rue21 Reviews

Updated May 27, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.8
36%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
rue21 Chairman and Interim CEO Michael Appel (no image)
Michael Appel
104 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Upper Management are hypocrites(in 73 reviews)

  • "Having a quota for perfume sales; although the do have great product at a reasonable price(in 66 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great part-time job during the summer while in college"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Marion, OH

    I worked at rue21 part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone was very nice and management was flexible.

    Cons

    I had no issues with the workers or management, but the customers were sometimes difficult to deal with.

    rue212019-09-25
  2. "Great Job"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Kennesaw, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at rue21 part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They give you a lot of responsibility, which makes things go quicker and more fun! The management was great and I really enjoyed the overall atmosphere. They are very willing to give you breaks too.

    Cons

    No cons I can think of!

    Continue reading
    rue212020-05-28
  3. "nothing bad to say"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at rue21 part-time

    Pros

    Great company to work for

    Cons

    nothing bad to say about them

    rue212020-05-18
  4. "Sales Associate"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at rue21 part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Discounts & great with scheduling

    Cons

    In two years I worked there, I only received a raise of 25 cents

    rue212020-05-02
  5. "Good first job experience"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at rue21 part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This was a very good introduction into retail sales as a part time job.

    Cons

    Hours were a little strange at times, sometimes you can feel overworked (especially during holidays).

    rue212020-04-28
  6. "Run!!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at rue21 full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Online discount, nothing else at all.

    Cons

    No work life balance Upper Management are hypocrites. Workload is extremely heavy without payroll. They don’t pay their associates. They falsely fire managers and associates. No training, no support, Upper management will tell you to do things and if VP’s don’t like it they will blame you! So much DRAMA. You will be pulled from your store over half the year to support someone else’s store. SM’s pay scale company wide is all over the place. Many SM’s are making under 29k! Those that make over 45k are turned over within a few months. A year max. They will look for any reason to fire you and they will find your replacement without you knowing and have them trained in another store. Worst company and leadership to work for.

    Continue reading
    rue212020-05-26
  7. "Terrible pay"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Kennesaw, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at rue21 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    coworkers were great, will make or break your experience

    Cons

    pay is absolute garbage (7.25 an hour) and you're expected to work 8-12 hour days

    Continue reading
    rue212020-04-30
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Thankful but can’t wait to leave"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at rue21 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay for managers is good, a great learning experience with leadership skills

    Cons

    disorganized company, miscommunication on moving up within the company

    rue212020-04-22
  9. "Crap company"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cincinnati, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at rue21 part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Standard Discount, Easy to get hired, no experience necessary

    Cons

    Pushed fragrance sales in order to get hours. Unprofessional and uneducated employees.

    rue212020-04-22
  10. Helpful (1)

    "My location has been great, but desired more from company overall."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at rue21 part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Have had great experience with coworkers, great employee discount, flexible schedule within reason

    Cons

    No benefits, relatively low pay

    rue212020-04-03
Found 1432 reviews