uShip Software Developer Reviews | Glassdoor

uShip Software Developer Reviews

Updated Jan 25, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 8 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
uShip CEO Kris Lamb
Kris Lamb
0 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company To Work For With Plenty of Room To Grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer II in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at uShip full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free lunches, doing things as a company on the first Friday of every month, Nerds Rock SXSW Party, Casual Dress

    Cons

    Office space is tight as we are growing and waiting on our new building to be ready for us to move into.

    Advice to Management

    At this point in time I feel that management has really synced up on their missions and goals and it's evident through the growth and drive of the company.

    uShip2016-03-16
  2. Helpful (11)

    "Seems I dodged a sinking ship..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at uShip full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * Good bit of the developers are passionate, nice to work with and willing to learn. * Benefits were pretty good, although have declined the past few years. * Was able to swing "Unlimited PTO" to my benefit, results may vary though... * Frontend stack is very nice, thanks to efforts by a few key developers. * Company matured in terms of work/party events, so it's not as "fratty". * During my exit interviews, I...

    Show More

    Cons

    * An engineer I respected heavily was fired after I left, which baffles me. They had brought huge improvements to the company. * Developers being passed around like hot tomatoes. Literally was on 3 different teams during my last month or two. This makes for project focused development, not product development. Extremely inefficient because of the domain context switching, and technical debt that impedes that. * Backend...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I barely got to know the newer CEO, but he did seem to have a strong direction and was decisive. The CORE product is not easily understood/wrangled in by just any developer off the street. You will have problems with ramp up time, so stop treating the software like projects, and start treating it like products.

    uShip2018-01-25
  3. Helpful (9)

    "fantastic place to work, typical young company problems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at uShip full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The day-to-day experience of working at uShip is wonderful, and the work-life balance is beyond reproach. As of late 2015 management seems intent on iterating on a small number of critical projects. Time will tell if that is a lasting change, but so far the focus is welcome, and makes daily work more rewarding and less arbitrary.

    Cons

    The company's direction was vague in the past, projects seemed haphazard, and real iteration on products happened rarely. But management changes during 2015 (both attitude and personnel) seem to have refocused the company on streamlining and polishing the business. Having the company split between two offices endangers the company's culture and makes building and maintaining rapport with an ever-growing staff difficult.

    Advice to Management

    Your employees want the opportunity to iterate and deliver great, polished work way more than they want free beer.

    uShip2016-01-19
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Real experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer Intern in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at uShip for less than a year

    Pros

    As an intern, you're integrated into the dev teams and actually work on REAL projects for the website. I guarantee that you won't finish the summer without being able to point at at least 5 different aspects across different main features of the site and say "I made that."

    Cons

    Some Fridays you don't really have any work to do (everybody kinda shuts down after lunch), but then again you don't really want to have to deal with the possibility of bringing down the website after pushing up an erroneous changeset. The only other kinda downer is the low salary.

    Advice to Management

    My suggestion would be to possibly not spend too much time in sprint planning and/or review. I feel like a little too much of our work time was consumed by this.

    uShip2015-10-14
  5. "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at uShip for less than a year

    Pros

    Really funny, learn a lot

    Cons

    Low pay, a lot of the site has a bad ux and slow to fix

    uShip2014-08-19
  6. "As an intern I learned a lot and had a very fun summer!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at uShip for less than a year

    Pros

    Lunch every day, snacks (ice cream!), casual dress, company trips, very friendly people, and lots to learn. As an intern I was put on a real team doing actual work on the website. It was a very rewarding experience.

    Cons

    You can get easily distracted there. It is fun but sometimes if you are in the middle of something it can be frustrating. Another problem was that our project specs changed at the will of the stakeholders even if we had already spend a good deal of time working on it.

    Advice to Management

    Don't make major changes to a product in the middle of development.

    uShip2013-08-05
  7. "Austin's tech culture at its best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at uShip full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    uShip is a fun, fast growing that highly values all its employees and it shows. The company definitely knows how to have a good time and there are many team building/culture events. That said, you are expected to work hard and the hiring standard is high, which is great. You will be giving the opportunity to make meaningful changes to the company right away. I would wholeheartedly recommend this company to...

    Show More

    Cons

    No complaints. Love this place.

    Advice to Management

    Keep showing your employees that they are appreciated and keep the culture.

    uShip2013-03-20
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Best place to work for, especially development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at uShip full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Not your typical 9-5 job. Agile, and very very fast paced environment. No place for slackers. Tremendous opportunity to express your point of view. Mostly internal deadlines, emphasis placed on quality than deadlines. Good stocks. I don't know about others, but my boss is the BEST. Coding lunch and learns, where developers come up with various topics every week. BEER. Free lunch, and company outings. Unlimited...

    Show More

    Cons

    I dont like the company being in downtown. (This is a pro for most people) The reason is that I hate sitting in traffic and paying for parking(which is subsidized, but I would rather park for free)

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. Keep the talent you have, it's very hard to acquire and very easy to loose

    uShip2013-01-25
Found 8 reviews