uShip Reviews | Glassdoor

uShip Reviews

Updated Aug 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 71 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
uShip CEO Kris Lamb
Kris Lamb
1 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Best Place I've Ever Worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at uShip full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Learning opportunities are huge - People care about software quality - Company is adopting new libraries and frameworks - Coworkers are nice - Lots of social events

    Cons

    - Can have a very "frat house" feel - Some coworkers don't pull their weight - Middle management structure is strange - Managers are starting to own planning and processes that used to be at the team's discretion

    Advice to Management

    Re-think your middle management structure. Trust your engineers, PMs, and scrum masters. There are very talented people at uShip who would be a huge asset on their product teams if given technical freedom and process authority to create their products.

    uShip2017-05-08
  2. "I think this is the best place to work in Austin."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at uShip full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I love coming to work every day. Smart people and good lunches. My boss cares about my career growth. I would highly recommend.

    Cons

    Work/life balance can be difficult depending on your position.

    uShip2017-05-04
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Growing pains with transition from start-up to established company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at uShip full-time

    Pros

    Relaxed environment. Co-workers enjoy hanging out with each other. Smart people.

    Cons

    The company's goals and focus changes from year-to-year. There is not a consistent long term plan. Also, original fun culture is not sustainable as the company gets bigger.

    Advice to Management

    With the new dev leadership, there is a trend for more micro-managing. The leadership needs to trust there developers more.

    uShip2017-04-23
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work for college kids"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Specialist in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at uShip full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Relaxed environment, dog friendly, free food

    Cons

    Very immature crowd, college kids, not alot of people with experience

    Advice to Management

    Stop saying your a start up, so you don't have to pay people with actual experience their worth

    uShip2016-12-23
  5. "Awesome company to be a part of."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Generalist in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at uShip full-time

    Pros

    Management has made a lot of changes and has done a great job at taking care of their employees and their customers. Coming from a much larger company to uShip, it's great that despite the growth there is still a work/life balance and an overall family atmosphere. Some of the core values I see here are honesty, hard work and having a positive attitude. Employees who display these are the ones who will go far here.

    Cons

    No company is perfect and uShip is not immune to growing pains. It's not a bad problem but simply one all rapidly growing companies faces.

    uShip2016-12-13
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Sales is a complete waste of time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at uShip full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    First Fridays, free lunch and casual attire.

    Cons

    One of the lowest paying sales jobs in Austin selling a horrible product. When this issue was brought up to management it was ignored but then they act shocked when people leave for better sales roles. If you want to be micromanaged and not respected then this is the perfect department for you. There are shady things going on constantly and then handled in an even more shady way by HR. There is absolutely no room... for growth despite implementing a makeshift bandaid "promotion track". The environment is extremely toxic and you'll leave work miserable daily. There are daily meetings that are an absolute joke and complete waste of time. All it is is the managers on a soapbox talking to hear themselves speak and demean the team. They'll also hire anyone with a pulse because turnover is so bad. So be prepared to be frustrated working with people who had no business getting hired in the first place. When you leave uShip you will feel like you have completely wasted your time and learned nothing all while having been beaten down by management.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    My advice would be to listen to your employees. Some people in management roles are ruining the culture that uShip prides itself on. Don't focus so much on specific departments and not others. It makes for isolation and departments feeling unvalued.

    uShip2016-12-05
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Account Executive in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at uShip for more than a year

    Pros

    Loved it! Great culture and loved free lunches!

    Cons

    Management in Sales department was terrible

    uShip2016-11-05
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Be!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at uShip

    Pros

    Lots of growth. Commitment to enhancing the product will accelerate all aspects of the company. Strong Sr. Management has lead the charge to make this a great company both financially and culturally. The job perks are amazing. The new office will set this company up for success for years to come.

    Cons

    Some departments are great, some have their proverbial head stuck up in places where they can't see or hear their employee's complaints. It makes people's experience very different when talking about their overall happiness. However the important departments are the ones that are happy, and I would recommend anybody joining as everything is trending up.

    Advice to Management

    Promote and keep the good people, weed out the cancerous upper level management that stifles potential.

    uShip2016-10-12
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at uShip

    Pros

    Cool company and (majority) great coworkers

    Cons

    Focusing too hard on being a "cool company." I don't want to see my managers and directors drunk when I could know that work is being done to grow our company.

    Advice to Management

    In all of these hands on and theatrical meetings, break it down and actually speak to your teams and not at them. See how their team is doing. Learn from them how to make the product better.

    uShip2016-10-11
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Awesome culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Carrollton, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at uShip full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The culture is fun and full of weekly/monthly activities. It's largely a young office and energetic. It's located in the heart of downtown Austin. Oh, and you can bring your dogs to work.

    Cons

    A lack of appreciation for some employees. Some questionable things go on in and out of the office, but there seems to be no real consequences for it. It's swept under the rug because they 'work hard, play hard.'

    uShip2016-10-18
Found 71 reviews