lynda.com Reviews | Glassdoor

lynda.com Reviews

Updated Oct 22, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 87 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Eric Robison
34 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great compensation, great team, great benefits(in 15 reviews)

  • "Free lunch everyday, great co-workers, environment(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "New changes with upper management, i(in 9 reviews)

  • "There is a strong culture of fear that permeates everything and everyone who has worked more than a few months at lynda(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. ""Treat your employees like gold""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Account Manager in Carpinteria, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at lynda.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Startup culture, amazing free food, great health programs, generous benefits.

    Cons

    Located in a small town, went all downhill after LinkedIn bought us.

    Advice to Management

    More transparency needed

    lynda.com2018-06-11
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Senior Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Carpinteria, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at lynda.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Located in Santa Barbara, on site lunch, product that is meaningful, the LinkedIn CEO is inspiring.

    Cons

    There is a culture built on fear of keeping your job. For example, post LinkedIn acquisition, sweaters were given out with the phrase Ship It on the back. It's tone deaf to have a logo that is essentially "Do Work"

    Advice to Management

    Focus on people, not deadlines.

    lynda.com2018-10-22
  3. "Amazing place to work and learn new skills"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Intelligence Analyst in Carpinteria, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at lynda.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The pros of this job are: Fun environment Great mission, culture, and values Good benefits You are valued Even the people at the top care about you

    Cons

    No cons in particular to share. It was an amazing company to work at.

    lynda.com2018-05-19
  4. "Business Systems Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Systems Analyst in Carpinteria, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at lynda.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work, small team which gives opportunities to gets hands on experience into multiple areas.

    Cons

    Location is little isolated

    lynda.com2017-12-11
  5. "A good mission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Front End Engineer in Agoura Hills, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at lynda.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The core mission of Lynda.com is education. I was a customer before and after my brief period there, so yeah, I liked the place. People are likable to work with, free lunches from good places.

    Cons

    The Agoura office had people too separated, and there was this kind of malaise around there. Low energy. I would not want to hang out with the people I worked with for any reason.

    Advice to Management

    Some of the managers in the Agoura office are less than personable. You don't need beanbag chairs and gamerooms, but maybe less like a hospice.

    lynda.com2017-03-15
  6. "Excellent Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at lynda.com full-time

      Pros

      Best company I've worked for yet!

      Cons

      Not much to say, I was very happy here.

      lynda.com2017-02-17
    • "Company was a great place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at lynda.com full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      As a successful company, this was a great place to work. The company really made a concerted effort to try to treat its employees well. This didnt always turn out the best, but the effort was definitely made.

      Cons

      Senior management majorly lacked direction through some critical growth years. As such, there were a lot of things that they had to play catch up on all the time.

      lynda.com2016-10-28
    • "A Great Company to Work for"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Carpinteria, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at lynda.com full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Everyone working at lynda.com while I was still there was very intelligent and very personable. The executives and owners of the company were very approachable. Compensation was good and benefits were also pretty darn good. At first, the whole company felt like a family.

      Cons

      Towards the end of my employment, company culture and family feel had gone away and things became more about the bottom line. There was also very little room or encouragement for growth within my department.

      Advice to Management

      Continue to encourage continual learning for your employees. Encourage growth within your departments and make sure to always build camaraderie inside and outside of the office as often as possible. Happy teams are effective teams.

      lynda.com2016-10-11
    • Helpful (2)

      "Not quite a start up"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at lynda.com full-time

      Pros

      Friendly atmosphere, people actually cared about what they are doing. A leader in the industry, and are still unafraid of innovating new ways of education.

      Cons

      Was not very organized, departments didn't communicate well to each other. Some information that was supposed to be delivered from one department to another were delayed for long periods of time.

      lynda.com2016-06-21
    • "Training Solutions Advisor"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Training Solutions Advisor/Account Executive in Ventura, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at lynda.com full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great compensation, great team, great benefits

      Cons

      New management, not the same motives as when I was first birhired

      lynda.com2016-06-26
    Found 87 reviews