KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Chef'd

Is this your company?

Chef'd

Add a Review

Chef'd Reviews

Updated May 18, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 32 of over 35 reviews

3.2
48%
Recommend to a Friend
43%
Approve of CEO
Chef'd Founder and CEO Kyle Ransford
Kyle Ransford
16 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Benefits are great and the its culture is top notch(in 3 reviews)
  • "From the constant test food coming out of the kitchen to the free food from the employee grocery store.(in 3 reviews)
Cons
    There are no cons to display at this time.
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Fun atmosphere and great people

    Jun 20, 2019 - Senior Account Manager in El Segundo, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Relaxed atmosphere with kind and smart individuals working alongside you. If you have ideas to bring to the table, the executive team will listen.

    Cons

    Funding is uncertain and there isn't a lot of sharing after board meetings.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Fun and Exciting Pop-Up Company for Foodies

    Mar 22, 2017 - Chef'd Care in El Segundo, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Since the company is fairly new, there isn't much of a structure to follow but watching the company grow (very fast) makes it so exciting to work here. Given that this is a pop-up company with a business model that's very unique, all implementations are created organically and it's nice to be a part of the solution to problem-solving issues since all ideas are welcome. The company is growing fast that new opportunities open up and the company seems to promote employees internally before searching out for applicants. Every branch of the department is fun to work with and are very accommodating especially if you're new. The culture is very lively and it's hard to last working here the entire day without laughing. The benefits are pretty good - medical, dental and vision.

    Cons

    Since the company is young, you have to be on your toes as to adjust to any scenario that the company may not already have solutions for. You have to think fast especially if there is an onboarding of any new program/new services Chef'd implements. It may overwhelm you if you're not able to adapt soon enough or not good at problem-solving. They give you a lot of free food they're always dishing up in the culinary test kitchen which could be a challenge if you're on a diet. On some rare occasions, you might have to stay an hour later to finish up work - but that solely depends on how fast you work. Since the company is growing so fast the parking lot is so backed up so bring your lunch so you don't lose your spot.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Hectic Startup

    May 18, 2020 - Content Specialist in El Segundo, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Moving up in the company was forced because of rapid growth

    Cons

    Hectic atmosphere Little communication between leaders

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    A Great Place, Though Challenging

    Feb 7, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Chef'd really is an awesome place to work, and I truly think it is doing something new and innovative. Just about everyone there is very friendly and happy to be apart to the company. It's still a very young company, so there is a lot of room for growth and change. Since the business model is very unique, there's a lot of trail-blazing and trying new things. There really isn't a blueprint for this kind of company, so unique ideas come up and are implemented all the time. It's been a great opportunity to build something new from the ground up. I've seen the negative reviews posted here, and can say: they're from the people you wouldn't want to take advice from anyways. The only reasons people have been let go is because they either didn't work hard, or didn't do what they said they would. You do your work, and management will do everything they can to keep you around.

    Cons

    The uniqueness can also be a con. Some procedures and guidelines, that are probably more solid at other companies, are more fluid here. New opportunities are always coming up, but that can cause some stress as everyone figures out how to go about something for the first time. Definitely have to think on your feet, and be ready to be self-reliant for a bit.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Worst Company I've Ever Worked For

    Sep 22, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in El Segundo, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nothing, nada, zero, zip, zilch, diddly-squat.

    Cons

    This is the shadiest, dirtiest company I've ever had the pleasure of leaving. The environment is absolutely toxic and intolerable. You feel like you're walking on egg shells every day and one small mistake could cost you your job. The movie Horrible Bosses is like a walk in the park compared to working for this place. CEO is the most arrogant, narcissist I've ever met in my life who doesn't wash his hands after using the restroom (gross!) and scowls at the company's warehouse associates as if they are all diseased peasants. Good luck posing any issues to HR about your issues too, because there's an inappropriate relationship with HR and CEO. This company does not want creative or innovative workers, they want YES MAN workers who never question any decision they make. Unless you are an investor throwing 10+ million dollars at the company, you are a pee on. Speaking of pee, warehouse workers hate it so much there that there was even an occasion where they peed in a jar on the warehouse floor. Yeah, think about that the next time you order a meal from here. Not to mention there are cockroaches in the warehouse break room that I'm sure will end up in a customer box relatively soon. The execs at this company are the most disrespectful, terrible and corrupt people and have no idea how to run the company effectively.

    Continue reading
    26 people found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    I love this Place

    Oct 27, 2017 - Warehouse Supervisor in El Segundo, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have worked for this company for almost three years now, I love the culture and the environment. The Owner is hands on you see him just about everyday. You just have to come to work and do your job. If you like to start drama then you will soon be out the door, and those are the people leaving those negative comments. We have a great team, everyone is helpful. You will grow in the company as long as you bring your A game.

    Cons

    The parking really is the worst. I recommend taking the Green line which is about a two block walk, or car pool. We have a good number of temp employees and some just come for the paycheck so those people just have to be weeded out here and there. Also, since it is a new company, they are still trying to get a good balance when it comes to schedules, be prepared to do some overtime, but who doesn't like a little extra money here and there?

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    CHEF'D ROCKS!!!

    Sep 14, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in El Segundo, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have been working at Chef’d for more than year and I have to say that it has been by far, the best place I've ever worked! I say this because I'm challenged each day, motivated to do my best and feel supported by my management team. It's a joy coming to work each day! I really enjoy working at Chef’d. My colleagues, are all really great people to work along-side. Besides the great environment you experience in this company it feels good to know that Chefd has its employees/clients best interests at heart. Benefits are great and the its culture is top notch

    Cons

    If you are the type of person that like to be challenged each day and love to work in a fast paced growing environment then Chef’d is the right place for you.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Poor Management, No Room For Growth

    Mar 19, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in El Segundo, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Discount on meal kits, access to test kitchen recipes, unlimited PTO (although often frowned upon for taking it- which usually comes with "unlimited" PTO), occasional free grocery store items

    Cons

    -Extremely high turn over when I was there with little concern from upper management about fixing the issues at hand. -Marketing and sales suffer from poor communication and team work. There's a constant power struggle between the two groups and lack of synergy. -Upper management needs A LOT of work. Between disappointing benefits and perks, to lack of room for growth and an extremely poor HR set up, it's clear that the employee's happiness at Chef'd does not come first. -No raises, few reviews -Complete lack of transparency in the company's well-being/success

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    The Great Chef'D

    Feb 8, 2017 - Recevng Lead in El Segundo, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Chef'd is a awesome company to work for. I have been working with Chef'D for 2 years now and it has been nothing but the Best experience. Possibly the best job I have ever had. There is so much opportunity to grown with the company if you keep grinding and give everything your all. Everyone is treated like family at Chef'D. I also love the fact that the CEO Kyle is here at the Facility everyday handling his business, giving tours, also checking on his employees. This is truly a great company!!!!

    Cons

    Since this is a start up company there are some procedures, Rolls and responsibilities that need to fall into place.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Best Company Perks

    Feb 2, 2017 - Marketing Assistant in El Segundo, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people and culture are amazing very special. It's a large company but still has that close family vibe . Every day is a new adventure and we get to try all kinds of yummy food from many different partners. This was my first start up experience and I love it, it's always changing and growing fast and that is what makes it so fun to come to work everyday!

    Cons

    There are so many new faces and names everyday that it's hard to keep up.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 32 Reviews

Chef'd Reviews FAQs

Chef'd has an overall rating of 3.2 out of 5, based on over 35 reviews left anonymously by employees. 48% of employees would recommend working at Chef'd to a friend and 43% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Chef'd employees rate their compensation and benefits as 2.9 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Chef'd. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

48% of Chef'd employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Chef'd 3.3 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.1 for culture and values and 3.0 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Chef'd to be management, benefits, career development and the cons to be diversity and inclusion, senior leadership.

Work at Chef'd? Share Your Experiences

Chef'd logo
or

Chef'd Photos

+ Add Photo
Chef'd photo of: Outside

Have you worked here?

See All Photos