uShip Reviews | Glassdoor

uShip Reviews

Updated Aug 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 78 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
uShip CEO Kris Lamb
Kris Lamb
0 Ratings
  1. "Great place to learn and have fun."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Full Stack Developer in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at uShip full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have fun every day I go into work, and constantly feel like I'm learning and growing. Every dev on the team has a passion for programming, and the company is constantly helping employees learn. Free lunches and snacks are great. Dogs all over the office. Awesome building to work in, and desk setups.

    Cons

    Some teams have more engaging projects than others, but the teams shift around near annually to keep things fresh.

    uShip2018-04-10
  2. Helpful (2)

    "My first real start up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at uShip full-time

    Pros

    Pretty good work life balance. Tend to hire talented developers.

    Cons

    Projects drift in the long term, sometimes into abandonment.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the company focus on what it does best, rather than chasing 5 or 6 different efforts.

    uShip2018-02-24
  3. "Highly recommended start-up!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at uShip full-time

    Pros

    Dog friendly, free lunch, great people!

    Cons

    None- I loved my time at uShip!

    uShip2018-02-03
  4. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at uShip full-time

    Pros

    I started at uShip when the company was about 75 people. Over my 4 years at the company, it more than tripled in size. Though the company went through the typical ups and downs, it was a great place to work.

    Cons

    The company went through a lot of growing pains, but that's to be expected.

    uShip2018-01-29
  5. Helpful (11)

    "Seems I dodged a sinking ship..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at uShip full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * Good bit of the developers are passionate, nice to work with and willing to learn. * Benefits were pretty good, although have declined the past few years. * Was able to swing "Unlimited PTO" to my benefit, results may vary though... * Frontend stack is very nice, thanks to efforts by a few key developers. * Company matured in terms of work/party events, so it's not as "fratty". * During my exit interviews, I...

    Show More

    Cons

    * An engineer I respected heavily was fired after I left, which baffles me. They had brought huge improvements to the company. * Developers being passed around like hot tomatoes. Literally was on 3 different teams during my last month or two. This makes for project focused development, not product development. Extremely inefficient because of the domain context switching, and technical debt that impedes that. * Backend...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I barely got to know the newer CEO, but he did seem to have a strong direction and was decisive. The CORE product is not easily understood/wrangled in by just any developer off the street. You will have problems with ramp up time, so stop treating the software like projects, and start treating it like products.

    uShip2018-01-25
  6. "Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at uShip full-time

    Pros

    Relaxed environment, free food, snacks

    Cons

    Product is not state of the art and can be tough to sell in an outbound environment.

    uShip2018-01-23
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Loved the company, not the Sales Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at uShip full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Catered lunch daily, monthly company events, fun coworkers

    Cons

    Bad management on the Sales Team, not enough commission or room to grow, boys club on Sales Team

    Advice to Management

    Hire more seasoned sales staff when it comes to management

    uShip2017-10-18
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Best Place I've Ever Worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Member Support Specialist in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at uShip for more than a year

    Pros

    Freedom to do your work the way you work best. Very collaborative, relaxed, group minded organization.

    Cons

    Make me too used to being responsible for my own motivation. Also, what will I do if I have to go back to buying my own lunches?

    uShip2017-07-24
  9. "Great Company to work for that is finally maturing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at uShip full-time

    Pros

    -Great company culture -Finally taking steps to evolve into a more mature company with clear vision

    Cons

    -Product roadmap has seen delays

    uShip2017-07-26
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Best Place I've Ever Worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at uShip full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Learning opportunities are huge - People care about software quality - Company is adopting new libraries and frameworks - Coworkers are nice - Lots of social events

    Cons

    - Can have a very "frat house" feel - Some coworkers don't pull their weight - Middle management structure is strange - Managers are starting to own planning and processes that used to be at the team's discretion

    Advice to Management

    Re-think your middle management structure. Trust your engineers, PMs, and scrum masters. There are very talented people at uShip who would be a huge asset on their product teams if given technical freedom and process authority to create their products.

    uShip2017-05-08
Found 78 reviews