uShip "free lunch" Reviews | Glassdoor

uShip Employee Reviews about "free lunch"

Updated Aug 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 78 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
uShip CEO Kris Lamb
Kris Lamb
0 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free lunch and dogs are welcome(in 14 reviews)

  • "I started at uShip when the company was about 75 people(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "Because uShip is an older tech company, sometimes the limitations of the tech stack can be frustrating(in 10 reviews)

  • "Can have a very "frat house" feel(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "free lunch"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Great people working together to disrupt the transportation industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at uShip full-time

    Pros

    *This company lives by its core values - we pride ourselves in growing each other, making our products better and truly making the lives of our customers better. *Working with smart, driven people who care. This is not a place where people coast, it's a place where you can make your career and grow yourself personally and professionally. I really like the leadership training courses and availability of LinkedIn Learning...

    Show More

    Cons

    *Because uShip is an older tech company, sometimes the limitations of the tech stack can be frustrating. Though, there has been massive positive change in this area and things are really getting better.

    Advice to Management

    Keep living by the core values and holding employees to a higher bar than yesterday. The momentum is strong and it's an exciting time to be a uShipper.

    uShip2019-05-13
  2. Helpful (5)

    "OK place to work after college"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Developer in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at uShip full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free lunch and dogs are welcome

    Cons

    It's a Frat House and I want more money not snacks

    uShip2019-05-15
  3. "Great place to learn and have fun."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Full Stack Developer in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at uShip full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have fun every day I go into work, and constantly feel like I'm learning and growing. Every dev on the team has a passion for programming, and the company is constantly helping employees learn. Free lunches and snacks are great. Dogs all over the office. Awesome building to work in, and desk setups.

    Cons

    Some teams have more engaging projects than others, but the teams shift around near annually to keep things fresh.

    uShip2018-04-10
  4. "Highly recommended start-up!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at uShip full-time

    Pros

    Dog friendly, free lunch, great people!

    Cons

    None- I loved my time at uShip!

    uShip2018-02-03
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Sales is a complete waste of time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at uShip full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    First Fridays, free lunch and casual attire.

    Cons

    One of the lowest paying sales jobs in Austin selling a horrible product. When this issue was brought up to management it was ignored but then they act shocked when people leave for better sales roles. If you want to be micromanaged and not respected then this is the perfect department for you. There are shady things going on constantly and then handled in an even more shady way by HR. There is absolutely no room for...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    My advice would be to listen to your employees. Some people in management roles are ruining the culture that uShip prides itself on. Don't focus so much on specific departments and not others. It makes for isolation and departments feeling unvalued.

    uShip2016-12-05
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at uShip for more than a year

    Pros

    Loved it! Great culture and loved free lunches!

    Cons

    Management in Sales department was terrible

    uShip2016-11-05
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company To Work For With Plenty of Room To Grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer II in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at uShip full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free lunches, doing things as a company on the first Friday of every month, Nerds Rock SXSW Party, Casual Dress

    Cons

    Office space is tight as we are growing and waiting on our new building to be ready for us to move into.

    Advice to Management

    At this point in time I feel that management has really synced up on their missions and goals and it's evident through the growth and drive of the company.

    uShip2016-03-16
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Incredible Culture, Unparalleled Talent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at uShip

    Pros

    - incredibly talented team - truly unique & awesome culture - quick to identify problems and begin fixing them (from code to team dynamics) - unparalleled development process, from their technical implementation to their agile development process - pragmatic approach to solving problems - Opportunity to move within the company (a QA Analyst became a Junior DBA, a Customer Service team member became a QA Analyst)...

    Show More

    Cons

    - Lack of focus (when I worked there, I've been told this is in a much better state now) - People forget how good they have it (trust me, I left and the grass was definitely not greener on the other side)

    Advice to Management

    - Continue what you're doing (I've heard good things) - Focus - Work as a team - Listen to your people, you didn't hire them to tell them what to do

    uShip2015-06-24
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Best start-up to work for in Austin!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at uShip

    Pros

    Free lunch, ping-pong, keg-orator.... and all the other perks you would expect at an Austin start-up. Unique because it is in a huge industry but most tech start-up haven't considered trucking/logistics "sexy" enough to enter.

    Cons

    Initially had trouble focusing on best growth opportunities, but management seems to have matured and no longer chases next shiny object

    Advice to Management

    uShip is 10 years a head of the competition, but it also has some of the smartest/hardest working employees ... so never get satisfied with status quo.... uShip has potential to become industry leader over next 10 years.

    uShip2015-03-23
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Best internship I could've asked for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Web Developer in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at uShip for less than a year

    Pros

    uShip is so welcoming with very knowledgable people who love being asked any and all questions. I was placed on a team with full time employees and was able to participate in the real work that goes on at the company, so real world experience!! Not to mention the free lunch, the video games, the snacks, and the awesome awesome people.

    Cons

    All the fun can be distracting at times (is this really a con??). There were very few girls working as developers which was a little troubling to me.

    uShip2014-04-05
Found 78 reviews