Akken Reviews | Glassdoor

Akken Reviews

Updated May 9, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
79%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Akken CEO Giridhar Akkineni  (no image)
Giridhar Akkineni
12 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Full Time Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Administrator in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Akken full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company has a great "start-up," like atmosphere and all our employees seem to get a long & enjoy working with one another. There's a lot of talent here...some are from the staffing/recruiting space, others are from the technology sector, and, some, have both in their professional background. The company has brought several key innovations to market in the last 18-24 months and are competitively positioned... to continue to grow its market (which is exciting). More, Akken's Customer Success Team is awesome and are truly vested in helping our current clients meet their goals. The expectation is that we deliver as employees for the company (and our clients), but at the same time, Akken provides a good work-life-balance as well.

    Show More

    Cons

    The company does not have direct deposit.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work...don't lose momentum in terms of technological innovation(s) and keep showing your employees that you care/appreciate our efforts.

    Akken2017-05-09
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Small company feel with mature products"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success in Nashua, NH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Akken full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The small company feel is great. People pitch in to help each other no matter what department they are in. Company executives are down to earth and approachable. There is opportunity to help out in all areas and be recognized for the value you bring to the business. Products are mature and well established in the marketplace.

    Cons

    New product releases are often not on time. It is critical to meet deadlines and be fast in getting new product to market. Competition is stiff but Akken causes a lot of problems for our larger competitors.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the small company culture while you grow. That is tough to do. Keep the casual atmosphere without sacrificing accountability.

    Akken2017-03-24
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Great plan to work and learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Nashua, NH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Akken full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Best solution on the market. Fantastic competitive environment. Work Life balance. Great CEO down to earth. Great opportunity for upskilling. Talented, hardworking co-workers who care about their job.

    Cons

    No cons. Fabulous place to work. I think I'm blessed to have this opportunity to work here.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the culture. Continue to listen to your employees, be transparent, provide active resolutions and keep your minds open.

    Akken2016-11-04
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great growing company with great people!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Nashua, NH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Akken

    Pros

    AkkenCloud is a steadily growing company with a clear vision for the future. Everyone works hard to make sure the customers are happy and feel supported. Leadership is supportive and is always available. The culture is very relaxed, and you are not micromanaged, letting you do your work and take responsibility. Open vacation, weekly lunch and learns, socials on Fridays, and company outings keep the morale at a good... level.

    Show More

    Cons

    Temperature is usually pretty cold in most sections of the office. Would like to see a variety of offerings for the lunch and learns instead of pizza (some people in the office can't eat it).

    Advice to Management

    Keep the employees informed of plans for new features to the software. Get direct deposit for paychecks.

    Akken2016-07-07
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Stay Far Away From This Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Engineer in Nashua, NH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Akken

    Pros

    There are no pro's to Akken. Honestly...none.

    Cons

    How they treat women. Inappropriate behavior from high ranking employee's. No training for incoming hires. BUGGY PRODUCT that crashes regularly. Over promising product features that they never follow through with but charge the new customers for.

    Advice to Management

    Karma is a boomerang. Your product will only last a few more years at best before the industry catches on to your outdated product and even more outdated managerial processes. How you treat others (especially women) is deplorable and the constant lying to your consumer base will be your downfall.

    Akken2016-06-01

    Akken Response

    June 8, 2016CEO

    We take all current employee feedback very seriously. When we saw this post, we asked our software engineers if they posted this to address any open concerns. They said they had not, and we have no reason to doubt their honesty. That said, we do have former employees working for competitors, who perhaps could gain a competitive advantage from writing a negative review such as this. We have a very intuitive platform and strong team. We have an open dialogue culture that supports family, work/life balance, and one another, all while working to exceed customer expectations. Since we replaced some of our former staff with seasoned leaders, we have enjoyed great success over the past year and incredible growth. Plus, we have been a BBB accredited business since 2008 with an A+ ranking. And while no company is perfect, we continue to improve everyday as every company experiencing explosive growth does. Anyone considering one of our many new positions is encouraged to request to speak with one of our current staff members and we will be more than happy to make an introduction to address any questions. We appreciate the chance to respond.

    Show Less
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Great Product, People and Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Executive in Nashua, NH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Akken

    Pros

    Very collaborative environment. I work in sales and we regularly share ideas between the customer success and engineering teams. It works really well, as we get great insight into new features and functionalities that prospective clients have on their "wishlist" when shopping, and sharing those ideas helps the engineering team to shape the product roadmap. Weekly happy hours on Friday are a fun way to wrap up... each week as a team.

    Show More

    Cons

    We need to have more regularity with the stocking of coffee creamer in the fridge.

    Akken2016-02-03
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Fast Growing and Great Product"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Nashua, NH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Akken full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    All-in-one product with innovative ideas. Excellent Sales, Support and development teams. Ahead of the curve on Cloud based staffing and recruiting solutions.

    Cons

    Small sized company. With the fast growth need more employees to delegate some designated responsibilities.

    Advice to Management

    The company is growing and the staff as well. consider expanding engineering at onsite as well. Set team objectives and reward accordingly.

    Akken2016-02-04
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work. Industry's best kept secret!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Nashua, NH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Akken full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The product speaks for itself-it's excellent! The staff is great and very helpful Vacation is plenty and very flexible Monthly company socials

    Cons

    Smaller sized company so everyone needs to step up together to go above and beyond. If someone doesn't it can hurt the whole company. I often think about the cliched line of 'We're only as strong as our weakest link'.

    Advice to Management

    Need to update user documentation and instructional guides/videos. Need to cement processes

    Akken2016-02-03
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company, Great Product!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Representative in Nashua, NH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Akken full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great environment Fantastic product (Very user friendly) Friday Company outings

    Cons

    If you're not coming from the Staffing & Recruiting business, it can be a lot to learn.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up!

    Akken2015-06-30
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great Entrepreneurial Software Company To Join"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Nashua, NH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Akken for less than a year

    Pros

    - Entrepreneurial culture, yet work life balance - Your accomplishments stand out - Out of the ordinary perks - Leadership Team really wants to help clients succeed - Strong desire to grow and mature

    Cons

    - An entrepreneurial culture, where your contributions stand out, is not for everyone

    Advice to Management

    - Maintain the culture while preparing for growth, then continue to execute

    Akken2015-06-19
Found 16 reviews