KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

mthree

Engaged Employer

mthree

Add a Review

mthree Employee Reviews about "investment banks"

Updated Sep 8, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 of over 200 reviews

4.1
79%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
mthree President Todd Zipper (no image)
Todd Zipper
22 Ratings
Pros
  • "The job has many benefits on top of the paid training program before going on-site with your team with an investment banking firm(in 19 reviews)

  • "It's a great opportunity to work at some of the best investment banks in the world (I was placed at Morgan Stanley)(in 16 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Poor compensation for 2 year contract (so have to wait 2 years to actually make money)(in 3 reviews)

  • "Last minute, not organized, lazy(in 3 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "investment banks"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      A Great First Opportunity

      Dec 5, 2019 - Consultant in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The job has many benefits on top of the paid training program before going on-site with your team with an investment banking firm. As a recent graduate and fresh out of school this opportunity sounded like a no-brainer. I’m currently about a year into my role and still learning a lot but definitely would not be here without Mthree coming to me with this opportunity.

      Cons

      - more company events - more competitive market rate salary

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Terrible company with a poor culture

      Dec 23, 2019 - Production Support in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Offer market rate salaries. Training is provided for free but is of a low standard and not enough attention provided to each student during the training. Some good coverage in investment banking if you are one of the lucky ones to get an assignment.

      Cons

      Long wait in the office before you get placed with a company. Make lots of promises during the application process but don’t deliver on their false promises. I would think twice before applying for the Alumni Graduate programme. MThree senior management seem to be aiming for the company to be a clone of FDM who also don’t have a great reputation in the US. Company is full of ex FDM staff so no surprise there!

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful

      mthree Response

      Head of Talent Acquisition, North America

      Hi there, Thank you for your review. We appreciate all input so we can build and be better. mthree is constantly evolving and building our processes, your feedback is something that we take seriously as we are constantly looking to make improvements in our consultants’ journey whilst with mthree. I am sorry that your experience wasn’t fully positive. Generally, most of our trainees are assigned to a position before training ends although unfortunately this isn’t the case for a few consultants. We ensure we work with these consultants, both in training and alongside the Talent team, to better support and prepare all trainees to interview with our clients, and to be selected in a role that will help to start a successful tech career. We have recently appointed a new Head of our Training Academy whose responsibility is to improve and develop our training program and content, to ensure we are delivering the best training in our industry, alongside ensuring our consultants are best prepared to go onsite to kick-start their tech career. With your feedback and recommendations, we can work together to support with the improvements to make our future training classes even better. At mthree, we pride ourselves in being fully unique in our marketplace and with our competitors. We take a fully transparent approach to our work and ensure we invest time with each individual trainee, to make sure they are prepared and confident in the early stage of their career. Sometimes our classes are big although this is due a large demand for our trainees, from our clients, due to the success of our training program. In this case, we make sure another trainer is present, so that all trainees still receive the same level of training. If you have any additional feedback, please feel free to contact me directly. Thank you again for your feedback. Best, Scott Coleman-Allan (scott.coleman-allan@mthree.com) Head of Talent, North America

    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      False Promises

      Feb 16, 2018 -  in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A great “Opportunity” to work in investment banking, a paid “salary” during training. Trainers have real world experience in financial services.

      Cons

      Entire organization lacks transparency and candor. Recruiters will tell you they have a “client” looking for IT professionals, with a “start date” a week or so after training. While they will assure you that you are a salaried employee when you actually aren’t as they pay you on a daily basis. They do not have a contract with said client, the start date is a goal of MThree to have you on site. They will insist that everyone has a job. In reality You will wait three months to go through the traditional interview process with what ever bank they can pawn you off (digital interviews, in-person, panels, the works). And you won’t be paid while waiting, despite being a salaried employee. They will barely contact you for updates regarding a start date throughout this process. The sales team is highly insecure and incompetent, and when they can’t deliver they will blame everyone else, including you as an employee, instead of taking responsibility for their failures. Believe the negative reviews here. If offered, do not take this job. The “opportunities” they offer are non existent. They will mislead you throughout the entire process. And when the bank passes on your candidacy, you mean nothing to them.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful

      mthree Response

      Ben Rodrigues - Global Head of Delivery

      Hi, I appreciate you taking the time out to write a review on Glassdoor. As always, we take on board all positive and negative feedback and act upon it accordingly. Thank you for recognising that the Alumni Programme is a fantastic opportunity to work in the Investment Banking Industry and the quality of our world class trainers. However, clearly from your review the negatives in your personal experience far outweigh the positives. MThree has numerous clients in Financial Services. As part of the US programme, we would have found a placement for you with executed business before offering you a paid training place in our academy. If there are any issues with placements with our clients such as delays or a change in circumstances, you should have been told this immediately. It is standard practice to send Alumni trainees to interviews with other clients, to secure you a place on the programme if for any reason, the placement with your client is facing delays. Rest assured, our number 1 priority is to secure you a place on the programme, indeed it is in our interest to do so, as this is how we operate as a business. You are paid a full salary to train during the training period and paid once on site. But as you faced delays, you are correct that this time in-between would not be paid. During any period waiting to go on-site with clients or when you are attending interviews, we pride ourselves on constant communication with all our Alumni. I cannot stress enough, that during this period Alumni are still our employees and we are working really hard on finding you a placement on the programme. Clearly your experience on the Alumni programme has not been a positive one as you have highlighted from your review. I apologise unreservedly that the issues with places available with our client, the ethos of the programme, structure, processes and in this case, delays were not communicated to you effectively. MThree has fallen way short of your expectations and our own high standards. You have my personal assurance that we will be thoroughly investigating where things have gone wrong. I would really appreciate speaking to you in more detail about your experience to address each one of your concerns, so we can put right the wrongs above. I genuinely hope that we can not only find a place for you on our programme but make sure the breakdown in communication you have experienced never happens again. Ben Rodrigues Global Head of Delivery ben.rodrigues@mthreealumni.com

    4. 1.0
      Former Contractor, less than 1 year

      Don't work for MThree

      Oct 24, 2018 - Business Analyst in Tampa, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Training. Fantastic opportunity to work in the Investment Banking Industry

      Cons

      YOUR JOB IS NOT GUARANTEED. My group of Alumni Associates never got placed on-site. We don't even know why. The management is incompetent and dishonest, we all waited for about 3 months without pay. We were never told about delays until the last minute. They kept scheduling "interviews with clients" and there would be no real interviews.

      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great company to help graduates get into IT/Dev roles at Investment Banks

      Jul 2, 2020 - Production Support Analyst in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They have close relationships with many investment banks (IB) and can remove the barriers to entry to getting a job at an IB (versus the long recruitment process if you go the conventional route) Initial training provided is very good to bring people from different backgrounds up to speed. After 2 years of being on-site at the client (IB), you are very likely to convert to a full time employee.

      Cons

      In the initial 2 years, you will be underpaid (but still paid a decent amount starting on 25k in London with 7K pay rises every 6 months)

      3 people found this review helpful

      mthree Response

      Good Afternoon, Thanks so much for your positive feedback. I am really pleased you have had a good experience of the programme. Kind Regards, Kat Snodgrass (katherine.snodgrass@mthreeconsulting.com). Head of Alumni Talent

    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      A great opportunity to get your foot in the door of IT industry

      May 12, 2020 - Production Support Analyst in Montreal, QC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - It's a great opportunity to work at some of the best investment banks in the world (I was placed at Morgan Stanley). - Prove yourself, and you will most probably get an offer to be a direct employee of the bank. (I liked this the most) - Great culture. Mthree does support you the best way they can when you are on-site - The training at the beginning is a good start for someone who is not from IT backgroung. - Probably the best way to enter an IT industry if you don't have an IT background

      Cons

      - Starting salary could be better, but you do get a periodic raise provided your performance is satisfactory which is at least better if you think long term.

      1 person found this review helpful

      mthree Response

      Head of Talent Acquisition, North America

      Hi there, thank you for your feedback and glad you are enjoying your journey with mthree, to date. We enjoy receiving feedback as this allows us to improve even more and ensure your learning experience is even better - please reach out to me to provide any additional information should you be happy to do so - Scott.Coleman-Allan@mthree.com. Our salary/compensations structure has been designed with growth in mind - you will receive an increase every 6 months whilst you grow in your role and naturally and professionally expand your technical knowledge. Best, Scott (Head of Talent, North America)

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Really good company

      Jan 21, 2020 - Alumni Associate in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - As a graduate they place you in as a consultant on a two year 'grad scheme-esque' programme in a tier 1 investment bank which provides opportunity that you wouldn't normally get. - They have an astonishing client portfolio- a lot of the top wall street banks. - Good communication with their consultants - Friendly, welcoming, good culture - Paid 4 week training on-site - Regular events organised - Regular salary increases every 6 months for duration of contract. Final year salary is pretty competitive.

      Cons

      - Can be slow to reply to you when needed, and often re-schedule meetings although this is a symptom of their growing/scaling pains - Poor salary in the first 6 months (for London), but post 6 months this increases to a competitive level.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful

      mthree Response

      Good Afternoon, Thank you for your review, I am really pleased to see your positive comments. We are continuously expanding and will make sure to take on-board your feedback as we are always looking at ways to improve and develop. Kind Regards, Kat Snodgrass (katherine.snodgrass@mthreeconsulting.com). Head of Alumni Talent

    8. 4.0
      Former Contractor, less than 1 year

      Good exposure to top companies

      Sep 8, 2020 - Production Support Analyst in Montreal, QC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good placement in top investment bank. Get to work completely under placement company's team and immerse in their corporate culture

      Cons

      Low pay compared to experience and working hours

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Alumni Associate Software Engineer

      Mar 8, 2019 - Software Engineer in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - If they accept you, it's kind of like having a recruiter who can place you at a major investment bank, if that recruiter also had in-depth knowledge of finance, offered you mock interviews and paid training (after you get accepted for a placement). - MThree has relationships with the world's most prominent investment banks. - Comparatively easy route to a job at JPMorgan-Chase, Morgan Stanley, HSBC, Nomura etc. - Breaks the "need a job to get experience but need experience to get a job" dilemma - Offer paid training - Invested time to make sure I was prepared for the placement interviews - Staff are friendly and responsive

      Cons

      - While their internal interview process was efficient, the external placement interview process was somewhat drawn out. This isn't necessarily a fault of MThree and can be attributed to the clients.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Low level roles for graduates

      Dec 14, 2019 - Production Support Analyst in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Free training - Provide low level roles in Investment banks - Some of the other graduates are nice to work with

      Cons

      - Sell a dream of a career in Investment banking but in reality are peddling low level roles in banking - IT support etc. - Jobs for the boys culture - All the senior management including the CEO are ex recruiters

      Continue reading
      13 people found this review helpful

      mthree Response

      Good Afternoon, I am disappointed to read your feedback although confused by some of your statements. Our programmes provide graduates with a first step into Investment Banking. Yes you are entering junior positions in investment banking, but as graduates you will have no prior experience. The Alumni programme provides you with the opportunity to work hard, take on more responsibility, develop your career and become a subject matter expert whilst receiving training and support. You mentioned a ‘jobs for the boys culture.’ At mthree we have 34% female representation which is far above the national average and have a culture of collaboration and inclusivity. I am both a senior manager and female. I can confirm that not all senior managers are recruiters, including myself. We have Senior management from a varied range of backgrounds including finance, education, HR, fintech, client services and consultancy. We have open conversations with all graduates joining the programme. Graduates are not tied into mthree during training or placement onsite yet we have a 94% success rate of individuals transitioning to client site at 2 years. Graduates would only continue a career and transition to the bank if they were enjoying what they did and saw career progression. I would be interested to discuss the points further please email katherine.snodgrass@mthree.com

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 16 Reviews

    Popular Careers with mthree Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at mthree? Share Your Experiences

    mthree logo
    or