rue21 "sell fragrance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

rue21 Employee Reviews about "sell fragrance"

Updated Jan 22, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
37%
Recommend to a Friend
43%
Approve of CEO
rue21 Chairman and Interim CEO Michael Appel (no image)
Michael Appel
96 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "sell fragrance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great part-time job during the summer while in college"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Marion, OH

    I worked at rue21 part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone was very nice and management was flexible.

    Cons

    I had no issues with the workers or management, but the customers were sometimes difficult to deal with.

    rue212019-09-25
  2. "Good Part Time Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Computer Operations in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at rue21 part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great first job for a student

    Cons

    not really any cons, you work with people so keep a level head and you get what you put into it - if you have any problems just talk with your management

    rue212020-01-22
  3. "Retail Sales Associate Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate 

    I worked at rue21 part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good work experience, friendly enviroment

    Cons

    sometimes rude customers, sometimes rude coworkers

    rue212020-01-22
  4. "Sales associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at rue21 part-time

    Pros

    discounts clothes are nice location was okay

    Cons

    pay managers weren't stable a lot of in-store drama

    rue212020-01-20
  5. "Low Pay for Crazy hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Full Time Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at rue21 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People work for people.

    Cons

    Favoritism runs rampant throughout the company.

    Advice to Management

    Pay associates their true worth.

    rue212020-01-18
  6. "Hard Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Computer Forensics Analyst in Arlington, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at rue21 full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Its a great job for those that want to work hard. Its not for the people that just want a paycheck.

    Cons

    Not easy to move up in the company. They like to hire from outside instead of from within.

    rue212020-01-18
  7. "Great first job,"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Salem, OR

    I worked at rue21 part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I opened the Salem center store and I loved the job itself. My managers were great and everyone was so nice. It's a great first job and they're very flexible with hours, especially if you're a student/

    Cons

    Management can be not so great. There can be cliques. They really push you to sell fragrances even though you're not paid comission.

    Advice to Management

    Fix up the chain of command. Managers shouldn't be allowed to treat associates like garbage when they don't agree with them or don't just sit and talk.

    rue212019-12-24
  8. "low morale, no support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Buyer in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at rue21 full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great relationships within the merchandising team.

    Cons

    guilted into long hours and unattainable deadlines, everyone is over worked and under appreciated. doesn’t take much to offer your team support, guidance or career growth/development but that doesn’t seem to be what leadership values here.

    rue212019-12-20
  9. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Manager 

    I worked at rue21 full-time

    Pros

    Great discounts, nice environment, good clothes

    Cons

    None, it was a very nice place

    rue212019-12-15
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Good at first until they don't want you."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Florence, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at rue21 part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is a good employee discount, usually flexible scheduling, and a diverse group of coworkers.

    Cons

    They will keep you until they're tired of you, low pay, no mind to teaching correct procedures, and will fire over trivial things. (Going back to the not teaching proper procedures)

    Advice to Management

    To upper management, teach lower management ALL they need to know before sending them out there so in the future they actually know what they can and can't do.

    rue212019-11-28
Found 1407 reviews