wagamama "free food" Reviews | Glassdoor

wagamama Employee Reviews about "free food"

Updated Feb 4, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
84%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
wagamama Chief Executive Officer Emma Woods
Emma Woods
89 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free food on shift (allowance based on hours worked)(in 62 reviews)

  • "Good tips if you do your job well(in 25 reviews)

Cons
  • "Be prepared for finishing late and working long hours(in 46 reviews)

  • "split shifts, lack of personal time and management(in 26 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "free food"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Front of the house"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at wagamama full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Really good, free food every time you work. They don't care about tattoos, piercings or weird hair. Restaurants are quite aesthetically pleasing and great locations in boston.

    Cons

    The sidework takes FOREVER! You work really, really hard for not a lot of money. In doing the hourly math, I wasn't even making minimum wage after all was said and done. Pooled tip system as well, so if you work with lazy people, your pay won't differ any from theirs.

    Continue reading
    wagamama2017-08-07
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Great potential, but managers ruin the job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at wagamama full-time

    Pros

    Can meet some cool people, free food

    Cons

    pool tips & managers overstaff so they don't need to work managers don't care about you or your money managers don't hold servers accountable for their work managers hide in office managers talk down to you and treat you like children

    Continue reading
    wagamama2017-07-26
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Amazing and friendly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Community Living Specialist 

    I have been working at wagamama full-time

    Pros

    Free food, Nice staff Good Tips

    Cons

    Working Hours are awful at times

    wagamama2020-01-23

    wagamama Response

    January 24, 2020

    hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave us this great review! it's brilliant to hear you have such an amazing team + are proud to be part of it! we hope that you continue to enjoy working with us! thank you again wagamama recruitment team :)

    Continue reading
  5. "A good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front of House Staff 

    I have been working at wagamama full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Tips and flexibility of hours are good. Free food too

    Cons

    Long hours, favouritism, no room for progression

    wagamama2020-02-05

    wagamama Response

    February 5, 2020

    hey there, thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review, we really appreciate it. we'd like to hear more regarding your less than positive comments, if you have a spare moment, please send some details to: hrqueries@wagamama.com we look forward to hearing from you wagamama recruitment team :)

    Continue reading
  6. "Lost it’s way"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at wagamama full-time

    Pros

    Training / Staff parties / free Food

    Cons

    Long Hours / short staffing / non communication

    wagamama2020-01-14

    wagamama Response

    January 15, 2020

    hi there, thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. while we never like to hear that we haven't given a brilliant experience - it’s really important to us that we gather this information so we can do everything we can to learn + improve, please could you take a moment to send some further information to hrqueries@wagamama.com? hope to hear from you soon wagamama recruitment team

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Full of it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - FOH Team Member in Gateshead, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at wagamama full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good wage. Free food and even that gets bad.

    Cons

    Untrained kitchen. No work life balance at all.

    Continue reading
    wagamama2019-12-08

    wagamama Response

    December 11, 2019

    hi there, thank you so much for taking the time to leave your honest review. we really appreciate you bringing this to our attention regardless of how disappointed we are to hear of these particular incidents if you have the chance, please could you send some additional details to hrqueries@wagamama.com to allow our team to investigate your comments in further depth? wagamama recruitment team

    Continue reading
  8. "It's good if you like fast pace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - FOH Team Member in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at wagamama part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free food Very kind staff Very good tips

    Cons

    Very fast pace, you'll struggle at first

    wagamama2019-12-07

    wagamama Response

    December 7, 2019

    hi there! thank you for leaving us a 4 star review - we really appreciate that. we're very glad to hear you're a big fan of the food you receive on shift + that you enjoy working alongside the people you do. we understand that it's a struggle to deal with the fast past environment at first + we totally take your feedback on board, it's much appreciated many thanks, wagamama recruitment team :)

    Continue reading
  9. "Not bad at all"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front of House Staff in Watford, East of England, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at wagamama full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free food, fast paced, great tips

    Cons

    Shift work, tiring, long hours

    Continue reading
    wagamama2019-11-10

    wagamama Response

    November 11, 2019

    hi there, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! we're so glad to hear you enjoyed being a part of the wagamama family + we appreciate your feedback in regards to the rotas! wagamama recruitment team :)

    Continue reading
  10. "Fantastic company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Line Chef in Manchester, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at wagamama full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free food on shift (allowance based on hours worked) Clean chef whites and apron on shift Great staff app Cycle to work scheme

    Cons

    Management can sometimes be a bit unclear

    wagamama2019-10-15

    wagamama Response

    October 15, 2019

    hey! thanks so much for taking the time to leave us such a great review + we're so happy to hear that you are loving being part of the wagamama family :) we hope you continue to enjoy your journey with us wagamama recruitment team :)

    Continue reading
  11. "Knee deep in the Ramen."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Assistant in Milton Keynes, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at wagamama full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fast Paced learning as you go. Free food for lunches. great hours of work.

    Cons

    Organised chaos , too many times left to work things out for yourself, unnecessary pressure and unhelpful comments from experienced team members when your not sure of processes or when left to do something for the first time without being shown how to do things and then being made to feel bad because the shift is running behind.

    Continue reading
    wagamama2019-09-07

    wagamama Response

    September 10, 2019

    hi there, thanks so much for leaving your review + we're so pleased to hear that you're enjoying your time with the wagamama family :) we appreciate the feedback that you have also provided + be sure to speak with your line manager should you wish to raise any concerns many thanks wagamama recruitment team :)

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 62 reviews