rue21 "employee discount" Reviews | Glassdoor

rue21 Employee Reviews about "employee discount"

Updated Nov 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
38%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
rue21 Chairman and Interim CEO Michael Appel (no image)
Michael Appel
99 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "employee discount"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good First Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Part Time Sales Associate in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at rue21 part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun atmosphere Employee discounts Easy Interview

    Cons

    Ridiculous customers, the customer isn't always right 🤷🏾‍♀️

    Advice to Management

    Continue being the nice people y'all are

    rue212017-07-17
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Good at first until they don't want you."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Florence, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at rue21 part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is a good employee discount, usually flexible scheduling, and a diverse group of coworkers.

    Cons

    They will keep you until they're tired of you, low pay, no mind to teaching correct procedures, and will fire over trivial things. (Going back to the not teaching proper procedures)

    Advice to Management

    To upper management, teach lower management ALL they need to know before sending them out there so in the future they actually know what they can and can't do.

    rue212019-11-28
  3. "Good Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Tahlequah, OK
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at rue21 part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule Great learning experience Fun Great employee discount Immediate managers are great to work with

    Cons

    Having a quota for perfume sales; although the do have great product at a reasonable price.

    Advice to Management

    I had great management, so I would just say that I appreciate all the hard work they do.

    rue212019-05-12
  4. "Keep looking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at rue21 full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good employee discount, that’s about it.

    Cons

    Corporate doesn’t communicate well within depts. It makes it difficult to comply to daily tasks at store level. No work/life balance.

    rue212019-06-16
  5. "A fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at rue21 part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, great co-workers, fun environment, employee discount

    Cons

    Lack of communication, pay rates, benefits,

    rue212019-04-26
  6. "Communication fails"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at rue21 full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    40% off employee discount Company has a lot of competitions to win free things

    Cons

    Not much communication between corporate and stores Shrink is terrible Small things like shipment schedule, daily communication, and insane expectations pile up to become one giant frustration Customers are very messy

    Advice to Management

    Communicate clearly and concisely with store management. Celebrate the wins instead of only nitpicking the few losses.

    rue212019-05-03
  7. "BAD MANAGEMENT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Part Time Assistant Manager in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at rue21 part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good employee discount. Company appreciates the employees with special discounts

    Cons

    Management team is selfish!! Never give days you request off.! Company still let's management take vacation still when short staff isn't right!

    Advice to Management

    Hire better managers that are not so rude.

    rue212019-04-24
  8. "Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Hampton, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at rue21 part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Consistent Work 40% employee Discount Flexible Schedule

    Cons

    Tedious work Gossip between cooworkers Slightly messy management Low pay

    Advice to Management

    Working here was just okay. The work was always the same and it got boring really quickly. At my location in Hampton, VA, we made minimum wage, $7.25, and you had to work for a year before being considered for a raise. It's a fine first job for easy money but the management was a little messy in my opinion. There was also lots of gossip between the managers, and that went to the rest of the staff, so everyone knew everything, and that was kind of unprofessional to me. You also need to sell perfume (it's their push item), so if you aren't good at walking up to people and talking then maybe don't do this. The more perfume sells you get th more hours you got basically. Just be sure that you can work probably only two days a week for 4-6 hours each and get checks that are usually under $100. My advice to management is to find managers that know what they're doing and will stay focused on wha they're doing.

    Show More
    rue212019-02-04
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Retail Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Douglasville, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at rue21 part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The employee discount is great at 40% off.

    Cons

    The managerial staff likes to micro manage and the starting pay is minimum wage. If they could pay you less, they would.

    rue212018-12-28
  10. "Full time management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at rue21 full-time

    Pros

    Employee discount, had fun at work most days and getting to help people come up with outfits, also getting to see all the merchandise before it hits the sales floor

    Cons

    They do a lot of visual changes which can be stressful

    rue212018-11-08
Found 92 reviews