sweetgreen Reviews | Glassdoor

sweetgreen Reviews

Updated Jun 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 193 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
sweetgreen CEO Jonathan Neman
Jonathan Neman
33 Ratings
Pros
  • "You get a free salad a day under(in 26 reviews)

  • "Friendly coworkers, great base pay, free food(in 17 reviews)

Cons
  • "I never will understand how people can get so worked up about a SALAD(in 13 reviews)

  • "Many team members being rude to customers(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great !!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at sweetgreen full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great company with values

      Cons

      The company is a bit disorganized

      sweetgreen2019-04-07
    • "This job is okay"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY

        I have been working at sweetgreen part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Good benefits, cool co workers

        Cons

        not good pay and not enough hours

        sweetgreen2019-06-04
      • "Crew"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I have been working at sweetgreen full-time

          Pros

          Free food easy going enviornment

          Cons

          Bad management poor company values and rules

          sweetgreen2019-05-10
        • "Unsanitary Work Conditions - Williamsburg"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Team Member in New York, NY
          Doesn't Recommend
          Neutral Outlook
          Disapproves of CEO

          I have been working at sweetgreen full-time for less than a year

          Pros

          Free lunch. Flexible work schedule.

          Cons

          Terrible “staff room” the size of a janitor’s closet. Ridiculously short “breaks”. I’m not sure a 30 minute break on a 8 hour shift is legal. I’ve witnessed managers pick up a dirty wash cloth off the floor to wipe the counters with. Bugs would be in the salads and they wouldn’t care to change it. Terrible management. I don’t recommend working here.

          Advice to Management

          Take the time to hire qualified “managers”

          sweetgreen2019-06-05
        • "Good Job"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Crew 
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at sweetgreen part-time

          Pros

          People, easy work, low stress.

          Cons

          Pay is low compared to competitors unless you're a GM essentially

          Advice to Management

          Raise wages.

          sweetgreen2019-04-22
        • Helpful (1)

          "Highscool Politics"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Trainer 
          Doesn't Recommend
          Negative Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I have been working at sweetgreen part-time for less than a year

          Pros

          Work with fresh ingredients learn about fresh Food ,

          Cons

          Bullying, Favoritism , treated without dignity or respect

          Advice to Management

          Supervise your leaders they are on an ego power trip

          sweetgreen2019-04-27
        • "they need to improve the way they treat their employees."

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Captain in Back Bay, MA
          Doesn't Recommend
          Negative Outlook
          Disapproves of CEO

          I worked at sweetgreen full-time for more than a year

          Pros

          people are friendly good locations

          Cons

          managers are not being well trained upper management do not care for their employees working on the floor

          Advice to Management

          things will improve more when the upper management actually care for their employee, instead of mistreating they should focus more on educate them and let them know the basis of their job and what they should be focus on throughout the shift ( be specific). It is noticeable that they need people to work for them but I think they would improve their reputation if they do something about the upper management. People deserve...

          Show More
          sweetgreen2019-04-22
        • "It's Just Salad Relaxxx"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Service/Cold Prep 

          I worked at sweetgreen full-time for less than a year

          Pros

          Coworkers: If it wasn't for my coworkers I would've left a long time ago. Some of the most amazing people I met. Laid-back depending on the lead.

          Cons

          Don't expect to get a raise even if they say you're getting one. Management treats SG like a high-end restaurant, it's not that serious. If you are closing expect to be there for a while. Store needs to be immaculate before you leave. Most likely won't go to break on time because of how busy it gets. If you're hired on service, I'm sorry. If you do work here, get hired on Cold Prep. Managers are unorganized. It's a lot...

          Show More

          Advice to Management

          Tone it down just a bit. Help out the employees. If you are line lead, lead by example and don't just tell what to do. Words of affirmation and most importantly Don't tell the employees to pick up the pace, when they're working as hard as they can.

          sweetgreen2019-04-03
        • Helpful (1)

          "Good benefits"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Team Member in Los Angeles, CA
          Recommends
          Neutral Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I have been working at sweetgreen part-time for less than a year

          Pros

          Pays for public transportation, has some pretty good benefits. & I hear there’s a lot of room to move up

          Cons

          It can be tiring, especially if there’s a call out

          sweetgreen2019-02-28

          sweetgreen Response

          March 20, 2019Corporate Recruiting Coordinator

          We couldn't advance our mission and connect people to real food without your hard work! Thank you for your feedback.

        • "Dysfunction at the highest level"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
          Doesn't Recommend
          Neutral Outlook
          Disapproves of CEO

          I worked at sweetgreen full-time for more than a year

          Pros

          Free salads, fun coworkers, cool vibe

          Cons

          Low employee morale, high stress environment for “fun work/life balance startup”, disorganized leadership, lack of clear strategy, high corporate turnover, internal chaos from growing too quickly

          Advice to Management

          Lead by listening

          sweetgreen2019-03-14
        Found 193 reviews