loanDepot Reviews | Glassdoor

Sign Up for FREE in seconds to unlock millions of salaries and reviews

loanDepot Reviews

Updated May 24, 2018
800 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
loanDepot Founder and CEO Anthony Hsieh
Anthony Hsieh
570 Ratings

800 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • All In" means you need to protect work/life balance; frequent burnout amid IT teams (in 47 reviews)

  • Long hours but leads to unlimited income This review wants us to post 20 words for con I just can't think of any (in 64 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Fantastic benefits and amazing culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Manager in Plano, TX
    Current Employee - Senior Account Manager in Plano, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at loanDepot full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I love the benefits of working for a company that values the hard work of their employees. loanDepot is like a family and everyone strives to ensure that the company as a whole and each individual succeeds.

    Cons

    Have not noticed any cons at this time.

    loanDepot Response

    May 23, 2018 – Recruitment

    Love to hear it! We appreciate you taking the time to write a review!


  2. "Operations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at loanDepot full-time

    Pros

    They take care of their employees quite well, compensation, benefits, amenities

    Cons

    Little to no work-life-balance when I was working there at least

    loanDepot Response

    May 24, 2018 – Recruitment

    Given the nature of our industry, long hours sometime are unavoidable. We do try to offset those extra-hours days with a variety of company-sponsored events, including quarterly employee appreciation... More

  3. "looking good with everything"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    hands on learning environment for you

    Cons

    needs better management, growth levels


  4. "A decent place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at loanDepot full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Positive and friendly atmosphere, even at crunch time.

    Cons

    Mortgage industry is volatile.

    loanDepot Response

    May 23, 2018 – Recruitment

    Thank you for sharing!


  5. Helpful (1)

    "STOP it with the NEGATIVE REVIEWS IF YOU SUCK AT YOUR JOB"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Licensed Loan Officer in Foothill Ranch, CA
    Current Employee - Licensed Loan Officer in Foothill Ranch, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at loanDepot full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    * amazing company
    * here to stay and take over
    * most money I've made
    loving life!

    Cons

    negative talk from people that are ungrateful and cant close a deal, suck it up and kill it or leave. simple as that

    Advice to Management

    doing great job, thank you for everything, our CEO is amazing.


  6. "Loan Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loan Officer in Tampa, FL
    Current Employee - Loan Officer in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at loanDepot full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Nice people to work with

    Cons

    Growing too fast and support staff is not there. Very hard to close a loan and becoming just like Quickins.

    Advice to Management

    Work on the details before all the social media

    loanDepot Response

    May 23, 2018 – Recruitment

    We appreciate all comments, both positive and constructive, so thank you for taking the time to share your experience at loanDepot.


  7. Helpful (1)

    "All about the numbers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Licensed Lending Officer in Scottsdale, AZ
    Former Employee - Licensed Lending Officer in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at loanDepot full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great Pay, fun environment with Co-workers, Technology is great and is continuing to improve,

    Cons

    -Becoming more and more about just numbers and not about the employee's benefit

    loanDepot Response

    May 23, 2018 – Recruitment

    Really sorry you did not succeed here.

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Purchase Licensed Lendering Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Purchase Licensed Lending Officer in Orange, CA
    Current Employee - Purchase Licensed Lending Officer in Orange, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at loanDepot full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good benefits, good pay for commission

    Cons

    Mortgage 101 training the worst training ever with a negative trainer that does not like to be bothered with questions. Each ACES class stated same.

    Advice to Management

    Better attitude with trainers. More of a positive can do attitude.
    Have a questionnaire at the end of each training for input. I have never worked for an organization that does not have this.

    loanDepot Response

    Apr 19, 2018 – Employee Experience Team

    We appreciate you taking the time to write a review! We will pass along the information to our business leaders.


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Not for parents (especially single ones)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consumer Lending Representative (CLR) in Lake Forest, CA
    Current Employee - Consumer Lending Representative (CLR) in Lake Forest, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at loanDepot full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Vending machines. Beautiful building.

    Cons

    This isn't a place if you have a family. If you have kids, especially if you're a single parent. The contact center doesn't care about anything but the dialer. You're told they promote family but if you have a sick little , they'll dock you for it, even if you have "PTO". Pto doesn't mean anything for the call center. They base everything on " Occurrences " You can have accumulated all the world but still get written up. The only way you won't be written up is if your absence is approved. But it's hard to plan 2 weeks in advanced if your little or yourself gets sick. Management is terrible, they can do whatever they want. Most of the time they're outside or on their cellphones, which we're NOT allowed to do. Managers can leave in the middle of shifts. There definitely is favoritism. You're not acknowledged unless you perform or are on trouble. Call center Management doesn't acknowledge people unless they know you. Positive reviews are Incentivised.

    Advice to Management

    Don't promote family if you don't care about it.
    You need to take care of your employees so they will actually be excited to come to work. You're not too high in the company to say hi to someone.

    loanDepot Response

    May 23, 2018 – Recruitment

    We appreciate you sharing your concerns and will share them with the team in our ongoing efforts to continually improve our work environment.


  10. Helpful (16)

    "I made a huge mistake coming to loanDepot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front End Developer in Irvine, CA
    Current Employee - Front End Developer in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at loanDepot full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    new Mello building is impressive

    Cons

    work/life balance was a lie
    poor morale with employees
    micro managed

    Advice to Management

    made a huge mistake leaving my former job to join loanDepot, was made promises of a flexible schedule to have a proper work/life balance and we now have a mandatory 8:30am to 6pm schedule.

    Layoffs and overall low morale from all the employees as we are all being micro managed and constantly threatened to be written up and reported to HR if we are even 1 minute late or looking at our phones for 30 seconds.

    I come from a culture of get your work done, your schedule is what fits best for balancing being with family and not be worried or stressed over constantly being watched by management. This mentality is unproductive and will cause your best talent to leave as soon as they can.

    I feel that I was lied to and tricked into working here with a bunch of empty promises.

    After being recruited to come here, the increase in salary feels empty, I am not seeing my family during the week. Stressed beyond belief with all the micro managing, miserable and feel betrayed by all of us this.

    loanDepot Response

    May 23, 2018 – Recruitment

    We’re sorry to hear about your experience with us.


Showing 800 of 803 reviews
Reset Filters