loanDepot Reviews

Updated Jul 21, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
55%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
loanDepot Founder and CEO Anthony Hsieh
Anthony Hsieh
733 Ratings
Pros
  • "And there were decoration contests around the holidays to make it a fun work environment(in 55 reviews)

  • "Loan Depot is Truly an amazing company to represent(in 41 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "They reward you for you hard work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Lending Representative in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at loanDepot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Many incentives including Overtime, Opportunity for growth, and Praise. They seem to actually care about their employees here

    Cons

    The worst thing is probably working so much, but it all goes away after the overtime pay!

    loanDepot Response

    July 23, 2020loanDepot

    We sincerely appreciate your feedback. Providing a positive workplace is top priority. If you would like to discuss anything further, please email wecare@loandepot.com.

  2. Helpful (2)

    "Good"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Mortgage Loan Processor in Foothill Ranch, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at loanDepot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay is good. People care about well being if feeling overworked

    Cons

    The emails friggin never end

    loanDepot Response

    July 10, 2020loanDepot

    We are happy to hear that you are pleased with your overall experience. Please email wecare@loandepot.com if you would like to further discuss your concern.


  3. "Good company"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Mortgage Loan Officer 

    I worked at loanDepot full-time

    Pros

    Good leadership. Great training. Great technology.

    Cons

    There are not very many cons.

    loanDepot Response

    July 8, 2020loanDepot

    We appreciate this feedback regarding your experience as a member of Team loanDepot. Please email wecare@ loandepot.com if you would like to discuss anything further.

  4. Helpful (1)

    "This is a fine place to get entry level experience, not to have a career"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mortgage Underwriter in Scottsdale, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at loanDepot full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There used to be a very good culture, but that has changed in recent years for the worse and there is no regard for work/life balance anymore. Managers, on a local level, seem to have their employees best interests in mind, but that stops at upper management. There is a remote work option available for most positions which is nice, but that’s becoming more common at other companies so it’s not as enticing as it used to be.

    Cons

    Overall compensation continues to be cut and this company is no longer competitive in that area. They have taken the stance that they would rather hire someone with little to no experience and pay them as little as possible rather than keep experienced people with a proven track record by compensating them fairly. Upper Management has lost touch with their employees and has lost sight of what made the company great in the first place. They will run you ragged if you give them the chance, and you are looked down on if you do not participate in overtime.

    Continue reading

    loanDepot Response

    July 17, 2020loanDepot

    We value this insight into your experience and will share them with our management team. If you would like to discuss your concerns further, please email wecare@loandepot.com.

  5. "Great Job!!!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Lending Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at loanDepot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great management, good pay, good work/life balance

    Cons

    I don’t see any cons

    loanDepot Response

    July 10, 2020loanDepot

    Thank you for taking the time to leave this feedback. We sincerely appreciate the insight into your experience. If you would like to discuss anything further, please email wecare@loandepot.com

  6. "Great place to work and excellent training!!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loan Officer in Franklin, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at loanDepot full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great compensation, no shortage of leads, and excellent management team. Training is by far the best in the industry.

    Cons

    Leads are plentiful but not all quality.

    loanDepot Response

    June 22, 2020loanDepot

    Thank you this insight into your experience as a member of Team loanDepot. Providing a positive work environment is our top priority.

  7. Helpful (1)

    "great co"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Underwriting Manager in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at loanDepot full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    culture, flexibility, unlimited time off

    Cons

    underwriters are the least important to operations

    loanDepot Response

    June 15, 2020loanDepot

    We appreciate your honest feedback. Our employees are our greatest asset and we truly appreciate your hard work and dedication. We will share this review with our team. Please contact wecare@loandepot.com if you would like to discuss this further.

  8. "Don’t waste your time"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Loan Processor in Scottsdale, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at loanDepot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Unfortunately there are no positives here

    Cons

    Management and HR need serious restructuring maybe they should be required to take a class twice a year on management and people skills

    Continue reading

    loanDepot Response

    July 23, 2020loanDepot

    Providing a positive work environment is our top priority and we would like to learn more. If you would like to discuss your experience further, please email wecare@loandepot.com.

  9. Helpful (4)

    "Management Terror"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Loan Processor in Foothill Ranch, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at loanDepot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great office employees and benefits

    Cons

    Upper Management DOES NOT back its employees they allow the Dept Managers to belittle and harass employees because of customers who complain over minor issues that can be solved. High turnover, favoritism of certain employees, lacks positive management

    Continue reading

    loanDepot Response

    July 15, 2020loanDepot

    Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns. We strive to provide a positive work environment and would like more insight into your experience. Please email wecare@loandepot.com and we will schedule a time to discuss this further.

  10. "Interview"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Loan Officer in Lake Forest, CA
    Recommends

    I have been working at loanDepot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great interview. Fast interview process

    Cons

    Very competitive working overall environment

    loanDepot Response

    June 1, 2020loanDepot

    We value this insight into your experience as a member of Team loanDepot. If you would like to discuss anything further, please reach out to wecare@loandepot.com and we will schedule a call.

Found 1035 reviews