vIPtela Reviews | Glassdoor

vIPtela Reviews

Updated Aug 9, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 18 reviews

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
87%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Amir Khan
13 Ratings
  1. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at vIPtela full-time

    Pros

    Great product. Fast paced environment. Big market

    Cons

    Growing extremely fast and need to focus on real customers

    vIPtela2018-08-09
  2. "Fast-paced, solid product, talented and experienced engineers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at vIPtela full-time

    Pros

    - Was a small company when I worked there, could easily talk to dev, testing, and other teams. - Management kept everyone motivated

    Cons

    - Be expected to hit the ground running fast, but this is the case with many startups

    vIPtela2018-06-26
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Sold down the river to Cisco"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at vIPtela for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Was a great place to work and producing a great product that was changing the market.

    Cons

    Sold out to Cisco with almost all of the proceeds going to a few people, the founders and the CEO and his friends who had been with the company (from Cisco) for a grand total of 5 months.

    Advice to Management

    Please give my share of the proceeds to a good cause somewhere somehow. Hope you can sleep at night.

    vIPtela2017-08-31
  4. "alright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at vIPtela

      Pros

      Some very good, solid engineers

      Cons

      Crazy politics. Got aquired by Cisco

      vIPtela2017-06-21
    • Helpful (2)

      "Lots of potential, needs some work..."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at vIPtela full-time

      Pros

      Exceptional product with an enormous amount of potential to hit it big. Really gaining traction in the marketplace among customer and analysts.

      Cons

      EVERYONE is talking about each other behind their backs. Good luck trust anyone, ever. Constructive criticism is not accepted. Many people who have been at the company since the beginning have a difficult time operating in a new era of business for the company, or letting people do the jobs they're hired to do.

      Advice to Management

      Stop micromanaging and believing your own made up delusions. Hire people who have experience and know what they're doing in their prospective roles.

      vIPtela2017-02-06
    • Helpful (10)

      "Fast paced and explosive growth"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Jose, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at vIPtela full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great to see growth in customers every month Variety of areas to work on - infrastructure to cloud Free food

      Cons

      Lack of processes required for the growth Internal conflicts due to a few players

      Advice to Management

      Take time to set growth goals all the way down to the individual employee

      vIPtela2016-11-14
    • Helpful (8)

      "High Growth, Fast Moving"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Jose, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at vIPtela full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      This company is positioned to really take the market. They have an opportunity to dominate with this next year. You are empowered to put things in place that are needed for result driven business goals.

      Cons

      Everything is moving very fast with huge opportunities tied to all decisions - this creates a lot of urgency and pressure. If you are not the type of person that can handle a culture focused on business needs, this is probably not the right fit.

      Advice to Management

      Keep hiring people that are over-qualified and do not promote people up or into positions that they are not an expert in...

      vIPtela2016-11-14
    • "Solid Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Systems Engineer in San Jose, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at vIPtela full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      A lot of great talent in the company. Upward trajectory with a very great solution that customers have deployed en masse and evangelize. Work environment is great and everyone is working towards a common goal. Best benefits I've ever seen.

      Cons

      None that I can think of

      Advice to Management

      Privilege of working with some great experienced leaders.

      vIPtela2016-12-10
    • Helpful (3)

      "Fantastic Place to Work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Director in San Jose, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at vIPtela full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      - Best product in the industry - Product is redefining the networking industry - The employees are very smart, diverse and nice people - The management are very nice and open people - Some of the industry's smartest are at Viptela. You see the best of breed in the networking industry - You are empowered to do your own job. There is no micromanagement. Big ego, bully managers don't exist at Viptela - Lunches are...

      Show More

      Cons

      - It is a start-up so nothing is guaranteed. - It is a start-up so most people in my department work longer hours and I do to. But I knew that was what I was signing up for, so no problem there. - A small minority of employees are overly negative because, in my mind, they're young, don't know how good they have it, and they're overconfident they could run the company themselves.

      Advice to Management

      Be more authoritative with helping people who have negative attitudes move along.

      vIPtela2016-11-15
    • Helpful (5)

      "Great Place"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at vIPtela full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great Company to work for

      Cons

      None that I know of

      vIPtela2016-10-24
    Found 18 reviews