uShip Reviews | Glassdoor

uShip Reviews

Updated Aug 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 78 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
uShip CEO Kris Lamb
Kris Lamb
0 Ratings
  1. "I think this is the best place to work in Austin."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at uShip full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I love coming to work every day. Smart people and good lunches. My boss cares about my career growth. I would highly recommend.

    Cons

    Work/life balance can be difficult depending on your position.

    uShip2017-05-04
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Growing pains with transition from start-up to established company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at uShip full-time

    Pros

    Relaxed environment. Co-workers enjoy hanging out with each other. Smart people.

    Cons

    The company's goals and focus changes from year-to-year. There is not a consistent long term plan. Also, original fun culture is not sustainable as the company gets bigger.

    Advice to Management

    With the new dev leadership, there is a trend for more micro-managing. The leadership needs to trust there developers more.

    uShip2017-04-23
  3. "Systems Administrator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at uShip

    Pros

    Employee and staff are great

    Cons

    Benefit a bit low compare to others

    Advice to Management

    n/a

    uShip2017-02-28
  4. "uShip is an awesome FIRST internship experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at uShip

    Pros

    The. Company. Culture. I love all the people at uShip and I think the company is heading is a very positive direction in every way.

    Cons

    The database is very old, and you end up having to work in a lot of old, poorly structured visual basic. The boyscout rule constantly applies here.

    Advice to Management

    Make a higher initiative to clean up the codebase and produce higher quality code!

    uShip2017-02-10
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work for college kids"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Specialist in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at uShip full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Relaxed environment, dog friendly, free food

    Cons

    Very immature crowd, college kids, not alot of people with experience

    Advice to Management

    Stop saying your a start up, so you don't have to pay people with actual experience their worth

    uShip2016-12-23
  6. "Awesome company to be a part of."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Generalist in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at uShip full-time

    Pros

    Management has made a lot of changes and has done a great job at taking care of their employees and their customers. Coming from a much larger company to uShip, it's great that despite the growth there is still a work/life balance and an overall family atmosphere. Some of the core values I see here are honesty, hard work and having a positive attitude. Employees who display these are the ones who will go far here.

    Cons

    No company is perfect and uShip is not immune to growing pains. It's not a bad problem but simply one all rapidly growing companies faces.

    uShip2016-12-13
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Sales is a complete waste of time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at uShip full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    First Fridays, free lunch and casual attire.

    Cons

    One of the lowest paying sales jobs in Austin selling a horrible product. When this issue was brought up to management it was ignored but then they act shocked when people leave for better sales roles. If you want to be micromanaged and not respected then this is the perfect department for you. There are shady things going on constantly and then handled in an even more shady way by HR. There is absolutely no room for...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    My advice would be to listen to your employees. Some people in management roles are ruining the culture that uShip prides itself on. Don't focus so much on specific departments and not others. It makes for isolation and departments feeling unvalued.

    uShip2016-12-05
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at uShip for more than a year

    Pros

    Loved it! Great culture and loved free lunches!

    Cons

    Management in Sales department was terrible

    uShip2016-11-05
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Subcontractor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at uShip for more than a year

    Pros

    Well-known big website, has name-recognition, general public likely to use it. Clearly modelled after the very reputable eBay.com, similar features. Promoted on eBay. Promoted by TV drama also.

    Cons

    Authoritarian. Monopolist. Unjust. Harsh. Unforgiving. Needs to look in the mirror and realize it should not profit from consumers and providers unless its conduct is ethical, directly or otherwise.

    Advice to Management

    My impression from interactions as a subcontractor/service provider and 2 times as consumer is that uShip.com has a corporate personality disorder. Juvenile corporate culture of free lunches and booze seems like this frat party needs a reality check. Quit trying to be cool/hip/trendy or whatever and think about how your conduct is or is not ethical, vis-a-vis vetting of providers, unforgiving/mechanical knee-jerk suspensions...

    Show More
    uShip2016-11-29
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Be!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at uShip

    Pros

    Lots of growth. Commitment to enhancing the product will accelerate all aspects of the company. Strong Sr. Management has lead the charge to make this a great company both financially and culturally. The job perks are amazing. The new office will set this company up for success for years to come.

    Cons

    Some departments are great, some have their proverbial head stuck up in places where they can't see or hear their employee's complaints. It makes people's experience very different when talking about their overall happiness. However the important departments are the ones that are happy, and I would recommend anybody joining as everything is trending up.

    Advice to Management

    Promote and keep the good people, weed out the cancerous upper level management that stifles potential.

    uShip2016-10-12
Found 78 reviews