CAMRIS Reviews | Glassdoor

CAMRIS Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 26 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Dr. Laurence Day
10 Ratings
  1. "Great People, Great Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CAMRIS full-time

    Pros

    I have been with CAMRIS International (based at the HQ office) for a few years now and have thoroughly enjoyed my time with the firm. I have been fortunate to work on a variety of projects in support of several departments. My supervisors are supportive of my professional development goals, regularly show and express appreciation for my efforts, and are understanding and accommodating. I work with passionate and inspiring...

    Show More

    Cons

    There aren't really any. I enjoy the work, the people, and the management style (e.g., employees aren't micro-managed).

    CAMRIS2018-05-04
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Foot in the door at an agency, not great oversight"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Assistant in Washington, DC

    I worked at CAMRIS full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    I worked for CAMRIS and was contracted to a government agency whose mission I was very passionate about. CAMRIS provided great benefits and the staff did their best to provide HR support.

    Cons

    Though CAMRIS has final say over your salary, they had no insight into our actual performance and it could be frustrating to have salary and employment decisions made by someone without information about our day to day performance. Also the change in contracts due to expiration/extensions/etc added a lot of uncertainty about benefits, and CAMRIS was not great at communicating on how those would affect our pay and status.

    Advice to Management

    Make clear career pathways and plan ahead for instances of contract non-renewal and changes of benefits.

    CAMRIS2019-03-27
  3. Helpful (1)

    "HQ"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CAMRIS full-time

    Pros

    I enjoyed working with the people who were not in management because they were more down to earth.

    Cons

    Management had a way of making the employees that work for them feel as if they were not an essential asset.

    Advice to Management

    I really will suggest that you treat the employees who you manage as if they are important and on a consistent basis, show them that all of their hard work is appreciated.

    CAMRIS2018-07-26
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Contracting via camris to USAID (GHSI III)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Crystal City, VA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at CAMRIS full-time

    Pros

    usaid has a great mission and to a large extent, within the global health bureau , contractors via the ghsi iii mechanism are treated the same as staff. They cannot serve as CORs or AORs, nor can they supervise other employees but are otherwise not limited from any work functions.

    Cons

    GHSI III has some pathetic HR practices. More than half of global health is contracted via GHSI -III and there are many issues with the treatment of staff hired through this mechanism. communication with staff is extremely poor, ghsi-iii seems to have completely uncaring and/or incapable administrators. promotions take ages if they come at all, travel expenses are not reimbursed on time leading to interest payments by...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees, the ones who are contracted to USAID and address grievances.

    CAMRIS2018-03-12
  5. "Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at CAMRIS full-time

      Pros

      Great work environment, friendly staff

      Cons

      Some hr processes were unorganized

      CAMRIS2017-12-15
    • "Program Assistant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at CAMRIS full-time

      Pros

      They offer great benefits and the contract I was on was well managed.

      Cons

      Hard to move up sometimes to a more technical role.

      CAMRIS2017-04-20
    • "Great place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Correspondence Analyst in Washington, DC
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at CAMRIS for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Obviously you work as a contractor, but contracting at USAID through CAMRIS has been great

      Cons

      Uncertainty surrounding contracts that may or may not be renewed

      CAMRIS2017-01-31
    • "Great "in" at big international development agency"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Program Assistant in Washington, DC
      Recommends

      I worked at CAMRIS full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Enjoyed working there for the access to USAID and the Camris support staff are really friendly and hard working.

      Cons

      The internal systems of the contract mechanism are out of date. The staff sometimes didn't seem to know what it was we did and vice versa.

      CAMRIS2017-01-24
    • "Great company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at CAMRIS full-time

      Pros

      Great people, great benefits and location

      Cons

      None that I can think of

      CAMRIS2017-01-10
    • "One of the better USG contractors"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Program Analyst in Washington, DC
      Recommends

      I worked at CAMRIS full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Have worked for several USG contractors in the past and CAMRIS is one of the larger and better organized ones.

      Cons

      Subject to the whims and regulations of the USG so no real wiggle room for employee benefits or salary increase

      CAMRIS2016-12-27
    Found 26 reviews