uShip "uship" Reviews | Glassdoor

uShip Employee Reviews about "uship"

Updated Aug 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 78 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
uShip CEO Kris Lamb
Kris Lamb
0 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free lunch and dogs are welcome(in 14 reviews)

  • "I started at uShip when the company was about 75 people(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "Because uShip is an older tech company, sometimes the limitations of the tech stack can be frustrating(in 10 reviews)

  • "Can have a very "frat house" feel(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "uship"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Great people working together to disrupt the transportation industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at uShip full-time

    Pros

    *This company lives by its core values - we pride ourselves in growing each other, making our products better and truly making the lives of our customers better. *Working with smart, driven people who care. This is not a place where people coast, it's a place where you can make your career and grow yourself personally and professionally. I really like the leadership training courses and availability of LinkedIn Learning...

    Show More

    Cons

    *Because uShip is an older tech company, sometimes the limitations of the tech stack can be frustrating. Though, there has been massive positive change in this area and things are really getting better.

    Advice to Management

    Keep living by the core values and holding employees to a higher bar than yesterday. The momentum is strong and it's an exciting time to be a uShipper.

    uShip2019-05-13
  2. Helpful (10)

    "Mysogony is alive and well."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at uShip full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lunch and dogs are cool.

    Cons

    Front and foremost, majority of the employees don’t even believe in the product. Leadership has no clear objective or even vision for what to do with the product. It was exhausting working for a company that didn’t have a roadmap and is just trying to float on outside investments while dogging on the investors and customers. To pile on top of the exhaustion that is uShip’s...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I don’t have any advice. uShip is a sinking ship and they all know it.

    uShip2018-10-17
  3. "Highly recommended start-up!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at uShip full-time

    Pros

    Dog friendly, free lunch, great people!

    Cons

    None- I loved my time at uShip!

    uShip2018-02-03
  4. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at uShip full-time

    Pros

    I started at uShip when the company was about 75 people. Over my 4 years at the company, it more than tripled in size. Though the company went through the typical ups and downs, it was a great place to work.

    Cons

    The company went through a lot of growing pains, but that's to be expected.

    uShip2018-01-29
  5. "uShip is an awesome FIRST internship experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at uShip

    Pros

    The. Company. Culture. I love all the people at uShip and I think the company is heading is a very positive direction in every way.

    Cons

    The database is very old, and you end up having to work in a lot of old, poorly structured visual basic. The boyscout rule constantly applies here.

    Advice to Management

    Make a higher initiative to clean up the codebase and produce higher quality code!

    uShip2017-02-10
  6. "Awesome company to be a part of."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Generalist in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at uShip full-time

    Pros

    Management has made a lot of changes and has done a great job at taking care of their employees and their customers. Coming from a much larger company to uShip, it's great that despite the growth there is still a work/life balance and an overall family atmosphere. Some of the core values I see here are honesty, hard work and having a positive attitude. Employees who display these are the ones who will go far here.

    Cons

    No company is perfect and uShip is not immune to growing pains. It's not a bad problem but simply one all rapidly growing companies faces.

    uShip2016-12-13
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Sales is a complete waste of time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at uShip full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    First Fridays, free lunch and casual attire.

    Cons

    One of the lowest paying sales jobs in Austin selling a horrible product. When this issue was brought up to management it was ignored but then they act shocked when people leave for better sales roles. If you want to be micromanaged and not respected then this is the perfect department for you. There are shady things going on constantly and then handled in an even more shady way by HR. There is absolutely no room for...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    My advice would be to listen to your employees. Some people in management roles are ruining the culture that uShip prides itself on. Don't focus so much on specific departments and not others. It makes for isolation and departments feeling unvalued.

    uShip2016-12-05
  8. "Awesome Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fraud Analyst in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at uShip full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great perks such as full time chefs cooking breakfast and lunch. A pantry that rivals that of the isles of HEB. Little scooters to get around the office. I worked at the old office on Red River and we had open cubes and the food downstairs. The second floor was a chill out game area with shuffle board, Xbox, PS3, guitar area with amp, ping pong table that turned into a beer pong table on Fridays when uShip would order...

    Show More

    Cons

    I was a Temp worker. I was only there 1.5months. But in the time I was there, I wasn't too keen that my boss was not more interactive in our team. But who am I to say. I was there a month. I wish my contract had run longer - I had potential there.

    Advice to Management

    None

    uShip2016-04-17
  9. Helpful (9)

    "fantastic place to work, typical young company problems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at uShip full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The day-to-day experience of working at uShip is wonderful, and the work-life balance is beyond reproach. As of late 2015 management seems intent on iterating on a small number of critical projects. Time will tell if that is a lasting change, but so far the focus is welcome, and makes daily work more rewarding and less arbitrary.

    Cons

    The company's direction was vague in the past, projects seemed haphazard, and real iteration on products happened rarely. But management changes during 2015 (both attitude and personnel) seem to have refocused the company on streamlining and polishing the business. Having the company split between two offices endangers the company's culture and makes building and maintaining rapport with an ever-growing staff difficult.

    Advice to Management

    Your employees want the opportunity to iterate and deliver great, polished work way more than they want free beer.

    uShip2016-01-19
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to Learn and grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at uShip full-time

    Pros

    uShip is a great place to learn and grow. If you are willing to ask and go after what you want you will always be challenged and presented with new opportunities. Work hard, play hard culture allows you to be focused when you need and a good avenue to let off steam and get to know some of Austin's brightest. People who deliver and go above and beyond are competitively rewarded.

    Cons

    If you are not a self starter and internally motivated this probably isn't the place for you. uShip has grown fast at times and training and culture has changed.

    Advice to Management

    Figure out a way to let more tenured people out (liquidating their stock) providing and opportunity for up and comers to grow and succeed. Improve communication from the top down. Set, communicate and follow through on goals. Consolidation to one location is going to be a big help.

    uShip2015-06-28
Found 78 reviews