next Reviews

Updated May 29, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
59%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
next CEO Simon Wolfson
Simon Wolfson
564 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Christmas period is long hours and disruptive(in 96 reviews)

  • "Only national minimum wage paid for high intensity customer service(in 62 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good company to work for part-time"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at next part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They give out great bonuses for being good employees. Easy to trade shifts with others or pick up extra hours using their online systems

    Cons

    Uniform allowance could be more

    next2019-04-02
  2. Helpful (1)

    "They care more about middle managers"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Developer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at next full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Staff discount available on next items.

    Cons

    The car park is a nightmare.

    Continue reading
    next2020-03-13
  3. "MARKETING ASSOCIATE-NO EXPERIENCE NEEDED"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Team 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at next full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you work for less than 8$ an hour and put in more hours you can make slightly more pay. You talk with 100 different people a day selling cable packages at BEST BUY. The actually company name is Open Client Services -I wouldn't suggest working there if you have a degree but if you need some job for your resume I'd try it if you like talking with people and marketing.

    Cons

    They lied about the hours, instead of working part time your required to work from 8am-7:30pm mon-fri to make at best 400$ a week instead of $700-1500 posted. You need to chat in person with 100 people a day in person. You will be working at best buy selling cable packages. It's easy to get hired into the company but most employees get laid off the first week or two.

    next2019-08-29
  4. "Sales Consultant Experience"

    2.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at next part-time

    Pros

    Nice stores and friendly staff

    Cons

    Management are strict, not flexible, pay isn't good

    next2018-11-23
  5. "No training or support"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Womenswear Sales Assistant in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at next part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Staff get a 25% discount, so maybe worth it if you want to buy a sofa from them (or just wait for a sale)

    Cons

    Little to no training or support from management, on my second week I was the most trained person on womenswear in a large store. At this point my computer account wasn't activated to process returns and there was not manager to be seen. Pays their staff the minimum wage, which they are expected to make up with incentivised goals- such as collecting parcels from the parcel room in under 2 minutes (including the older lady that was forced to run from across the store to be able to do this) + company purposely give contracts of 4/6 guaranteed hours a week, to allow them more flexibility at the cost of giving their workers no job security. Overall unfriendly work culture, everyone miserable. When I handed my resignation in after 5 weeks, I was told management wouldn't care because they have such a ridiculously high turnover of staff anyway.

    Continue reading
    next2018-07-05
  6. "Sales Consultant"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at next part-time

    Pros

    Great Range of products Discount of 25% on clothing Additional hours at Christmas Undertook some management tasks Access to sale stock first Ability to get promoted or move branch

    Cons

    Very control heavy - overly so Often management focus on smaller non material items In some stores lack of management skills - e.g. ensuring roster and pay aligned if asked to stay on past shift Small contracts of 4 hours often

    Continue reading
    next2016-06-21
  7. Helpful (1)

    "excellent"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at next

    Pros

    Great team, smart people. Not too many deadlines. Good culture.

    Cons

    Commute, no where close to any pulic transport. I h as to ommutw 3 hours everyday to get to work .

    Continue reading
    next2016-03-04
  8. "Customer service telephony advisor"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Leicester, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at next full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Best place to work at is next plc as a telephone advisor

    Cons

    None I can't fault any

    Continue reading
    next2015-10-12
  9. "Accounting"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Bookkeeper in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at next

    Pros

    Great support would love to go back but I moved to another part of the United States. It was a fun yet get the job done type environment.

    Cons

    None. I enjoyed my position and the company management. Everyone was supportive and had an open door policy. I hope to return eventually.

    Continue reading
    next2015-10-08
  10. "working with people who have special needs"

    3.0
    • Culture & Values
    Direct Care Worker in New York, NY

    I have been working at next for more than a year

    Pros

    work with challenging clients in all over new York city.

    Cons

    lack off work in field

    next2014-07-10
Found 2197 reviews
</>Embed