Conrail Reviews | Glassdoor

Conrail Reviews

Updated Jun 6, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Conrail CEO Ronald L. Batory (no image)
Ronald L. Batory
6 Ratings
  1. "usuwbw"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Conrail full-time

    Pros

    Money, benefits, easy work ,

    Cons

    Newer Management is horrible, Last 2 years we had 12 people quit the railroad

    Conrail2018-06-07
  2. "ummmm.... thats a no for me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newark, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Conrail full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    the benefits are fairly good.

    Cons

    incompetence among management, crazy hours, pay is not commensurate to responsibility, working conditions or hazard environment. way too many deductions

    Advice to Management

    communicate with one another and actually know what you are talking about.

    Conrail2017-12-20
  3. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newark, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Conrail full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Decent money but not for the responsibilities you have. Benefits are good and company is good work is fun then just repetitive

    Cons

    Favoritism you're personally liable for things if they go wrong as far as lawsuits or jail railroad isn't what it used to be

    Advice to Management

    Eh

    Conrail2017-05-25
  4. "great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Conrail full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Awesome benefits and not too much corporate red tape

    Cons

    not too much room for advancement

    Conrail2016-02-05
  5. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Engineering Intern in Mount Laurel, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Conrail

    Pros

    The company has a friendly culture.

    Cons

    If you are not interested in the railroad, you will not be interested in the work.

    Conrail2015-12-15
  6. "Great job working with men and women ovarious ages.va"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor and Lead Clerk In Customer Satisfaction Department in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Conrail full-time

    Pros

    Good company that knows how to treat their employees.

    Cons

    Needs to get their own food resturant in the building they work in.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to treat the employees with utmost respect

    Conrail2015-05-01
  7. "trainmaster"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Conrail

    Pros

    Job security very busy rail road retirement is good

    Cons

    Long hrs have to wait 30 years to see benefits of being in management

    Conrail2015-04-24
  8. "Internship review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Engineering Intern in Newark, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Conrail for less than a year

    Pros

    I worked at Conrail as an engineering intern over the summer. The internship was an 8 week internship with 2 weeks in each of the 4 departments. Spent time with managers from each department to observe how each department functions. Was able to learn a lot in a very short period of time

    Cons

    Not a lot of actual engineering design work because it was more of a management internship

    Conrail2014-12-30
  9. "Conrail review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stevedore in Newark, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Conrail full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work with a great group of guys, get the job done go home in 3-6 hours and get paid for the day and sometimes + OT

    Cons

    none none none none none

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Conrail2012-08-28
Found 9 reviews