rue21 "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

rue21 Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Sep 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
38%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
rue21 Chairman and Interim CEO Michael Appel (no image)
Michael Appel
99 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Russellville, AR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at rue21 part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Positive work environment and rewarding

    Cons

    None at this time all is good

    Advice to Management

    None

    rue212019-09-09
  2. "It was pretty good working there, but every few months there was a new manager."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Wichita, KS
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at rue21 part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work environment, everyone was nice and helpful.

    Cons

    Management was never stable.

    rue212019-07-24
  3. "The place is good if you looking for a first job but other then that"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Greensboro, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at rue21 part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun work environment and easy job nothing stressful.

    Cons

    Low pay and barely any hours if you’re just an associate. Drama can pop up depending on which location you work at. It get repetitive and boring after a while. Rude customers are pretty common too so prepare for that

    Advice to Management

    Actually fire the people who don’t come in to work and quit hiring so many when there isn’t any hours to pass around

    rue212019-07-09
  4. "Rue21"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associaate 

    I worked at rue21 part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work environment and easy job for younger people

    Cons

    Management was sporadic and never respected time off

    rue212019-04-06
  5. "Has a lot of potential."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at rue21

    Pros

    This is a great job for a college student. The work environment can be very fun if you have the right coworkers.

    Cons

    Lack of hours and minimum wage pay.

    rue212019-03-26
  6. "Okay ?¿"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Huber Heights, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at rue21 part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good work environment for girls :)

    Cons

    Trying not buying everything insight

    rue212019-03-18
  7. "Nice place to start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at rue21 part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible scheduling Relaxed work environment 40% off regular items 60% off on employee appreciation events 10% off management coupons 15% off DM coupons $10 off for reaching fragrance goal I believe their is also a $5 off coupons for something but I don’t remember what it is.

    Cons

    Limited hours Low pay No overtime Unpaid breaks No paid leave Little room for advancement

    Advice to Management

    Benefits are nice. However I feel that cooperate is very disconnected from the needs of both the stores and their employees.

    rue212019-02-19
  8. "A good high school job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends

    I have been working at rue21 part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly work environment, discount on clothing, and motivated team.

    Cons

    They base hours off of perfume sales

    rue212019-02-12
  9. "I enjoyed my time there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Co-Manager in Lexington-Fayette, KY
    Recommends

    I worked at rue21 full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Room for growth, they promote from within, fun work environment

    Cons

    The work load was sometimes a bit too much

    rue212019-01-29
  10. "Assitnant part time manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at rue21 part-time

    Pros

    Fun work environment, cool employees

    Cons

    Unorganized managment and felt like you could never be ahead on work.

    Advice to Management

    Expected to meet unmanageable goals

    rue212018-10-10
Found 46 reviews