Coleman Cable Reviews | Glassdoor

Coleman Cable Reviews

Updated 21 Sep 2015

To filter reviews, or .

Found 15 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
33%
Recommend to a Friend
42%
Approve of CEO
Coleman Cable CEO G. Gary Yetman (no image)
G. Gary Yetman
5 Ratings
  1. "Nice people, good atmosphere. We get break and we all get raises now every since SouthWire took over."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shipping and Receiving in Bremen, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Coleman Cable full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Breaks, Raises, and supervisors are their for you. Any violence you are out the door.

    Cons

    Women Drama. Women like to start fights, talk behind your back and make a lot of lies about you.

    Advice to Management

    If your going to say no smoking then mean it. People smoke before going in to work and after work.

    Coleman Cable2014-09-09
  2. "It was fun while it lasted"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Coleman Cable full-time

    Pros

    Successful company, friendly co-workers, great benefits, great location.

    Cons

    Over reliance on outside firms; especially with new CFO wannabee.

    Advice to Management

    What goes around, comes around. Sad to watch one person cull a department. Glad to see it happen to them when the company changed ownership.

    Coleman Cable2015-09-21
  3. "Auditor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Coleman Cable part-time

    Pros

    They are very friendly with new associates and they pay is fair

    Cons

    From what I observed promotions weren't very fair.

    Coleman Cable2015-05-07
  4. "Outside sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Coleman Cable

    Pros

    Good place to gain experience with a leading manufacture.

    Cons

    Desk level employees not valued. High turn over. Once experienced is acquired, employees leave for better opportunities.

    Advice to Management

    Stop watching out for yourself . Create an environment were employees can grow and advance with the company.

    Coleman Cable2015-02-15
  5. "Needs a lot of work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Machine Operator in Bremen, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Coleman Cable full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Their swing shifts are nice, as well as company incentives to arrive on time. Pay is decent.

    Cons

    Upper management don't listen to their employees. Your position is safe depending upon who you know. Minorities don't have a chance with this company. They are expanding and there is subject to being more positions available but again its all in who you know. Southwire is taking over but some of the same Coleman management still exist.. A lot of favoritism. Everything concerning everyone is political. No... opportunity for advancement.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop playing favorites!

    Coleman Cable2014-12-24
  6. "Decent paying job. good benefits. I work in the rubber compound department, so its not the cleanest place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Machine Operator in Lafayette, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Coleman Cable full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The cool thing about 12 hour swing shifts is every other weekend you have off fri-saturday. also get double time for sundays.

    Cons

    its a very i mean very dusty place to work.. lots of powders an chemicals in the air. hard to have a personal life when you work alot of hours in a day.

    Advice to Management

    you should defintaly keep an eye on your people. and hear us out on our day to day struggles. longer breaks would be way better. 2o minutes just isnt enough. especially when we're working 12 hours on our feet.

    Coleman Cable2014-10-05
  7. "Engineering Inter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern in West Lafayette, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Coleman Cable for less than a year

    Pros

    Good experience. Was offered as much over time as I wanted with decent pay.

    Cons

    Working inside of a factory wasn't for me.

    Advice to Management

    n/a

    Coleman Cable2014-09-15
  8. "Busy, fast paced company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Maintenance Technician in Bremen, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Coleman Cable full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    If you happen to on A, B, C, or D shift, you get days off during the week.

    Cons

    If you are on A, B. C. or D shift, it requires you to work every other weekend.

    Advice to Management

    Everybody should get the same chance to be an operator. Everybody deserves respect, regardless of their position in the company. It is the production workers that make or break a company, if not for them, the company would not be where it is today.

    Coleman Cable2014-06-10
  9. "Had worse places to work at but also better places too!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Coleman Cable full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Has healthcare ins., 401k, FMLA.

    Cons

    Don't have breaks! You are working a solid 12 hours and no set breaks! If you are not at your work station (MANAGEMENT) will let you know!! Better wages! You work your butt off and get very little in return, while other people don't care about their job and make as much or more than you make!!!!!

    Advice to Management

    Actually, care about your employees. Listen to what they have to say. Keep the employees that work extremely hard for the company happy, instead of treating them like they are one of the machines!

    Coleman Cable2014-05-05
  10. "On the Mark!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Coleman Cable full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very pro-active management regarding improvements. that is why, despite plant closures all around, they are adding lines and expanding. Continuous improvement for ergonomics, cost reductions, improving efficiency.

    Cons

    Prepare to put in a lot of long hours as a routine. Working on many different tasks at the same time (multi tasking) is the norm.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it going.

    Coleman Cable2014-02-18
Found 15 reviews