Buildertrend Reviews | Glassdoor

Buildertrend Reviews

Updated 26 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
81%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Buildertrend  CEO Steve Dugger
Steve Dugger
38 Ratings
Pros
  • "I have never worked at a company where they truly valued work life balance(in 10 reviews)

  • "The people at Buildertrend are great(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "No work from home however, I love the people I work with so it is easy to come into the office everyday(in 5 reviews)

  • "Holidays, No sick leave, expensive health care, paternity leave only after 1 year(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Customer Success Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Manager 

    I have been working at Buildertrend full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company that provides a lot of or life balance. Solid pay.

    Cons

    No cons at this time.

    Buildertrend 2019-11-22
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Decent place to start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development Representative in Omaha, NE
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Buildertrend full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This is a decent place to start your career if you are a young person/new college graduate. It’s a pretty up-beat place with a lot of cool, highly-motivated people, free beer on tap Thursdays and Fridays, very good meals from Company Kitchen, ping pong tables, putting greens, and relaxed dress.

    Cons

    This place suffers heavily from “bro culture.” As such, it can get pretty cliquey and people tend to play favorites quite a bit while excluding others. If you’re not an ex frat-bro, or are otherwise a person looking to establish a real career with a real company, this place may not be for you. The pay for BDR’s is laughably pathetic. During the hiring process they entice young, naive people into the role by telling them they can make a lot of money, while in reality it’s really only the top 3-5 BDR’s out of 200 on the floor making any real money while the rest are virtually destitute. Their benefits are a joke, 15 days max PTO which is ACCRUED—meaning it takes a very long time before one has any considerable amount of time off. No sick time. No work from home. Insurance is expensive and the coverage is meh. While it can be a fun place to work, the company culture is heavily predicated upon their “#1 best place to work in Omaha” which is an award that can be easily bought. Being that the company is full of young people who have not often otherwise worked elsewhere, the place sadly becomes an echo chamber for naive youngsters that don’t know any better proudly proclaiming to be the best while vehemently ignoring its faults. It’s almost cult-like sometimes.

    Continue reading
    Buildertrend 2019-11-26
  3. "Innovative company with amazing career opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Buildertrend full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture with plenty of opportunity for advancement

    Cons

    The open space concept is fun and exciting in the beginning, but becomes a distraction over time being able to hear everyone's conversations. Not a total negative, as it enables better collaboration.

    Buildertrend 2019-10-16
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Opportunity to Make an Impact on Day ONE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Analyst in Omaha, NE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Buildertrend full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Employees at Buildertrend have the opportunity to make an impact as soon as they walk in the door. Upper management welcomes advice and ideas regardless of your title or tenure. I started here as an intern almost 2 years ago and have since moved in to a full time position. However, even as an intern I was given opportunities to make an impact that simply do not exist at most companies.

    Cons

    There is rarely a time where you do the same thing two days in a row. We move incredibly fast at Buildertrend and are constantly working on bigger and better and newer things. I love the opportunity to constantly learn and grow, but some people may find the lack of routine somewhat stressful.

    Buildertrend 2019-10-01
  5. "Lots of Flexibility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Developer in Omaha, NE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Buildertrend full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've worked in dev shops where 55 hour work weeks were expected. Not here. I have the freedom and flexibility to leave my work at the office and enjoy my evenings and weekends with my family.

    Cons

    Going through a migration currently, which is a process, but hoping it will be well worth it in the end

    Continue reading
    Buildertrend 2019-10-01
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great growth opportunities and work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Developer II in Omaha, NE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Buildertrend full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have never worked at a company where they truly valued work life balance. Being a software engineer, you will see people in the industry working 50-60 hour weeks but you just won't find that here at Buildertrend. They value your life outside of work and are understanding when unexpected life happens. The opportunity to grow your career and skill set here is amazing. They are still continuing to update their languages and technologies. We just started a React conversion that everyone is excited about. I have learned so much about technologies that I haven't had experience with before. If you come in and work hard, they will promote you. Everyone is supportive of your career growth.

    Cons

    No work from home however, I love the people I work with so it is easy to come into the office everyday.

    Continue reading
    Buildertrend 2019-09-10
  7. "International Markets Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Buildertrend full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The opportunities on this team are endless. The International Markets team or the Aussies, what we like to call ourselves, is a newer sales team reaching out to the untapped Australian/New Zealand markets. Our team is smaller than the domestic sales teams at Buildertrend giving each member an opportunity to grow into promoted roles quickly! If you are looking to start a sales career with quick promotion our Aussie team is the team for you!

    Cons

    You have to be a night owl! This team works the night shift, if you will, to accommodate to our friends down under. We work from 4 in the afternoon until 2 am and after daylight savings we fall back to 2p to midnight!

    Continue reading
    Buildertrend 2019-08-29
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great opportunity to learn, grow, and get promoted!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Representative in Omaha, NE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Buildertrend full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people at Buildertrend are great! They are what makes Buildertrend what it is. They will become your friends both inside and outside of work! I have never been on a sales team that puts such an emphasis on teamwork. There is tons of money out there to be made, you just have to come in and be willing to put the work in. Bonuses are done on both a team and individual basis, which is great! Promotions are done based on performance, so the top performers are who gets promoted, no matter how long they have been there. They are growing so fast, that there are tons of opportunities to grow too! Buildertrend just added additional personal days on top of vacation, which is awesome! Plus lunch on-site (they give you $50 a month to spend!) and the sports bar are a really nice perk. Can't forget the 4-day work week on the sales team. It has made appointments and weekend trips so much easier. Overall, I can't say enough great things about Buildertrend. It is the best job I have ever had!

    Cons

    You can't cost here. You have to be a person that comes in every day wanting to work!

    Buildertrend 2019-08-20
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Manager in Omaha, NE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Buildertrend full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    One of my favorite things about working here is the people. They have become a second family to me. I also really enjoy the relationships I've built with my clients. Being able to make an impact in their business - and also their lives - is so rewarding! The growth opportunities here are endless. This is not a place where you have to wait your turn to be promoted. A positive attitude and hard work go a long way! The work-life balance is the best perk, in my opinion. I've never worked for a company where I can truly be off work and enjoy my time with my family. Our founders say all the time that we have a life outside of work that is more important than our job.

    Cons

    This isn't really a con, but I feel this should be said. Don't be mistaken. Yes, we have games, a bar and we love to celebrate our success. But you must remember, this is a job. In order to be successful here and be promoted, you must work hard and be a team player!

    Continue reading
    Buildertrend 2019-08-13
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Too much window dressing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    BDR 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Buildertrend for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Ummmm? Beer? Free swag? Bros?

    Cons

    Crap pay and benefits. Flat company. Good luck once the market tanks.

    Continue reading
    Buildertrend 2019-09-13

    Buildertrend Response

    September 17, 2019HR Team

    Hi, thanks for sharing your thoughts about your time at Buildertrend! While we know we can’t exceed everyone’s expectations, we are continuously looking for ways to enhance the organization as a whole. Our employee perks and benefits are re-evaluated each year to ensure we are offering competitive plans. We recently rolled out 6 additional days per year of time off (in addition to Paid Time Off) in the form of Personal Days so that our employees can dedicate time outside of work for ‘life’ that happens. Thanks again for taking the time to leave this review, and all the best in your career!

    Continue reading
Found 61 reviews