Archetype Reviews | Glassdoor

Archetype Reviews

Updated Feb 23, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
66%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
Archetype Global CEO Helena Maus (no image)
Helena Maus
6 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Intern 

    I have been working at Archetype part-time

    Pros

    Great company culture and collaborative environment

    Cons

    There aren't really any cons

    Archetype2019-07-31
  2. Helpful (1)

    "There is the good and then the bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Account Executive 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Archetype full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great clients and teams to work with

    Cons

    Upper management did little for employees. Salary was bad, benefits were nto great. Work culture was terrible.

    Archetype2020-02-23
  3. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Intern - Hourly in New York, NY

    I worked at Archetype part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great location and great people!

    Cons

    None that I came across.

    Archetype2019-06-07
  4. "Good agency growing fast."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SAE in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Archetype full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good leadership, despite some favoritism. Opportunity for growth. Shiny new clients.

    Cons

    Some leaders are great, others seem to be grandfathered in - not good managers or team leaders. Executive team picks favorite clients and neglects others at times.

    Archetype2019-06-04
  5. "Great place to learn, grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Archetype full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Collaborative, high-energy, entrepreneurial, supportive

    Cons

    Senior team sometimes slow to make decisions

    Archetype2019-03-11
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Typical Agency"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Archetype full-time

    Pros

    lots of work perks and incredibly talented people to learn from

    Cons

    no work/life balance, understaffed, difficult clients that were allowed to treat junior staff poorly, people are spread across way too many accounts

    Continue reading
    Archetype2019-01-16
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Serious management issues..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Archetype full-time

    Pros

    -Lots of opportunity to do work above your experience/job title -Increasingly impressive client roster -Lots of people on the team are very smart and have great work ethic

    Cons

    -There's a real vacuum of leadership. Management-level staff were either incompetent, extreme micro-managers, or very strong and aggressive personalities. -Career growth for junior employees was stifled. Bringing up raises or promotions was met with shaming and standards were impossibly high for the routine promo cycles. -The setting of unrealistic expectations for clients was rampant. Senior staff would over-promise and it would fall on junior staff to scramble to deliver. When goals weren't met, junior staff was expected to fix the issues created by an overzealous management team -Favoritism is wide-spread. It was commonly accepted that those who had a positive personal relationship with the CEO went far, while others who did similar (if not better) work saw little upward mobility

    Continue reading
    Archetype2018-10-17
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Big name clients, but problematic culture and management team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Archetype full-time

    Pros

    -The junior staff was really supportive of each other. The intense culture created a strong bond -Learned how to work really hard in a fast-paced environment -Big name clients

    Cons

    -Every member of the management team was very difficult to work with . A few in particular were mean-spirited and at times very inappropriate -Underworked employees and low morale among the junior staff led to a pretty depressing culture -The inability to push back on clients led to an unhealthy workload and the mentality that clients were valued much more than employees -While all agency pay is low, Bite's felt almost impossible to live on (many employees had support from their family). Any time a junior employee tried to negotiate pay, management shut them down

    Continue reading
    Archetype2018-10-17
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Good for passing time, but always look for something else"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern - Hourly in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Archetype full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The work was challenging, but rewarding. Alcohol at team meetings.

    Cons

    Everything else. The goal of an internship is always to obtain a job offer, or a great reference. Text100 gave vague to no guidance, rarely incorporated interns into how to succeed and was quite honestly not the best place to start out. There are better, more knowledgeable and worthwhile programs else where. This is more of a last resort.

    Continue reading
    Archetype2018-09-19

    Archetype Response

    September 26, 2018HR Generalist

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We aim to provide our interns with valuable hands on experience and opportunities to work side-by-side with consultants of all levels. Interns learn a diverse set of skills at Text100. Our interns build media lists and coverage reports, write pitches, strategize media relations and brand activations, create social media content, all in the effort to set them up on a path to a successful career. Many of our interns have started and grown their careers at Text100, and we love seeing this happen! Guidance, support, and hands on experience are important factors to a successful internship program. Thank you for the reminder.

    Continue reading
  10. "Managing Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Archetype full-time

    Pros

    Forward thinking and supportive leaders and management. Great commitment to company vision and willing to take risks to achieve them.

    Cons

    Tough clients and subject matter

    Archetype2018-06-27
Found 149 reviews