wagamama Server Reviews | Glassdoor

wagamama Server Reviews

Updated Mar 5, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
76%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
wagamama Chief Executive Officer Emma Woods
Emma Woods
2 Ratings
  1. "More than a great opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at wagamama full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -You can be yourself -Serve great food -Support/room for growth Great culture , great values Get to work with great people! I noticed not just myself but many other employees are proud to work for the company!

    Cons

    There are no cons working for Wagamama.

    Continue reading
    wagamama2018-12-25

    wagamama Response

    December 27, 2018

    hey! thanks so much for sharing your thoughts with us, we really appreciate it! it’s great to hear you are enjoying yourself in the wagamama family + are proud to be part of it. we wish you all the best with your journey! wagamama recruitment team :)

    Continue reading
  2. "Food industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - "Server" 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at wagamama full-time

    Pros

    Great pay, very efficient staff, staff is for the most part friendly.

    Cons

    Very demanding, stressful, it can be a hard service industry job.

    wagamama2019-07-30

    wagamama Response

    July 30, 2019

    hi it's brilliant to hear that you enjoyed being part of the family during your time with us + you found it a positive experience overall all we're always looking at ways in which we can make improvements + are continuously exploring ways in which we can do so. if you'd like to provide any information regarding your experience to help us with this, please send some more information over to hrqueries@wagamama.com thanks very much for sharing wagamama recruitment team

    Continue reading
  3. "Fun working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Food Server in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at wagamama full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun work environment, friendly staff

    Cons

    dealing with upset customers often

    wagamama2019-07-10

    wagamama Response

    July 11, 2019

    hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. we are pleased to hear you enjoy your time with us overall. we really appreciate your feedback + we'd like to wish you all the best with your journey wagamama recruitment team

    Continue reading
  4. "overworked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at wagamama full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Liked my coworkers a lot

    Cons

    Favoritism, no structure, would often go on break after coworkers who had arrived later than me

    Continue reading
    wagamama2019-04-16

    wagamama Response

    April 17, 2019

    hi there, thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience while we never like to hear that we haven't given a brilliant experience - it's really important to us that we gather this information so we can do everything we can to learn + improve please can you take a moment to leave some more feedback here - hrqueries@wagamama.com? hope to hear from you soon wagamama recruitment team

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "It was fairly pleasant, nice crew overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at wagamama part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, cool coworkers, free meals,unique system, dont need server experience

    Cons

    So much side-work. Your a server but also you have run your food, bus your tables,clean windows, sample outside, sweep, mop, stock, delivery and closing sidework takes atleast an hour. Management are poorly trained, so training sucks. They flip through so many people because no one wants to stick around

    Continue reading
    wagamama2018-06-09

    wagamama Response

    June 11, 2018

    hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave your review. we are always looking at how we can learn from our teams, past + present, + would like to know some more about your experience. would you mind dropping some additional information over to hrqueries@wagamama.com? many thanks wagamama recruitment team

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Front of the house"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at wagamama full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Really good, free food every time you work. They don't care about tattoos, piercings or weird hair. Restaurants are quite aesthetically pleasing and great locations in boston.

    Cons

    The sidework takes FOREVER! You work really, really hard for not a lot of money. In doing the hourly math, I wasn't even making minimum wage after all was said and done. Pooled tip system as well, so if you work with lazy people, your pay won't differ any from theirs.

    Continue reading
    wagamama2017-08-07
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Great potential, but managers ruin the job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at wagamama full-time

    Pros

    Can meet some cool people, free food

    Cons

    pool tips & managers overstaff so they don't need to work managers don't care about you or your money managers don't hold servers accountable for their work managers hide in office managers talk down to you and treat you like children

    Continue reading
    wagamama2017-07-26
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Sold the dream but doesnt live up to the hype"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at wagamama full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great location and beautiful restaurant. Cool concept and easy job. Perfect for people with no experience or PT student gig etc.

    Cons

    Most of the current staff is young (Cliquey) and has no previous serving experience. Wagamama policy is a tip-pooled system and average tip outs and way below NYC industry standard. Most of the management loves to micromanage you, and for the money, you are making it is NOT worth it.

    Continue reading
    wagamama2017-04-06
  9. "Wagamama review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at wagamama full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great co-workers and some nice and understanding managers

    Cons

    Horrible higher ups, they sell you a story on how much you'll make and grow

    wagamama2017-03-08
  10. "A stepping stone company to get experience so that someone can move into a better company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Server in Lynnfield, MA
    Recommends

    I worked at wagamama for less than a year

    Pros

    Fast pace environment, good food and an easy environment for someone to quickly move into a server job if they do not have prior experience

    Cons

    All FOH employees share tips equally, service stations often have ten or more tables per server, newer company in the United States and doesn't currently have a lot of room for growth for employees.

    Continue reading
    wagamama2014-07-29
Found 35 reviews