KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

trivago

Is this your company?

trivago

Add a Review

trivago Reviews

Updated Jul 29, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 469 of over 573 reviews

3.9
80%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
trivago Managing Director and CEO Axel Hefer
Axel Hefer
61 Ratings
Pros
  • "It doesn't look like a regular job, since you have flexible working time, horizontal hierarchy and you're pushed to develop your own projects(in 50 reviews)

  • "A lot of people from all around the globe, relaxed working environment(in 38 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "low salary compared to standard(in 47 reviews)

  • "Some employees worked there for the wrong reasons; flexible hours, free beer etc(in 12 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      It's about all the people in company not only few people!

      Jan 27, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Family like company Employees are valued in the company Very dynamic and energetic people None or really low competition between employees! it's all about achieving the objectives all together as a team! Really good place to start your career

      Cons

      Too few people with good knowledge about how some parts of the company work Sometimes you need to ask people how something work instead of having a documentation

      38 people found this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Okay

      Feb 26, 2021 - Software QA Tester 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Coworkers were great and I learned a lot.

      Cons

      Leadership was lacking and a little toxic.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      trivago Response

      Social Media & Employer Branding

      Thanks for your review. It's great to hear you learned a lot! However, we're sorry to hear that you didn't have a positive experience with leadership – we hope you shared your feedback with the relevant parties internally in order for them to improve. All the best for your next venture wherever it led you :)

    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great

      Oct 30, 2020 - Executive Assistant in Cincinnati, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They are super kind and respectful.

      Cons

      There is a lot of democracy

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      trivago Response

      Social Media & Employer Branding

      Thanks for your positive feedback :) We do value feedback, especially from our talents and put in great effort to listen but also act on the feedback we receive. If you've ever given feedback that you feel hasn't been acknowledged, please let us know through our internal feedback tools or through your lead or mentor directly. Thank you!

    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Be a good monkey work for trivago

      Jun 2, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - free beer, cereals, milk, coffee and other small stuff - team events where you see your managers get drunk - one trip once a year where the whole company gets drunk - average age 25

      Cons

      - all the above benefits mean less salary for people while trivago pays less taxes - very inexperience middle managers that treat people like monkey - no way to move up because of older employees and flat hierarchy

      Continue reading
      87 people found this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Fun work environment allowing for chill lifestyle, not for security-seeking types

      Jan 16, 2015 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      • Young international colleagues. You will meet lots of smart, funny people from around the world and have fun working. • Relaxed, casual working environment in a modern office building providing excellent views • Perks like cereal, free beer, access to sports events for recreation, team events (a pro if you like team events) • This is ideal if you want to gain one year of work experience after your studies in a casual atmosphere while partying a lot

      Cons

      • A sense that everyone is so young and new at the company that it feels like people are just passing through and employees are easily replaceable. Few experienced, long-term employees. • Little job security - most employees are on one year contracts and eager to prove themselves so that it can be extended if they wish to stay longer. • Limited opportunity for mentoring by experienced professionals in your field. • Company values felt a little artificial/overblown

      20 people found this review helpful

      trivago Response

      Human resources

      Hey! Just wanted to update you on the new processes that are now in place thanks to your (and others) constructive feedback left on here. We believe in continually improving our product and our organization and see honest feedback as a great source of learning. At the time of this comment, we actually agreed with you on some points and so set about planning and implementing initiatives that would address some of these issues you raised, So here is our update ;) Due to the nature of our company, in the beginning we did hire a lot of interns as the skills we required were as new as the technology we were using and so it was very hard to find experienced people in certain fields. Due to this reason we hired a lot of interns who we decided we would train on the job. This internship culture also brought with it a high turnover rate. This could have been the reason for this "passing through" culture you mentioned or little job security feeling. Good news is that this internship approach is no longer a major part of our recruiting strategy and as of December 2015, only 3% of our talents had internship contracts. 87% of our talents are now on full contracts with a much broader range of experience levels :D Each year we have seen an increase in our retention rate and hope that this continues. I want to thank you for your honest feedback and want you to know that we will continue to work on these areas which you suggested could be improved. I know this response is over a year after your comment...but better late than never :D Hope you are doing well and enjoying life to the full in whichever part of the world you are now in! Hopefully somewhere sunnier than Düsseldorf ;) Cheers, Christine

    6. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Good ambiance, but far from being the best place to work at

      Jun 5, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The international team is one the main pros, as people from more than 60 nationalities work in the same place. There are a lot of events and opportunities to meet colleagues, so the mood in the office is good.

      Cons

      People in charge of some departments is not really taking care of their team and are not good at working together with other departments. Lot of people complain about things such as communication, bosses or events, but no one gives any idea to improve that or say anything when they have the chance (surveys, feedback meetings). Values are too ideallistic for the company (e.g. trust is the main value, but people dont feel safe to express a bad opinion about their bosses). Low salaries for a very big workload.

      Continue reading
      11 people found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great startup-culture company

      Aug 29, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Great benefits (drinks, food, parties) - Good workplace (technology used and accessories) - Flexibility on platform and technology usage

      Cons

      - Very bottom up culture which makes decision taking a long process

      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Team Development Lead

      Aug 14, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Horizontal opportunities Non-monetary benefits Flexible working hours Growth opportunities

      Cons

      Declining culture Hypocritical management Inexperienced workforce Low salaries

      11 people found this review helpful

      trivago Response

      Social Media & Employer Branding

      Thank you for sharing your feedback! We are really sorry you feel this way. I can see that you are a current employee and we of course do not want any of our talent to feel like that. I would really encourage you to voice your concerns i.e. hypocritical management to a trusted person within the company, your talent lead for instance. Also, do not hesitate to raise your concerns and suggestions on Office Vibe or through Slido during the trivago Fridays talk. We want to hear from you!

    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Gone downhill

      Aug 17, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly environment. Free snacks and drinks

      Cons

      Bosses sold out. Ever since going public the bottom fell out but I’m sure the influential people secured their futures.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful

      trivago Response

      Social Media & Employer Branding

      Thank you for your honesty. When we went public, our aim was and is still that nothing should change for our talents. We are sincerely sorry you that you felt the contrary. Even though the company is now public, besides some mandatory additional processes, our culture and values remain the same. We want to make sure that the talents who feel otherwise can voice their concerns through our different feedback channels. We wish your all the best wherever your next adventure took you!

    10. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      The are Behind the times....

      Jul 29, 2021 - Data Analyst in Düsseldorf
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good place to start out and learn the basics of your role

      Cons

      Options to learn but no time to do so. Very unorganized and the Product Owners are not properly on boarded so there causes so many meetings. Salary

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 469 Reviews

    Popular Careers with trivago Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at trivago? Share Your Experiences

    trivago logo
    or