thebigword Reviews | Glassdoor

thebigword Reviews

Updated Jul 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 204 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
55%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
thebigword CEO Larry Gould
Larry Gould
102 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people, really helpful - superb team(in 12 reviews)

  • "working hours, free fruit, free breakfast before 08:30(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "lack of support for interpreters(in 29 reviews)

  • "Thebigword are known in the market for their bad reputation with regards to staff turnover(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at thebigword full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great operations team management, positive working environment, generous holidays and benefits.

    Cons

    Disorganized communication between UK & US offices, lack of IT infrastructure, vague commission rules.

    Advice to Management

    Invest properly in technology

    thebigword2019-07-16
  2. "easy to get work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Interpreter 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at thebigword part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    flexible time management, jobs are available.

    Cons

    the payment process is slow

    Advice to Management

    make uploading the timesheets easier.

    thebigword2019-04-10
  3. "Questionable management practices"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at thebigword full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I guess it's a good learning experience

    Cons

    Overworked, undervalued and underpaid workers

    thebigword2019-04-16
  4. "Poor management, great team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Localization Project Coordinator 

      I worked at thebigword full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Benefits, some PTO, and a great team environment to work in

      Cons

      Mismanagement of the CA/Bay Area office

      thebigword2019-02-04

      thebigword Response

      February 14, 2019Communication Executive

      Thank you for your review. We are glad to see you recognise the benefits of working with thebigword and that you get on well with your team. We work hard to continuously improve our managerial strategies and provide a full Leadership and Line Management course for all managers ...

      Show More
    • "Great Place to Work!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at thebigword full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Supportive team members and people that are passionate about what they do. Technology driven and dynamic work environment catering to different types of client needs.

      Cons

      Relatively small team on the State's side.

      Advice to Management

      Keep up the good work and continue to grow the team!

      thebigword2018-04-02
    • "Recruitment intern"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at thebigword

        Pros

        lively workforce, with great and friendly staff. CEO very involved

        Cons

        needs more room for growth

        thebigword2018-03-14
      • "anonymous"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at thebigword full-time

        Pros

        small intimate environment; great people.

        Cons

        no clear strategy alignment in the US.

        thebigword2018-03-09
      • Helpful (3)

        "Part-time interpreter"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Interpreter in New York, NY
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at thebigword part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Great follow up by the recruiter, I just have to hand in the required documents

        Cons

        Might be better to have a phone interview in order to get to know more

        thebigword2018-02-20

        thebigword Response

        March 8, 2018Press Coordinator

        Thank you for taking the time to leave this feedback. We value all feedback we receive and use this to inform improvements within the business. Kind regards, thebigword

      • "Good company for freelancers"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at thebigword

        Pros

        As a freelance you have the opportunity to choose when you want to work and for some jobs they actually train you.

        Cons

        Little chance to negotiate the pay rate, that sometimes happens for interpreters especially for languages that are commonly spoken, like Spanish.

        thebigword2018-02-28
      • Helpful (5)

        "Mismanaged"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
        Doesn't Recommend
        Positive Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at thebigword full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Interesting experience, learning to work with a global team

        Cons

        The management assuming they know better than everyone, constant turnover and random promotions/demotions/moves

        Advice to Management

        Trust your employees. Hire actual HR people. Work harder to keep talent, and pay them better so the turnover isn't abysmal.

        thebigword2017-11-12

        thebigword Response

        January 10, 2018Press Coordinator

        Thank you for taking the time to leave this feedback. We recognize the importance of exploring all feedback both positive and negative. This allows us to continuously develop and improve our place of work and the services that we provide. We’re a dynamic organisation and we’re ...

        Show More
      Found 204 reviews