IFC Reviews | Glassdoor

IFC Reviews

Updated Oct 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 280 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
IFC CEO Philippe Le Houérou
Philippe Le Houérou
26 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Full-stack data scientist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Scientist in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IFC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Extremely diverse talent from different nationalities and backgrounds, great company mission, good compensation, good benefits.

    Cons

    Can feel a little bureaucratic.

    IFC2019-08-12
  2. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst 

    I have been working at IFC full-time

    Pros

    Very friendly, detailed. Scheduled on time.

    Cons

    No. The whole process is very enjoyful!

    IFC2019-10-11
  3. "Get ready to Learn !"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Business Partner in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IFC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It does not matter what was your professional qualifications and experience prior to joining the IFC was, you will still have great opportunities to learn. It has been an amazing experience so far to work for a corporation where there is a such a high level of intelligence and expertise in a room. That allows for practical knowledge to be shared. The diversity of the workforce, the value proposition of the IFC as... well as the global impact of what we do make IFC as a unique place where one can strive to build a career.

    Show More

    Cons

    The diversity of the workplace provides a unique environment where it is important to adjust to a culture where all nationalities are valued and respected.

    IFC2019-10-07
  4. "Global Impact Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Investment Officer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IFC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The IFC is a great place to work if you are interested in being part of a global community of professionals who are passionate about using their skills to devise creative sustainable solutions to some of the world's toughest challenges.

    Cons

    Due to the nature of the organization, policies and and procedures are very bureaucratic and requires individual who will be patient with the system and not have the same expectations of the fast pace of the private sector investment banks.

    Advice to Management

    1- Continue to encourage staff to be creative and to work toward career goals at IFC 2- More channels of communication with field officers.

    IFC2019-09-28

    IFC Response

    October 5, 2019Talent Attraction Officer

    Many thanks for your feedback. Our ambitious strategy to grow IFC’s business in the world’s toughest markets will offer opportunities for professional growth. Over the next three years we will be hiring for more than 600 new positions and we encourage qualified candidates to apply. Regarding your comments on our policies, we are taking a series of steps to improve our internal processes.

    Show Less
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Washington, DC

    I worked at IFC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good salary range for the area

    Cons

    Culture is very bureaucratic, stale and at times very unhealthy. Managers come from technical track and have no clue how to be managers and keep ducking under one cover or another with no real interest in developing a team

    Advice to Management

    Move from reactive to strategic management

    IFC2019-10-07
  6. "IFC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IFC part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's a great place to have a career, opportunity for growth and you learn a lot.

    Cons

    There is a lot of bureaucracy. I do hope that at some point there will be some decentralization.

    IFC2019-08-22
  7. Helpful (1)

    "What gets you up in the morning?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Officer in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IFC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've worked for a handful of large Fortune 500 companies and they all strive to help their employees connect with the company's mission. The issue is that the mission is typically to make money for someone else (shareholders, senior management, etc). By contrast, IFC and the World Bank Group exist to reduce poverty and boost shared prosperity. Even working in a non-investment support role, IFC does a great job of... connecting you to these twin goals. There are abundant opportunities to learn about current projects and to see the impact they're having. Feeling connected to this mission makes it so much easier to wake up and go to work every morning.

    Show More

    Cons

    Some decision-making can be slow, typical of large multilateral institutions.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to innovate and streamline processes.

    IFC2019-08-13
  8. "Best place to work if you want to make a lasting impact in emerging countries"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IFC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone is passionate about the work they do

    Cons

    Decision making could be better

    Advice to Management

    Streamline the approval process.

    IFC2019-08-16
  9. "Energetic and good work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at IFC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    multicultural background working on global issues

    Cons

    Term Contracts no open ended opportunties

    IFC2019-08-14
  10. "I have worked in five other companies before, and no other place has been as exciting and fulfilling"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Officer in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IFC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The quality of staff is very high. You feel like you are working with the smartest people from every country around the world. These are top-notch professionals. On top of that, everyone embodies the mission and knows that we are ultimately responsible for eliminating extreme poverty by the year 2030, which keeps in check egos and people with other purposes. Finally, the ability to grow your career to over 100+... countries and through different departments in the business is matched only by a handful of organizations. These three reasons make the IFC unique, and I highly recommend it for anyone considering their next career move.

    Show More

    Cons

    Things change very quickly sometimes, so if you are not able to surf the tide you may feel like you are being stuck or left behind.

    Advice to Management

    More of our senior management should be located outside of headquarters.

    IFC2019-08-13
Found 280 reviews
</>Embed