somerset, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pros in my time here have been the schedule flexibility, the ability to learn new things. I have never had upper management say no to me when i have asked to take a class to learn something relevant to my positions (but you have to initiate it). The ability to move within the company to positions that are a better fit. The people have always been friendly, Coffee provided!

      Cons

      The benefits still aren't great, and the bonuses/merits have been pretty minimal the last 7 years inVentiv is not for everyone, it's a changing landscape and you have to have the flexibility to roll with it. If you like a bit of chaos, can adapt to different business models between all the divisions/companies plus the clients we partner with, can come up with creative solutions, have a good 'roll up my sleeves and get the job done' attitude and like the idea of being able to effect policy and create SOP's - you will probably do very well here. If you're used to working somewhere that doesn't change, has very structured and set procedures and a ton of training for your job, you might struggle.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      I have worked at inventive Health for approx. 6 years as a sales rep and I am not a manager.

      Jun 17, 2014 - District Manager in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      At other companies I felt like just a number. At inVentiv, I interact with upper management and other individuals within the company. I feel there is great room for advancement here.

      Cons

      Some people are concerned with contract sales because there usually is no severance. I have never had an issue in all the time I have worked for the company.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    11. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Good company

      Jan 27, 2015 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Hiring process was smooth and training was complete and very well organized. My immediate manager was top notch as well as the upper management team. Benefits were mostly very good. I loved working here and wish there was another contract for me to get on.

      Cons

      The only downside is the health insurance plan (UHC partnered with an HSA) and with a large deductible. Personally, I do not like having the HSA.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 28 Reviews

    Popular Careers with inVentiv Health Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at inVentiv Health? Share Your Experiences

    or