wagamama Line Chef Reviews | Glassdoor

wagamama Line Chef Reviews

Updated Jan 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
82%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
wagamama Chief Executive Officer Emma Woods
Emma Woods
3 Ratings
  1. "Good place but be prepared to work hard!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Line Chef in Plymouth, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at wagamama part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great working culture. Immigrants friendly. Managers are flexible and friendly. Good trainings. Good pay. Open-minded hiring policy.

    Cons

    Be prepared for finishing late and working long hours.

    wagamama2020-01-17

    wagamama Response

    January 18, 2020

    hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave your 4* review. we really appreciate your pros + we're delighted to see that you have a positive outlook + that you ultimately enjoy your work we also completely appreciate your 'cons' + we'll be sure to make a note of your comments thanks again! wagamama recruitment team

    Continue reading
  2. "A fair entry level job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Line Chef in Plymouth, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at wagamama full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Networking, quick progress, close relationship with management

    Cons

    Long shifts, hard job, dangerous for hour health in the long term.

    wagamama2020-01-10

    wagamama Response

    January 13, 2020

    hi there, thank you for your review! we're very glad to see you'd recommend the job + that you have a positive outlook! your pros are amazing to read but we're a little concerned to see the cons you have included in your review. to allow us to take a look into these a little further, would you mind please taking a moment to send some further information to hrqueries@wagamama.com? hope to hear from you soon wagamama recruitment team :)

    Continue reading
  3. "Great enployer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Line Chef in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at wagamama full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Senior staff that listens. Great food. Good working atmosphere. Friendly colleague.

    Cons

    Sometimes it is short staffed. Shift that is suppposed to end at 10 but ends at 2am, then will be back at 8am . Some colleagues prefers to chat that delays the work (closing).

    Continue reading
    wagamama2019-11-16

    wagamama Response

    November 16, 2019

    hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave your honest 4 star review of your present experience working for wagamama uk. it's fantastic to hear that you're happy with the friendly working atmosphere + supportive management team. we completely appreciate you being openly honest about your cons too + we'll be sure to feed these back for future consideration thanks again! all the best wagamama recruitment team :)

    Continue reading
  4. "Informing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Line Chef in Norwich, England

    I have been working at wagamama full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Always quality food and help from other.

    Cons

    Bad management and every time not enough chefs.

    wagamama2019-11-11

    wagamama Response

    November 12, 2019

    hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave us this review! it's great to hear that you enjoy working with us + the support that you receive from the team. we do appreciate you leaving us this feedback about the not so positive comments, we would like to take a further look into this, please can you leave us more details here - hrqueries@wagamama.com? thank you wagamama recruitment team

    Continue reading
  5. "Good entry into a kitchen"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Line Chef 

    I have been working at wagamama full-time

    Pros

    Flexible hours, good atmosphere, clear progression

    Cons

    Very stressful at times, late hours

    wagamama2019-11-18

    wagamama Response

    November 20, 2019

    hi there, thanks for taking the time to leave your review! it's brilliant to hear that you enjoy working with us + that we have a great atmosphere! we're always looking at ways to improve + would love to hear more from you. if you would like to leave some details here, you can send us an email to - hrqueries@wagamama.com wagamama recruitment team

    Continue reading
  6. "Lack of Honesty and Communication"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Line Chef in York, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at wagamama part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The training and support is good There are free meals on some shifts

    Cons

    The management is not honest about hours They hire you for a 20h contract and make you work 40h, with split shifts A lot of overtime Lack of honesty and communication about payslips and contracts

    Continue reading
    wagamama2019-11-12

    wagamama Response

    November 14, 2019

    hi there, thank you for taking the time to be open + honest with us in your review. we'd really like to hear more about the negative aspects of your review in reference to the shift patterns and communication - this will help us work towards improving things moving forward if you have the spare time, please could you send some further details to hrqueries@wagamama.com? wagamama recruitment team

    Continue reading
  7. "Fantastic company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Line Chef in Manchester, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at wagamama full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free food on shift (allowance based on hours worked) Clean chef whites and apron on shift Great staff app Cycle to work scheme

    Cons

    Management can sometimes be a bit unclear

    wagamama2019-10-15

    wagamama Response

    October 15, 2019

    hey! thanks so much for taking the time to leave us such a great review + we're so happy to hear that you are loving being part of the wagamama family :) we hope you continue to enjoy your journey with us wagamama recruitment team :)

    Continue reading
  8. "Fantastic place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Line Chef in Bridgend, Wales

    I have been working at wagamama full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free food and great discounts Friendly staff excellent management.

    Cons

    None can't fault the company

    Continue reading
    wagamama2019-08-06

    wagamama Response

    August 6, 2019

    hey there! thanks so much for taking the time to leave your review + for sharing your experience so far! it's fantastic to see you're loving being part of the family + that you have such a great team around you as you know, we pride ourselves on having a positive ethos + we love that you are part of it wagamama recruitment team

    Continue reading
  9. "Lack support from the Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Line Chef in Basingstoke, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at wagamama full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great atmosphere, friendly FOH staff

    Cons

    Very rude senior sous chef

    Continue reading
    wagamama2018-12-09

    wagamama Response

    December 14, 2018

    thanks for taking the time to share your review. we would like to learn more about your experience as part of the team, would you mind sending some additional information over to hrqueries@wagamama.com? thank you

    Continue reading
  10. "Line Chef position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Line Chef in Manchester, England

    I worked at wagamama for more than a year

    Pros

    Depending the brunch you might have a very good work environment. Love for cooking.

    Cons

    Too many hours usually cause there's always not enough staff.Too much hussle in the kitchen while front of house is getting all the tips.

    wagamama2018-09-28

    wagamama Response

    September 28, 2018

    thanks for the review, we really appreciate all of your feedback. if you would like to comment further, you can do so at the following: hrqueries@wagamama.com

    Continue reading
Found 28 reviews