the STUDIO NYC Reviews | Glassdoor

the STUDIO NYC Reviews

Updated May 10, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Mary Nittolo
6 Ratings
  1. "Amazing Women Owned and Run Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Producer in Sarasota, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at the STUDIO NYC full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I worked at the STUDIO for over 10 years and it was honestly the best place I’ve ever worked. Mary, the owner is exacting and demanding, but very fair and frankly her adherence to high standards is why the company is around for almost 30 years. The company produces consistently great work. I just noticed that they are shortlisted once again against the work of major agencies- pretty amazing for a 20 person woman owned...

    Show More

    Cons

    -A few too many self entitled millennials

    Advice to Management

    Be Strong and Stay the Path

    the STUDIO NYC2018-05-10
  2. "Horrible place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at the STUDIO NYC full-time

    Pros

    Company been around for a long time and used to produce nice work.

    Cons

    The owner/president has lost her mind, always in a bad mood spreading that negative energy all around, doesn't care about her Employees for the exception of her little sidekick. Every Animation project we produce is done in the same dreary, rutted style.

    Advice to Management

    Get a new shrink, the current one is giving very bad advice, treat your Employees like people.

    the STUDIO NYC2018-04-16
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Great place that helps you learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at the STUDIO NYC

    Pros

    My internship here was a really immersive and engaging. All projects were hands on, working with other interns and occasionally full time artists, with plenty of opportunities for creative input. Because the Studio is small, you have a chance to try your hand at various things, depending where your talents lie.

    Cons

    Internship wasn't paid. Fast turnaround makes for stressful hours and doesn't lend itself to quality work Interns didn't always get good opportunities to witness the non-pro bono work that was happening around them.

    the STUDIO NYC2016-07-07

    the STUDIO NYC Response

    July 8, 2016

    Thanks for this feedback- it's very helpful. The nature of our internship program is to take on a pro-bono project which the interns undertake. It allows for real client engagement- presentation skill development and requires a lot of grit and talent to complete the assignment in ...

    Show More
  4. Helpful (8)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at the STUDIO NYC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Kind, talented, hard working people who truly care about the art and content they produce. Everyone is invested and will help you out whenever you need it.

    Cons

    Can be long hours when a job with a crazy deadline comes in, but that's the nature of the work. There is a lot of pride in finishing jobs on time, as it should be.

    Advice to Management

    Its a great place to work and the people here are some of the best around. Keep hiring people who care and it will continue to be a thriving business where you can make art for a living.

    the STUDIO NYC2016-04-21
  5. Helpful (7)

    "Great environment for learning and trying new things"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at the STUDIO NYC full-time

    Pros

    It's a smaller studio which means you generally have a lot more input to the final look of the piece. They're pretty good about letting you try out stuff you've never done before for R&D. The location is great, right by Madison Square Park. Everyone is pretty nice and fun.

    Cons

    They could use some newer computers and a little more management staff.

    the STUDIO NYC2016-04-21
  6. Helpful (7)

    "My second family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Illustrator in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at the STUDIO NYC for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Going on 20 twenty years working here and still loving the experience. There's always room and eagerness to learn new things and to perfect my craft and this places provides it, i feel blessed being part of the Studio team.

    Cons

    The Studio is in a nice central location yet my commute to work sucks, but that's by choice.

    the STUDIO NYC2016-04-21
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Office Politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Freelance Producer in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at the STUDIO NYC for less than a year

    Pros

    Staff are friendly Plenty of food Office animals Good location Access to public transport

    Cons

    Disorganised management Office politics and factions Freelancers are separated from the rest of the staff A lot of yelling at staff by management

    the STUDIO NYC2016-04-26
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to start!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at the STUDIO NYC

    Pros

    Great place to get your feet wet; pay is decent (for still being in school) -great 3D team, really amazing people -wednesday drinks -everyones willing to take a break from their work to help you out (full time staff at least) -great location -pretty good about hours, didn't have to work overtime much (which they don't pay) -free coffee

    Cons

    -Mary isn't the friendliest, just know to approach her confidently and in an assertive manner -some of the guys can be creepy -wish the jobs were more fun, most of it was pharmaceutical at the time

    Advice to Management

    -there were 2 people at the time that everyone was extremely aware were sour apples, it brought the mood of everyone down unfortunately

    the STUDIO NYC2016-02-09

    the STUDIO NYC Response

    June 14, 2016

    Thanks for the review and truly sorry you felt some of the guys were creepy. There are certainly artists here that are eccentric and elusive but I don't think anyone here would have deliberatively meant to cause unease. It's a fairly chill culture. The work here varies as is evidenced ...

    Show More
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accountant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at the STUDIO NYC

    Pros

    Good people good benefits with nice work place

    Cons

    low pay and long hours

    the STUDIO NYC2015-08-21

    the STUDIO NYC Response

    June 14, 2016

    I'm certain this isn't meant to be associated the STUDIO- the unfortunate consequences of such a deliberatively inclusive name-- We have never had an accountant as an employee and only use outside firms.

  10. "sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at the STUDIO NYC part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This is a good company overall

    Cons

    Need to support employee development

    the STUDIO NYC2013-01-22

    the STUDIO NYC Response

    June 14, 2016

    I'm certain this isn't meant to be associated the STUDIO- the unfortunate consequences of such a deliberatively inclusive name-- We have never had a dedicated sales person as an employee.

Found 11 reviews